We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true hidden Jem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Du Lac

Auberge Du Lac
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vezins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful lakeside restaurant with bilingual staff (English & French). We produce fresh, homemade and original food in a relaxed and informal setting. All of our clients agree that we are worth the drive off the beaten track for lunch or an evening meal to remember! Close to Mont St Michel and the American cemetery at St James.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true hidden Jem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Always a must! Just returned from our 5th visit to the Auberge. This is a regular haunt for us as a last holiday meal. We discovered it when we came to see the lake and have returned every year since then. The setting is superb as is the food. We have never had a bad meal. The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. I noticed some comments about family writing reviews. I am definitely NOT a family member just another VERY satisfied customer. Brilliant. See you all again in 2014.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgrtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & location with fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have just returned from visiting family and one of the highlights of the holiday was a wonderful lunch at the Auberge du Lac at Vezins to celebrate a birthday. We were a party of 8 and after booking the day before (and mentioning it was a birthday celebration), a table had been prepared with a view over the lake. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere to the restaurant. There was just one member of staff serving a quite busy lunchtime but you would not have noticed that she was on her own as she did a fantastic job and was so friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and with everyone ordering different dishes we got to see a variety of the food from the menu and all were of an excellent standard. The calamari with garlic mayo was a hit as was the soup and the pate with chutney for entrees. Among the main courses were baked cod with langoustine; chicken and chorizo pie; pork chops with creamy mushroom sauce and good old fashioned fish and chips with mushy peas. Desserts were equally delicious and my tarte tatin was lovely. The birthday "boy" (over 45 yrs young) was spoilt with a candle and sparkler in his dessert when it was served by the waitress who sang happy birthday to him along with the rest of the family. What a lovely and thoughful touch. All the portion sizes were spot on. I could not fault our visit and look forward to a return. Thank you for an excellent lunch and for making a birthday extra special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Piece Of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

During a weeks relaxation near Vezins in France we were advised of a local hostelry, a party of twelve was always going to be difficult to accommodate but a booking made only hours prior and we were more than satisfied with the welcome we received. Staff were fantastic and very welcoming, tables had been arranged to seat us altogether and the place was to the highest standard in decor and cleanliness set in the most tranquil village overlooking the lake. whilst our choices were varied I opted for Sunday Lunch as being on a Sunday I felt it appropriate no one in the party had any adverse comments regarding the food which I thought was to a very high standard with proportion size more than ample, bread served was baked on the premises which led me to purchase the next days supply, and with ale on tap it was the icing on the cake.

So satisfied a further visit was made on our last night again booked at short notice less than an hour before hand and service and food were again of a very high consistent standard. My choice again was more than ample, I could return over and over is great when you find service and quality of this standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food with a great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Cant fault this place, had a great menu accompanied with a great view overlooking a lake and a superb atmosphere. Portion size was just right. I would recommend the scallop and black pudding samosas followed by the monk fish wellington. Cant wait to go back and will taking my friend's along.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed next door to this restaurant for 2 weeks and ate there on several occasions and found Amanda, Marcus and their staff were very friendly and accommodating. From last minute bookings to help with the specials (clearly the our French dictionary was not as good as we thought ha ha) nothing was too much trouble.
The day of our daughters 10th birthday we decided on an impromptu lunch but only wanted something light Amanda quickly rustled up a fantastic selection of extremely delicious sandwiches that was not on the menu which were devoured in minutes! The stuffing was of particular delight! They were also very helpful helping us source local produce etc and even offered to pick us up some lobster we were after to cook ourselves. All in all a really lovely restaurant with a great ambience and fantastic food - I would particularly recommend the turkey & chorizo pie. On our last night we booked very last minute and were grateful for being squeezed in, the staff were rushed off their feet but everything came with a smile I never got the Scottish waitresses name but she was simply lovely, all in all I would say definitely pop in if your visiting the area, and remember the reason it is so busy is because it is so good so leave plenty of time and enjoy,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JNewbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Du Lac also viewed

Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet, Manche
 
Isigny-le-Buat, Manche
 

Been to Auberge Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing