We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
$59
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
SUN1 Port Elizabeth(Port Elizabeth)
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$142
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookes Hill Suites(Port Elizabeth)
$109
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
266
60
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
60
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesbreadaddo elephant parkfish eagleslocal pubwelcome drinkday triplion roomwonderful daysgreat hostsfruit juicebird lifeother guestssteakfamily roomspent nightsdeck overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 344 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Dungbeetle which we greatly enjoyed. The host were superbly friendly and helpful and very, very talkative. Rooms are good and spacious. The surroundings are beautiful - go on a canoe trip on the Sundays river to the dunes, and make sure you have enough time and a cold drink. We went on a half day (for lack of time) trip to Addo with Derek, but would definitely recommend spending at least a whole day in the Addo park.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

My sister and I stayed in the Dungbeetle lodge for 2 nights. Etta and Derek booked us on the afternoon/evening safari at Schotia for the first night and even though something went wrong in the communication (we did not know where to go and the owners were both on a tour) this was a GREAT trip! Seeing lots of wildlife and the great diner at the campfire made this a highlight of our trip.
The next day we went to Addo Elephant Park with Derek and had a GREAT day! We initially booked a 1/2 day trip but decided to stay the whole day. Derek is a great guide and we had lots of fun during the trip!
The rooms and the breakfast are very good. The dinner in the local pub was a experience. Not a pub I would usually go to, but the food is great!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyvdheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Top quality place to stay in a beautiful setting a few kms from Addo. Breakfast was on the terrace overlooking the Sunday River, watching the birds, enjoying the peace and quiet - until Etta, our host, decided to give us a lecture. I felt like I was at school and trapped by a very strict teacher- in fact Etta would have no trouble controlling a class of rowdy teenagers with a hard stare. The food was excellent, in fact everything was excellent . Maybe I am alone in wanting to eat my breakfast in peace.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuttings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed here because of its proximity to Addo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Big Five suite - worth the extra. Etta welcomed us with a drink and was very helpful with our plans. She is a mine of information and should write a book on the area's history, flora, fauna and legends for guests to peruse at their leisure. It would be an enjoyable read. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river was a sheer delight. Dung Beetle River Lodge is a great place to stay and Etta and Derek are warm, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annietakesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We have just returned from an amazing 3 week holiday in SA Garden Route/Route 62. The Dungbeetle was where we spent our first and second nights stay and to be honest I wish we had stayed longer. The accommodation is first class and Etta & Derek the most perfect and friendly hosts. They both did everything to make us feel at home and succeeded in making Mike and i feel really special.

I would recommend that anyone wanting to visit Addo Elephant park to book with Dungbeetle. Etta took us out to the park and we spent the whole day inside the park - Etta getting us out of the gates 5 minutes before closing. The day was so special as Etta not only knew the best places from which to view the animals she made everything come alive with her knowledge of the area and her genuine enthusiasm towards the animals, the country and the vegetation. This day trip was most certainly one of the highlights of my holiday.

The Dungbeetle Lodge is situated right on the Sundays River with the most amazing views. The room was spotless, well furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent especially Etta's hot freshly baked "Roosterbrood" which was new to us. Etta even explained the history behind the making of Roosterbrood.

Staying at Dungbeetle was the perfect start to our holiday and I want to thank Etta and Derek for their hospitality. Would I stay here again - most definitely

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews