We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized service at a working sitrus farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colonial on Arundel
Ranked #3 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

When making my booking I was immediatly contacted by the guest who offered activities for our stay. We chose to go with the host on a game drive in Addo, and we were not dissappointed. We got a very nice and personal welcome, and the hosts did their best to make our stay enjoyable. The bathroom looked new, and the room was personalized and looked more like a home away from home in Africa than a steril hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaHK1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful accommodation – we enjoyed the comfort of the 3-room-suite with the bedroom (electric blankets – cosy in winter), a lounge and a bathroom with a shower for at least two. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, yoghurt and fresh orange juice from the fruits of the surrounding plantation. We really enjoyed the talks with Molly and Conor during breakfast time as well as the hints concerning restaurants and the Addo NP.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just spent three days in Addo and booked this amazing guest house.
From the time we arrived to the time we left every thing was perfect! The room was Huge and spacious with its own lounge area and veranda over looking the most magnificent gardens and orange orchards in the distance. Molly and Connor are the owners and they were "Hosts of Note"
Connor has a wealth of information on the game, the Elephants and their breeding cycles etc. We went into the reserve with him twice and it is some thing we will never forget! We arrived home both nights to the most amazing, delicious meals cooked by Molly. We loved our stay so much we have booked for the same time next year!
Wynand and Tanja Koetzer

Room Tip: book dinner with Molly, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay!!
Molly and Connor gave us a warm welcome and did all possible to make us feel at home. We had a place with excellent accommodation with own swimming pool and were served a bottle of nice South African wine on our own terrace. The first night Molly prepared a lovely dinner for us and the second night Connor was so kind to take all his guests to a good restaurant in the neighbourhood
A private game drive in Addo with Connor is a "must do", you could not have a better guide. After the drive we were served a picnic out of the car on the bonnet and he did not forget that we were very fond of SA wine!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vosnieuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This lovely house and generous hosts have everything you need to enjoy any type of holiday. They are friendly, helpful and informative. Their accommodation is lovely and the gardens just beautiful. The food is delicious and so well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The previous reviews say it all. We stayed three nights. Excellent guest house with fine breakfasts. We were warmly greeted by Molly on arrival and quickly shown to our suite which was furnished really well and spotlessly clean. Molly then provided us with lots of info on resteraunts and places of interest to visit in the surrounding area. On the first morning we went to Addo EP on the tour with Conor which was super, and on second day went to the cheetah farm and then to the private safari park suggested by Mollyboth of which we thoroughly enjoyed. A superb trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a three day stay that exceeded our expectations in all respects. A warm welcome and accommodation of a very high standard. Molly and Conor made us feel very much at home and many thanks must go to Lonki who helped not only with our luggage but ensured that each morning our car was clean and sparkling.
We opted for an afternoon game drive with Conor and evening meal prepared by Molly. Neither could have been bettered. Conor's knowledge and enthusiasm brought the afternoon alive in Addo Elephant Park. The evening dinner prepared by Molly was simply top notch served at a sterling place setting. Overall, a memorable occasion.
N & A Smith
London

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rupert96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunland
0.7 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.7 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
1.8 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
3.0 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
329 reviews
8.2 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial on Arundel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial on Arundel

Address: Arundel Farm, Rietfontein Road | 12 kms from Addo Elephant Park, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonial on Arundel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, "Colonial Africa" is the theme in architecture, decor, setting and atmosphere of The Colonial on Arundel. Nestling in citrus orchards on a working farm, only 10 minutes from the malaria free Addo Elephant National Park, this 4 star 2-suite facility offers understated luxury, coupled with relaxed, friendly attention, and is enhanced by highly acclaimed cuisine. Each suite has private entrance, its own private lounge and private swimming pool. Attention to detail in the suites is a trademark of Molly's personality...luxury guest amenities, toweling gowns, tea & coffee facilities, safes, swimming towels, coffee table books and magazines, alarm clock. In-house safaris with Conor, the owner and a registered guide, to the Addo Elephant National Park, will enhance your African adventure. These tours are undertaken in a air-conditioned vehicle and offer the visitor an experience in wildlife, culture and unforgettable scenery. Conor and Molly have created a truly special place that goes to the very heart of relaxation and comfort. Within easy reach are mountain walks, horse-riding, elephant back safaris, farm excursions, cheetah breeding farm tours and visits into nearby private reserves. The Colonial is truly a place where our guests leave as friends, to return time and time again. The warm welcome feeling extends right down to our Head of Public Relations, Marley the Labrador, who successfully creeps into everyone's heart. Within a 45-minute drive of Port Elizabeth Airport and the beaches, and also the gateway to the Karoo, as well as to the Garden Route to Cape Town, The Colonial on Arundel is truly the desirable Eastern Cape place to be in every respect. Welcome to the real Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Colonial on Arundel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing