We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View over Kotor Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Mare-Amfora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa del Mare-Amfora
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orahovac
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View over Kotor Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel with 12 spacious, well equipped rooms. Fantastiic terace for breakfast and dinner close to the sea, overlooking Kotor Bay. The small beach allows perfect recreation. Hotel owned restaurant with good cuisine and fine breakfast. Oer excellent restaurants in walking distance. Kotor Starigrad cna be reched by walk, bus or taxi. Service personne, very friendly and helpful. We will come again.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms offer fabulousview over Kotor Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mart955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is situated approx 10 min from Kotor and 10 min from Perast.
There is nothing in Orahovac itself besides this hotel and a tiny convenience store. The apartment style rooms are very big with the bed in a separate room from a nice sitting area. The sea front apartments offer a stunning view. The mountain view is not terrible...you do see the mountain which is quite beautiful as well, but you are also over the driveway. I would recommend paying just a bit more for the sea side.
We were more than pleased with our stay here! The staff at the front desk could not have been more helpful kind and helpful!

Stari Mlini Restaurant....right up the road and worth the splurge. A very unique and beautiful setting.
Conte Nautilus in Perast - some of the best fish we have ever had....seaside and romantic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a small hotel in Orahovac, around 9km away from Kotor. If you want a quiet and green place, this is the best choice. You have a bus stop just behind the hotel and for 1 or 2 euros you are in Kotor for less then 5 minutes.
Rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, internet modem for Wi-Fi in every room with it's own password, fridge, sofa bed and beach towels.
We were in a suite on the first floor with magnificent view to the sea and a huge balcony with two wooden sunbeds and a small table with two chairs. Very sweet and romantic. You can sit there in the evening or during the day and relax. You have awning so that you can open it when it rains or its very sunny.
The food in the restaurant is very delicious and the service is perfect!
I recommend you the hotel for your trip to Kotor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have very big and spacious balcony. Book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamilkata_feg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in the Amfora whilst visiting Kotor and the region. The Hotel was very good value with large rooms, a modern feel and great views. I would definitely go for the sea view and balcony - this is what makes the Hotel. The Hotel felt empty apart from us - might have been late season (September) for this area - and so was very quiet. The staff were very helpful. The location is good for Kotor - not difficult to order a taxi into Kotor - well worth the visit for the evening. On the first night we tried the restaurant about 1/2 a mile away in the next village (Star Mlini) - wouldn't recommend it. The village just before Orahovac, Perast is probably nicer to stay in - and although the Hotel is great - would probably go for Perast to have a few more options to eat out locally etc. Breakfast was plentiful but a bit basic (but we are vegetarian) and served in a back room rather than one with a view - which seemed to be being used for paying restaurant customers and/or friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I was looking for a nice place to camp out and relax for a few days while in the Kotor, Amforma turned out to be the perfect hotel in a great location. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. Wonderful boutique restaurant with breathtaking views. Room was very comfortable, all the amenities needed. Room was quite big and they even upgraded me since I was there during a slow time of year (early April).

The restaurant was pretty good and there were other options not far away.

Really enjoyed my stay. A definite highlight of the hotels I stayed at during this trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was a really pleasant surprise - a small, sleek, stylish hotel with its own private beach off the Bay of Kotor (itself a pleasant surprise). Service is accommodating and our room - a double - was fairly big by European standards, as well as clean and modern, with large windows for (hopefully) sweeping views of that placid, azure sea.

Our prix-fixe dinner, which we got to choose from a menu in the comfort of our room (I'm not sure if this a standard service, we went with a small adventure tour group), was surprisingly stupendous - cuttlefish risotto with ink and decent crepes for dessert, all while lingering on their beach-front terrace for hours, makes for a mighty fine evening. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Definitely try to grab a room with a sea view (most have them, but just make sure)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clumsy_plumsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This lovely boutique hotel has an exquisite location overlooking unspoiled Kotor Bay. The spacious rooms have wonderful views of this jewel of the Adriatic. Dining al fresco is enhanced by unhampered views of the bay and the villages dotting the shoreline of this scenic bay. You can swim from the hotel's beachfront location or rent kayaks for exploring. However, the accommodating staff is what truly sets this hotel apart. Did I mention the food? Excellent dinner menu and selection of wines. The breakfasts leave nothing to be desired.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Kotor Bay on the third floor. The suites have balconies facing the sea, a sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orahovac
2.6 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 15 in Herceg-Novi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartments Soso
Apartments Soso
#6 of 11 in Prcanj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mare-Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mare-Amfora

Property: Casa del Mare-Amfora
Address: Orahovac bb, Orahovac, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Orahovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orahovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa del Mare-Amfora 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Casa del Mare-Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing