We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place that accomodates adults and children with care!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Colonial on Arundel
Ranked #3 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have been to the Colonial at Arundel twice now, both times with family from the United States. As a group of 4 adults and 3 children under age 5, we loved that in this intimate location of only 2 rooms, we adults were able to enjoy our stay while the children could be children as there were no other guests to disturb. Molly and Conor went out of their way to make everyone feel at home and were of great assistance when a sick child needed medication on a public holiday! When my 4 year old accidently broke a pane of glass, Molly handled the situation with a calm demeanor that I can only hope to replicate in my own home should the situation ever present itself.

The on-site dinner was amazing and the perfect meal to arrive to after a days drive from Outdshoorn. Molly kindly prepared a kid-friendly pizza dinner for the kids upon arrival, which allowed them to eat and go to bed before the adults sat down to one of the best dinners we've ever had. With Addo only a 15 minute drive away, I was able to take the early-rising child for a lovely self-drive and return for breakfast while my husband slept. The made-to-order breakfasts were a huge hit, and we loved that the large yard allowed us to excuse the children to play while we finished eating.

Overall, I can't think of a single detail that was overlooked in making this a family friendly, amazing 3 day stay for all of us! Should you visit, do go to Addo park of course, but consider going to the Daniel Cheetah Farm for an amazing encounter with cheetahs and baby lions! Schotia safaris are also amazing- we saw a lion pride eating a kill, hippos out of the water, and a baby lion less than a month old!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely and have private pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 248 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We've been in South Africa now for 3 weeks staying at B&Bs and guesthouses. The rooms here are excellent, very large, well laid out and comfortable. We had one dinner here which was really outstanding and very reasonably priced, which was due to Molly's cooking skills that also showed in the great breakfasts. On our game drive to Addo with Conor he was able to sight several animals such as 3 caracals that we had never seen before in the wild despite other safaris in east Africa. One morning we told Molly of some difficulties we were having arranging a cultural tour of a Zulu area at our next stop. She got on the phone with contacts and promptly helped arrange it all (we have now done the tour and it was excellent). Similarly, she was able to get us into a special Sunday performance of the Drakensberg Boys Choir, after she learned we wanted to do that but would not be there for the Wednesday one. We cannot say enough good things about all the help and assistance both Molly and Conor gave us both to improve our stay in the Addo area and to make later parts of our trip better. The Colonial is a great location, very pleasant grounds, excellent rooms and with incredible hosts. You can't go wrong with it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Colonial At Arundel – It was the best B&B we have experienced in our many trips to South Africa.. We had a lovely time – the Drive in Addo NP with Connor was amazing – he is so knowledgeable! We loved the elephants and it was a bonus being able to see lion (even though they were a long way off!). Thank you for the lovely evening meal too – the steak was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and we even managed to relax by the pool for a short time!!

We would recommend you to anyone wanting to visit Addo and will certainly tell all our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerksJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you want to be looked after in comfort, you won't be disappointed at the Colonial. You will be treated much more as "a paying guest" with Conor to take you on a guided tour of Addo. While I understand that it may be necessary to put notices up about "dos and don'ts", it just detracts slightly from the excellence of Molly and Conor's hospitality, reminding you that it is a B+B, but at least 4 star
I liked their follow up email, to say that they hoped that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Colonial for a 4 night stay with friends we relaxed. Our suite was luxurious with private pool, and we were extremely well looked after and fed like fighting cocks. Molly's cooking is to die for, likewise Conor's charm, friendliness and knowledge of game. We had one of the best, if not the best, game drives we have ever had due to Conor's experience. We also learned a lot about the Addo area. We hope to return as it was absolutely brilliant! Many thanks to Molly and Conor for arranging visits to other game parks for us. Best wishes also to labrador Zach!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed there for 3 Nights at the end of February, it was a perfect start for our holidays there. Molly and Connor are great hosts, the dinner excellence and all the sourroundings they are giving to you are just perfect. And alo not to forget the Hous-Dog Zack, which is amazing.
Everytime again!! Thank you Molly and Connor again for this wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollomuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Molly and Conor are welcoming, wonderful hosts. We loved the guest lodge which was extremely comfortable. The dinner we had and the breakfast were superb. We had a marvellous time on our game drive with Conor who is extremely knowledgeable. We heartily recommend this B&B. We hope we visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonial on Arundel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial on Arundel

Address: Arundel Farm, Rietfontein Road | 12 kms from Addo Elephant Park, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonial on Arundel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, "Colonial Africa" is the theme in architecture, decor, setting and atmosphere of The Colonial on Arundel. Nestling in citrus orchards on a working farm, only 10 minutes from the malaria free Addo Elephant National Park, this 4 star 2-suite facility offers understated luxury, coupled with relaxed, friendly attention, and is enhanced by highly acclaimed cuisine. Each suite has private entrance, its own private lounge and private swimming pool. Attention to detail in the suites is a trademark of Molly's personality...luxury guest amenities, toweling gowns, tea & coffee facilities, safes, swimming towels, coffee table books and magazines, alarm clock. In-house safaris with Conor, the owner and a registered guide, to the Addo Elephant National Park, will enhance your African adventure. These tours are undertaken in a air-conditioned vehicle and offer the visitor an experience in wildlife, culture and unforgettable scenery. Conor and Molly have created a truly special place that goes to the very heart of relaxation and comfort. Within easy reach are mountain walks, horse-riding, elephant back safaris, farm excursions, cheetah breeding farm tours and visits into nearby private reserves. The Colonial is truly a place where our guests leave as friends, to return time and time again. The warm welcome feeling extends right down to our Head of Public Relations, Marley the Labrador, who successfully creeps into everyone's heart. Within a 45-minute drive of Port Elizabeth Airport and the beaches, and also the gateway to the Karoo, as well as to the Garden Route to Cape Town, The Colonial on Arundel is truly the desirable Eastern Cape place to be in every respect. Welcome to the real Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Colonial on Arundel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing