We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Auberge Du Lac - CLOSED

Auberge Du Lac
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: European, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful lakeside restaurant with bilingual staff (English & French). We produce fresh, homemade and original food in a relaxed and informal setting. All of our clients agree that we are worth the drive off the beaten track for lunch or an evening meal to remember! Close to Mont St Michel and the American cemetery at St James.
Chester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have visited this restaurant many times and can thoroughly recommend it both for lunch and dinner. Although a bit off the beaten track it is well worth searching out and has a lovely view over the lake. The restaurant has been refurbished and is very attractive and relaxing. At lunch time you are offered a choice of menus which are excellent value, for example 3 courses for 15 euros including wine. Lots of choice for evening menus, including daily specials. Different sorts of homemade bread are provided, all delicious. The restaurant is run by Amanda and her husband Marcus. All the food is freshly prepared by chef Marcus and is beautifully presented. He also caters for vegetarians which is a bonus as my daughter in law in vegetarian and gets tired of being offered the usual omelette!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tom and Alison”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Continuing our visits over ten years, the Auberge still provides a welcoming atmosphere,great food (French and English). Current proprietors Marcus and Amanda were well able to cope with gluten free requirements at short notice and the battered fish was extra special! Chef Marcus could offer other GF menu options, but perhaps best to tell him in advance if you can.
Generally a good hearty menu, attentive staff and comfy atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A1290ORTomM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Best with Family!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I am super happy with the service and the food. It is the first time i came to this restaurant with our friend. I have two boys and they love the food here. They do kids meal, and the kids love it! Also, the food here is freshly made, and they sourced the ingredient from the local farmer. the bread is freshly baked everyday. I love it! We were there on 19th April, and there was a band from England playing live music. It was excellent. Thank you very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benyapa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rare treat indeed”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Whilst visiting the area this Easter break, we arranged to go for a Family Meal to celebrate my Wife's birthday.

We found the staff at the Auberge Du Lac both friendly and welcoming.

The clientele is truly international with a mixture of many local French and other European ex-pats.

The menu was a good selection with the day's specials detailed separately.

The meal was well prepared and presented.

Really enjoyed it and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited with our family for lunch on a quiet November Sunday . Hard to find but definitely worth the effort!

After a couple of inconsistent meals at more expensive restaurants it was great to find somewhere where every dish on the menu was prepared to a consistently high standard by a chef who really knows how to cook. We paid 17.50 EUR for three courses and different members of the party particularly enjoyed the house terrine, the pumpkin tarte tartin with basil cream and the dark chocolate mousse. But as I say, everything our party tried was good. The menu is slightly fusion, with an English influence, but the restaurant attracts a mix of French and English clientèle.

The ambience was cosy - with views over the lake, nice background music and very friendly and attentive staff all adding to the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Du Lac also viewed

Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche
 
Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche
Isigny-le-Buat, Manche
 
Saint-Laurent-de-Terregatte, Manche
Avranches, Manche
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing