We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION FOR ADDO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Jackal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Jackal Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION FOR ADDO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great welcome - nothing too much trouble. Delightful room upstairs with nice balcony and view, which would have been even better if it had stopped raining! Addo just two kilometers up the road. Restaurants easlly reached from guest house

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Liz and Peter are the best hosts we have ever experienced at a B&B by a long mile. You feel like family the moment you meet them.
We stayed 5 nights and their breakfast, where they host is simply out of this world. You can order what you want and the eggs like you prefer..from omelets, eggs Benedict, to fried eggs they will prepare whatever you like. And then the bread, which is freshly baked...we were convinced they bake it the moment they hear you are up, because it is simply perfectly fresh each time.
Liz organized a personal itinerary for us with things to do each day. By day 3 we had to skip an item because we were so busy...from a guided trip to Addo, to riding with elephants, a game drive on a private game park - with Lions and a visit to the best Raptor Sanctuary we have ever been to.
We will be back for more bread and good friendly company!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful place to stay in a fantastic location just a few minutes from addo and the sand dunes. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious. Unfortunatly we were only there for one night but would have been a great place to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19GEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I very much appreciated the service we received from Liz and Peter by waiting up till nearly 10pm to check us in. The room was great even though it was freezing. We ended up sleeping in our jeans and jackets we wore that day to get some heat - we did plug in and put on the wall heater but it never warmed up. Wish we could have stayed longer as I found out there are quite a few things to do there but we only had the 1 night. I will go back again...in summer.

The room was large and the bed very comfy. I liked the view from our downstairs room over the rolling greens down to the river.

The breakfast - the baked bread was a clincher!! Loved it and part of the reason why I will go back.....mmmm jummy!

Room Tip: I loved the downstairs room as you could walk straight out onto the rolling greens - I will always p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerRoyalHickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely house in a beautiful riverside location. It's at the Matyholweni entrance to the Addo Elephant National Park. The breakfasts were truly wonderful, with home-made breads and jams as well as the eggs, sausage, fruit-salad, cereals, ....They also do bookings for many of the local activities, and were very well up on what to do and were to go in the surrounding area. This was a family holiday, so we had their largest room, which fitted us all happily and was excellent value for money. The room had a fridge, kettle, and supply of coffee and tea. Other amenities were satelite TV, internet, and a large library.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julyan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wonderful quiet location on the Sundays river banks with the opportunity for long walks.
The accommodation and food is excellent. Highly recommended if one is travelling in that area and an overnight stop is required.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a 2 nights stay at Peter and Liz place. Liz cooked for us a 3 course meal ) we stayed at the luxe room with balcony and beautifull view. We had recommended this B&B for the Addo Park

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frits k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.1 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 7 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 7 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
12.3 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#12 of 22 in Addo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
18.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Jackal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Jackal Guest House

Property: Happy Jackal Guest House
Address: 5 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Jackal Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Happy Jackal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing