We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel , but not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sispony
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The outside of the hotel is very attractive, and the outdoor pool was very refreshing on hot days. Situated a bus ride from the main area of Andorra La Vella the area is quiet and peaceful.
The room were a little sparse for a 4 star rated establishment I felt. We had a balcony which had great views, but could have been sewpt after the walls had been re-pointed. The range of toiletries was good however.
The room could have benefitted from air conditioning as it was hot during the night (we had to have the balcony door open to cool down.
If I was ever again in Andorra I would consider this hotel again, but may look for something else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithythemackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquelma, General Manager at Abba Xalet Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear client,
We are sorry that our room didn’t fit your expectations. We would like to inform you that there is not air conditioning in the building.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have staid 2 times in this hotel, with my family and can absolutely recommend it.

Clean hotel, nice rooms, friendly staf and excellent breakfast.

The hotel is in the typical, nice style of Andorra: rural and mountainy.

If I go back to andorra, I will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquelma, General Manager at Abba Xalet Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear client,
Thank you for your comments. I hope I could greet you next time you come to our hotel.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautifully located hotel, on the outskirts of the town of Massana, in Sispony. Views were breathtaking. Accommodations were great, clean and newer. Food was plentiful and well presented, although dinners a bit salty for most in our group. Appetizers were great! Hotel staff was efficient, though most not overly friendly, a few were very cheerful, especially the morning waiter. Front desk staff very accommodating to call cabs, research info for you. Access to ski lifts were via shuttle bus that had to be pre-booked at the front desk, and ran to the cable car in the morning until 11, and from the cable car in the afternoon until 5. This was a bit problematic as they sometimes ran out of room on the shuttles, and restricted your departure to a set time with no flexibility. Cab to or from cable car was around 7 Euros. We walked back a few days, from the hill to the hotel, as we took a locker at the hill for our skis and boots. It takes about 45 minutes to walk, (2 KM), and is a little tricky the last few hundred meters as there is no sidewalk and traffic is moving quickly. Resort was strict as to noise at hotel, in the lobby/pool room or in the rooms themselves. We were a group of 21 and had no where to go to socialize after dinner. Great hotel for couples or families, but not if you are a large group looking to hang out at hotel, or like to go out in the evenings, as this hotel is removed from any bars/clubs. Arinsal is a better choice for groups/party goers, and most hotels there are a walk to the cable car in that town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper building, and although no balcony, had small area to stand out to smoke. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquelma, General Manager at Abba Xalet Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your comments as they make us to improve our service.
The shuttle from the hotel to the cable car is a minivan for 8 people, that is why reservation is needed. Due to the traffic in La Massana during skiing hours (9-17hrs) we try to make as many trips as possible but sometimes it is not enough for all the clients staying in our hotel.
As you have said, our clients are mostly couples and families that’s why we try to respect sleeping time.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Abba hotel group's Xalet suites hotel in Sispony, Andorra is an amazing hotel, deserving it's 4 stars. Me & my girlfriend stayed in the 'suites' part of the hotel between 11th & 15th March & don't have a bad word to say.
We found the staff to be welcoming & helpful, & the hotel/room itself to be clean and tidy. The hotel is situated very close to La Massana (about 10 minutes walk) & therefore very close to Vallnord ski resort/Pal (about 15 minutes walk). The view from the front of the hotel is amazing, overlooking mountains & xalets.
One night we didn't really know where to go for dinner, but a quick conversation with the receptionist & she booked us into a restaurant just 5 minutes walk up the road in Sispony. The general English language isn't amazing, but then again neither's our Spanish (which most people seem to speak), but not leading to any real barrier in communication. Word of general caution, most Andorran restaurants don't open until 8 or 8:30pm, so may be best to eat a little more when out around lunchtime.
If you're looking for great nightlife/drinking culture, the situ of this hotel probably won't be right for you. If you want a lovely mountainside hotel with great views, good local cuisine, close to the capital (Andorra la Vella: 15 minutes by bus), great walks & a great ski resort then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of 'suites' have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquelma, Director General at Abba Xalet Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear client,
We are really pleased with your comments. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

During my stay in a suite, the restaurant was closed and needed to leave the building for dinner in another building more than 100 meters away. With wet weather and small children to stay can be very complicated. The restaurant is "a la carte" and not buffet. The SPA is just outside the hotel forcing sudden temperature changes. Except Mrs. Monica, the reception staff is unpleasant and unwilling to satisfy the customer. The restaurant staff is attentive but are always running between tables not allowing a restful meal. The suites are spacious but show some lack of maintenance. The cleanliness of the suites comes down to the essential no vacuuming the floor once. The distance to the cable car to La Massana is 2 km, not 0.8 km as the hotel advertises.
I complained daily with the head of the table because the restaurant environment. When asked for the complaint book, the director did not care to talk to me.
For breakfast, the employees use the same wet towel to clean tables, chairs, etc, throwing debris onto the floor.
Lack of cleanliness in outdoor spaces with immense cigarettes on the floor next to the reception.
Suite Hotel could be spectacular but with another type of treatment.
Service costly and far below the standard 4 star hotel in Andorra.

Room Tip: Before choosing a suite confirm that the restaurant is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aspen823767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Never been to a Ski resort previous "Winter or Summer" always had an Inkling to go to Andorra. Not 1 iota off dissapointement. Hotel Staff, Location, Facilities, Rooms & Suites were perfect.
Easy to find , Parking was free, Drinks inexpensive, and staff were very helpfull.
WiFi was OK , pool closed the day we arrived but that would be expected on 15th September. Would recommend in Winter or Summer.
1 slight issue , the half board set menu was a little lacking in choice ,and poor in quality, room for improvement, No other Issues.

Room Tip: No tip any room would be acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarkan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed at the Abba suites for 2 nights mid week. The hotel was quite quiet and peaceful and our room faced the front of the hotel out to the mountain. The beds were average but we slept soundly as it was so quiet and peaceful. In the morning we looked our from our balcony and saw a wild fawn grazing on the front grass. It has a great pool and free parking onsite. It is such a beautiful place and only a 10 minute drive to the hectic, buzz of downtown Andorra La Vella. There are a couple of great restaurants only a few mintues drive from the hotel, both I can highly recommend. Moli Dels Fenals is a beautiful stone restaurant serving authentic Andorran food and great grills. Also Antonio's pizza is amazing, best pizza in all of Andorra. I would definately stay here if wanting a relaxing base to explore Andorra.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel facing forward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquelma, Director General at Abba Xalet Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear client,

We are sorry that your stay among us wasn’t as successful as it could have been.
Due to less occupancy than expected, we decided to open just one of our two restaurants. When we decided that, we put our small van as a transport service for our clients between the two buildings. But as you said in your comment, there was bad weather during your stay so the affluence of clients wanting to dinner at the hotel increase, that is why the restaurant was a bit more noisy than usual.
We will revised the websites where the distance between our hotel and the cable car is incorrect and we will change it.
About the lack of cleanliness we will talk with our housekeeper about it. We will take the appropriate measures in order to not happen again.
As I am the hotel Manager, all the complaints arrive to me, usually I like to talk and listen to my clients and try to solve the inconveniences that can happen during their stay but there are sometimes that I am not in the hotel when people complaint and unfortunately that was your case.
Yours sincerely,

Miquel Martinez
General Manager
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sispony
3.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
1.7 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
#1 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Acta Arthotel
Hotel Acta Arthotel
#3 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Isard
Hotel de l'Isard
#9 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Andorra
Hotel Plaza Andorra
#4 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Xalet Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Xalet Suites Hotel

Address: S/N Carrer Major, Sispony AD400, Andorra
Phone Number:
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Sispony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sispony
Price Range: $69 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Xalet Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel is located in the La Massana area of Andorra, 1 km away from the Massana-Pal cable car. It offers rooms with mountain views, free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The hotel's spa has a sauna, hot tub and gym, and offers wonderful views of the Anyos Valley. In the garden there is a swimming pool that is open in the summer months. The hotel offers free ski storage in winter. All rooms at the Hotel Abba Xalet Suites are equipped with central heating and the private bathrooms have a hairdryer. The hotel's restaurant serves traditional recipes with a modern twist. Specialities include oxtail soup and honey-glazed pork. Vallnord ski resort is 2 km away from the Abba Xalet Suites. Sispony's main shopping street is a 5-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abba Xalet Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Xalet Hotel
Abba Xalet La Massana
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel Andorra/La Massana Parish - Sispony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing