We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B ideal for Addo or N2 stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Jackal Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent two nights at the guest house on a visit to the Addo Elephant park. Ideally situated just minutes from the south gate. Very nicely furnished in an African theme. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was divine. The literature suggests a four star restaurant a short walk away. Although the food was wholesome with a game theme, it could not really be described as four star. The village pub was as good. We will definitely stay at the happy jackal again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms were a little more expensive, but were large with river views and well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very welcoming guest house. Great location for Addo as very short drive to the park. Friendly owners who go out of their way to meet guests' needs. Super breakfasts and the Sunday evening meal was all homemade and delicious. Our room was well kitted out with a large spotless bathroom and there were sliding doors onto a patio where we sat and watched the array of colourful birds and caught occasional glimpses of monkeys cavorting on the disused iron bridge nearby. There was also a small pool to cool off if necessary. A peaceful place and only a short drive from Port Elizabeth.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandwichThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Are you looking for great hospitality, beautiful and romantic rooms, good food next to Addo Elephant national park? Don't look any further and stay at this great place!
The owners are so friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are wonderful and although we only had rain during our stay, it was one of the best experiences during our round trip! We had dinner in the dining room which was romantically lighted with only candles. The food was tasty as well. Great breakfast with homemade jams, bread, free range eggs and fresh fruit from their garden! To describe this guesthouse in one word: perfect!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Karinandsven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Spent two nights with my boyfriend in feb now again two wonderful nights with my parents at this lovely location! The view towards the river is amazing!! Make sure u get a room in the wonderful mainbuilding!! Liz and Peter are the perfect hosts! Peter, we all loved your bread for breakfast! 5 mins car drive to addo south entrance! Nice pool also available! Definitely will return! All the best! klaus with parents!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank caban2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in the Lion King Cottage within the grounds which was very comfortable with lovely decor and our own private little garden. Quiet setting and perfectly placed for visits to Addo National Park and Schotia Reserve, great location for safari options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBC0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great place to pass a few nights, right on the fringes of Addo Park. Beautiful riverside location, with the sun streaming in across the expansive grassy lawn. There is easy access to a bridge and disused paved road, providing a great place for bike riding or the early morning walk/run.

We rented the 2-bedroom cottage, as we were traveling with family. The place was nice a roomy, except for one of the bedrooms which was really cramped and had 2 single beds. Nice kitchen and living area, however the TV was an embarrassingly small, old CRT-style unit. Also, the Wifi signal was so weak that we couldn’t pick it up in our unit and had to go outside, closer to the main lodge in order to connect. A stronger Wifi signal would’ve been nice. The cottage had no views but was surrounded by a nice walled yard area. Very clean and well-maintained throughout.

We received a very warm welcome from Peter, the owner, and he happily provided answers to all of our many questions. Great host, made us feel at home. The breakfast, served in the main lodge building, was excellent – a great selection of fruit and yogurt followed by eggs made to order. Delicious!

Overall we had a really nice stay at the Happy Jackal and would very happily stay here again. Highly recommended to all other travelers. Good location for trips into Addo Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Happy Jackal 4 years ago and chose to stay here again because of the very close proximity of the southern gate of Addo and because of the fine rooms and the hospitality. Peter and Liz are very friendly and helpful, and breakfast is great. Colchester in itself is a rather boring place, but there are really fine things to experience around. There are the beautiful Golden dunes and the sea some kilometers away, then there is Addo which is an absolute must if you like to see Elephants, there are hundreds,it is just great. Furthermore the private game reserve Schotia is a great experince because you come so close (almost too close) to the animals.

Room Tip: We had 2 luxury rooms upstairs and would certainly recommend Room 5, a large Room with a large balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.8 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 9 in Colchester
231 reviews
12.6 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ParkView Lodge
ParkView Lodge
#5 of 9 in Colchester
6 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
16.0 mi away
Hopefield Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Jackal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Jackal Guest House

Address: 5 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: $91 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Jackal Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Jackal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing