We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Weekend

Lovely place ,nice walks,nice cafe great pub near by ..toilets and showers bit old but they all... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
grantp279
via mobile
A well kept friendly little touring site

We spent 5 nights at this touring site and found it to be central for most of the attractions that... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2017
jackie o
,
Wigan, United Kingdom
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
7
7
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
7
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east sussex lakeside cafe water pressure nature shower garland campsite menu staff
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We camped in July 2018 for two nights with family and friends, we choose it especially because they allowed dogs! Lots of people had dogs as there is a good dog walking field. The site was very busy, lots of children enjoying the fresh air with a small play park.Staff very friendly offering lots of adivse of local activities. Only downside was the water pressure in the second camping field!! the block was quite old, although VERY CLEAN! The shower barely dribbled out!! Tried another cubicle and its still was terrible!
Please, Please do something so everyone can have more than a dribble of water! Lovely Lakeside restaurant and bar just a walk away.

Thank 309jacquic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Loads of noise past 10 pm
Kids and adults screaming

Isotope too much to ask for a quiet evening

Fishing is great along with the cafe and bar

Thank MrFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We spent 5 nights at this touring site and found it to be central for most of the attractions that East Sussex has to offer.The site is well maintained, the shower bocks are kept clean and there was always hot water, whatever time of day you decided to visit them. (water pressure a bit low in the showers though) Under floor heating in the shower blocks was good to have.
camping sites are generous in area and ground drainage after a storm was very good.
The site attracts a lot of families and dog owners but there was never a problem with noise after 10:30pm.
BBQs are allowed but no fires.
Washing up facilities are available near the shower block, as are washing machine and tumble dryer.
There is a small on site shop at reception selling the basics and some camping needs, but Horam is only a 10 min walk away, and the larger village of Heathfield only 5 mins away by car.
The site has a café/limited menu bistro/bar. which is reasonable in price and well appointed near one of the fishing lakes. Its beer garden has been well thought out to capture he sun from early morning to early evening. Whilst we were there they had a singer on. You can also book in for Sunday lunch.
On site you can fish, horse ride, or follow nature trails.
There are plenty of pub eateries in the area.
Would we return? Yes
But as we are from the North West and the site is situated in the South East we would have to be down South again to visit.
Would I recommend this touring site? Yes

Thank jackie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Spent the weekend staying at the campsite next door, but chose to not do any cooking all weekend. During the Friday to Sunday we ate at the Lakeside Cafe and Bar at least once each day, popping back frequently for the lovely Ice Cream. We are at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The new menu has better options available for kids than before and at reasonable prices. The adult menu option are deliciously naughty but nice. Over the winter they have upgraded their kids play equipment, added seating and renovated the kitchens with new a coffee machine that kept me coming back from more. This old favourite of ours he just got better.

1  Thank carolinederrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely campsite, very friendly and welcoming. The site is extremely well maintained. Good showers and sparkly clean.
We have stayed here before and were pleased to find that the high standard was unchanged.

The lakeside cafe is good and very convenient, plenty of walking in the area and if you have a car with you plenty of places to see within a short drive. The local pub, the May Garland, is excellent.

We will return.

1  Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews