We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Corner Of Paradise”
Review of Hopewell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopewell Lodge
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at Hopewell in February 2014. On arrival I was greeted so warmly by the Manager Anthony who's hospitality throughout the stay was attentive & informative. He was a superb host and the chef John, maids Mary and Monica and ranger Paulie all made the stay exquisite with great attention to detail. I stayed in the Zebra suite, I was overwhelmed with the exquisite layout, decor, positioning, view and ambience of the suite and immediately felt that I never wanted to leave! My view was over the watering hole and the water buck were on full display. The food, meals and service were all superb, the game drives were wonderful and we saw so much, so close. The landscape was really interesting and surrounded by lush green hills, so peaceful and perfect. At the lodge we were treated to a visit by the cheetah! He licked my hand as I sat in complete awe! I have been to a 5* game reserve in Kruger before but Hopewell goes beyond 'stars' in my opinion, it is a corner of paradise. At the lodge they make you feel so at home you will never want to leave, the private lodge and personal service make it truly unique. If you get the opportunity to stay here then DO. I fully intend to return again with my family in the not too distant future. You are a wonderful team, thank you so much for making my stay so very special!

Room Tip: ALL the suites were amazing! We got a tour of them all!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AminahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hopewell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have returned every year for the past 13 years, this really is a home in the bush. Totally exclusive, peaceful and relaxing. The staff are wonderful and this is a place to put your feet up, write, paint, read and explore. without fail there is always something new to see and to witness the evolution and rehabilitation of such a wonderfully unique place is precious indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Hopewell for 4 nights in December 2014, we couldn't have been looked after better from the moment we arrived until the sad time of our departure, the hospitality was very special, the food delicious and the Accomodation luxurious. The morning and evening safaris were amazing and we saw all kinds of amazing animals in their natural habitat. 5 stars indeed, a beautiful place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I never leave reviews whether good bad or indifferent but could not leave Hopewell without writing about it as the service was exceptional.

Wow what a fantastic stay Hopewell Lodge is truly unique. Having stayed in many other luxury hotels and lodges there really is something that sets Hopewell apart and that is the attitude and the fantastic team there, in a nutshell it really is a home from home albeit with Giraffe, Cheetah and many other animals wandering around in your rather large garden.

The Staff are really fantastic and looked after our every need making our stay a truly memorable one. Thank you Anthony, Karin(hope I spelt this correctly), John, Monica, Mary and Paulie. Not forgetting everyone else! Thank you.

The rooms are amazing and the relaxed attitude due to the lack of some of the more aggressive animals (lion, leopard, baboon) etc made it even more of a pleasure as you did not have to be chaperoned (apart from the Children) and meeting Tabu the Cheetah was also truly magical and the reason we needed to keep an eye on the kids.

The set up an amazing NYE party in the Boma for us although 50% of the party were ill due to a bug from previous travels (nothing to do with Hopewell).

On our return our transfer failed to turn up and we were quite close to missing our flight from Port Elizabeth but Anthony and Paulie managed to get us to the Airport in time for our flight, no easy task as there were eight of us and luggage, so a massive thank you to Anthony and Paulie for going beyond the call of duty there.



Hopefully we will be back again we will certainly be recommending you to all.

Room Tip: They are all great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent a few days at Hopewell Lodge recently and had the most wonderful time! The lodge and the suites are beautiful and luxurious, with great views over a watering hole and the surrounding bush. Anthony and the rest of the team were wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay as memorable as possible, and the meals John prepared were delicious. We particularly liked having the whole place to ourselves so could really enjoy the peace and quiet, and could tailor the days to suit our preferences. We saw a lot of different animals during our stay thanks to Paulie's excellent tracking skills, and we particularly enjoyed our encounters with the cheetahs. We hope to be back!!
Carol and Paul

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the reserve for two nights. We decided to celebrate our honeymoon there and that was the best decision we made the whole trip.
The "motto" of the reserve is not to have more than one group at a time so that's how we found ourselves alone just the two of us with the team at the reserve.
From the moment we arrived till the moment we sadly left the team and Antony the manager were doing everything they could in order to make this experience not less than perfect!!!
The food, the suite (we stayed at buffalo suite), the animals and the game reserve, the service, the attitude, the room itself and the breathtaking view from it was just perfect!!!
We will certainly come back!
The best thing we did - without a doubt!!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the suites. It worth the money, one time experience !!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lilach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have visited twice,and would recommend it as the best experience ever ,to be repeated as many times as possible,as it is such a magical and exciting vacation. It offers everything you could possibly wish for on a cosseted holiday. Wonderful food attentive staff, quiet solitude complete relaxation,fantastic luxurious accommodation and the final attraction of animals in their natural environment, it's not possible to ask for better.The animals are amazing and very beautiful ,it's difficult to say which I enjoyed most,we went on two Safari drives a day and every time had a new experience,encountering different animals.I loved the elephants with their babies ,giraffes zebras and cheetahs ,but must admit to loving and being so impressed with the Rhinos we encountered late in the day ,who offered much entertainment.These drives involve stops to enjoy the action of the animals and a little drink while observing the excitement of the wilderness. Later we enjoyed beautifully presented food. All meals from breakfast until the end of the day are of the highest quality, and accompanied by fine wines if required .We shall have to make a return visit sometime as extra accommodation has been added,each with their own swimming pools,Also the added attraction of Buffalo. You can be assured of an excellent welcome ,from happy experienced staff.Give it a try,you will certainly not be disappointed. We continued our holidays at the lovely coastal town of Kenton on Sea ,which offers beautiful sandy beaches , a lovely way to finish off the holiday of a lifetime.We visited in 2007 and 2008

Room Tip: All Rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatyPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
1.4 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
2.2 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
6.8 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Lodge

Address: R72, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Colchester
Price Range: $799 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hopewell Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopewell Lodge is an exclusive luxury hideaway on a private African game reserve in South Africa's beautiful Eastern Cape. The luxurious lodge nestled in the hillside hosts up to 12 guests and overlooks the wildlife reserve, a reclaimed Eden in a once remote wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hopewell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing