We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience!”
Review of Hopewell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopewell Lodge
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent a few days at Hopewell Lodge recently and had the most wonderful time! The lodge and the suites are beautiful and luxurious, with great views over a watering hole and the surrounding bush. Anthony and the rest of the team were wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay as memorable as possible, and the meals John prepared were delicious. We particularly liked having the whole place to ourselves so could really enjoy the peace and quiet, and could tailor the days to suit our preferences. We saw a lot of different animals during our stay thanks to Paulie's excellent tracking skills, and we particularly enjoyed our encounters with the cheetahs. We hope to be back!!
Carol and Paul

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the reserve for two nights. We decided to celebrate our honeymoon there and that was the best decision we made the whole trip.
The "motto" of the reserve is not to have more than one group at a time so that's how we found ourselves alone just the two of us with the team at the reserve.
From the moment we arrived till the moment we sadly left the team and Antony the manager were doing everything they could in order to make this experience not less than perfect!!!
The food, the suite (we stayed at buffalo suite), the animals and the game reserve, the service, the attitude, the room itself and the breathtaking view from it was just perfect!!!
We will certainly come back!
The best thing we did - without a doubt!!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the suites. It worth the money, one time experience !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lilach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have visited twice,and would recommend it as the best experience ever ,to be repeated as many times as possible,as it is such a magical and exciting vacation. It offers everything you could possibly wish for on a cosseted holiday. Wonderful food attentive staff, quiet solitude complete relaxation,fantastic luxurious accommodation and the final attraction of animals in their natural environment, it's not possible to ask for better.The animals are amazing and very beautiful ,it's difficult to say which I enjoyed most,we went on two Safari drives a day and every time had a new experience,encountering different animals.I loved the elephants with their babies ,giraffes zebras and cheetahs ,but must admit to loving and being so impressed with the Rhinos we encountered late in the day ,who offered much entertainment.These drives involve stops to enjoy the action of the animals and a little drink while observing the excitement of the wilderness. Later we enjoyed beautifully presented food. All meals from breakfast until the end of the day are of the highest quality, and accompanied by fine wines if required .We shall have to make a return visit sometime as extra accommodation has been added,each with their own swimming pools,Also the added attraction of Buffalo. You can be assured of an excellent welcome ,from happy experienced staff.Give it a try,you will certainly not be disappointed. We continued our holidays at the lovely coastal town of Kenton on Sea ,which offers beautiful sandy beaches , a lovely way to finish off the holiday of a lifetime.We visited in 2007 and 2008

Room Tip: All Rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatyPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved every minute at Hopewell! We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week SA holiday and it definitely was one of the highlights.
Niall (the manager) and Roger (our ranger) gave us a warm welcome and since they were working on the new private suites we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite (currently called Nguni suite on their website). An absolutely stunning accommodation with a gorgeous view of the valley.
The staff is great, every single one of them tried their best to make our stay as memorable as possible and they definitely succeeded! John's cooking is fenomenal and Paulie is the best tracker!! Meeting with Thabo, the house cheetah was something that we will never forget!
Our stay became even more memorable since we got engaged here, and we will definitely try to be back here soon!!!!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the private suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We rented the reserve for a few days and enjoyed every minute.
There is one vehicle with great rangers, we saw loads of animals and as it has not been commercialised it is a true Africa experience!
Food was fab- go for outside dining one evening
My suite was stunning. Kettle, UK and SA plugs, lots of space, outdoor showers and private sun bathing deck
Totally memorable...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful stay with great hosts, scenery and fantastic service! Would go back without any hesitation! I can understand how guests would want to return - from reading reviews, Niall and his team made us feel totally welcome and shared their expertise, knowledge and many light hearted moments. The lodge and accommodation are private and in a beautiful setting. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormLabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had an unforgettable and beautiful experience at the Hopewell Lodge, where we stayed with my parents for an extended weekend. The mixture of pure nature with wild animals and beautiful landscape, personal guide, incredibly friendly staff that really did everything to make us feel comfortable, fantastic food and wine and the luxurious main house which we had for ourselves made this a perfect weekend! Thanks to the Hopewell Staff for everything, especially the dinner under the lantern lit tree - unforgettable! Franziska Luke

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
Thank ziskoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
0.0 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 9 in Colchester
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Jackal Guest House
Happy Jackal Guest House
#3 of 9 in Colchester
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Lodge

Address: R72, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Colchester
Price Range: $786 - $1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hopewell Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopewell Lodge is an exclusive luxury hideaway on a private African game reserve in South Africa's beautiful Eastern Cape. The luxurious contemporary lodge nestled in the hillside hosts up to a maximum of 12 guests and overlooks the wildlife reserve, a reclaimed Eden in a once remote wilderness. Waking up to the sounds and sights of the African bush, sundowners above the elephants’ favourite watering hole, relaxing in a secluded private swimming pool overlooking the bush, together with sumptuous dinners under the stars, provide the memories that linger long after your stay. The passionate and experienced ranger guides guests through the rolling landscape, ever willing to stop and discuss plants, insects, birds and game spotted along the way. Up close and personal interaction with a cheetah is a highlight. Superb cuisine, local drinks and two game drives daily included in the rate. Two or three nights recommended to get the full experience. Malari-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hopewell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing