We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
313
38
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parkbiggest bedoff the beaten trackvisit addowonderful cooklovely placewarm welcomeone wordtrue hospitalitydietary requirementswonderful oasistable settingswhole familyspent three nightswonderful foodmakes you feeladdo region
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 360 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

What can one say that hasn't already been said,The biggest bed i've ever slept in,his and hers showers with huge shower heads indoor and outdoor plus a bath.
Lovely dinners cooked by Priscilla ably assisted by farmer Noel on the drinks side .
Nice location on a working citrus farm,about 20 minutes from Addo.
Asked Priscilla about trips around Addo prior to our stay and she e-mailed 9 yes 9 pages
of different trips.
Noel took us on a trip around the farm showed us his magnificent Bramin beef cattle,
and also his oranges ,lemons,limes,thousands of fruit trees all this on the back of a pick-up truck ,
Well done Priscilla and Noel keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

A fantastic experience with great rooms, food and friendly service. This is our second stay and we will be back next year

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinB120341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Priscilla and Noel are very warm and welcoming hosts.
Our garden cottage room had the biggest bed ever slept in.....
Excellent dinners and lovely breakfast with every day new fresh flower arrangements.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We needed a place to stay near to the Addo Elephant National park, and based on TripAdvisor recommendations, we selected Lupus Den for two nights, and Dungbeetle (Colchester - see review) for the other two. There are B&Bs closer to Addo than Lupus Den, but this is the only small drawback. The rooms are impeccable and there is a range to fit most pockets. Tall Europeans will love the super-sized beds in the garden cottages.

Priscilla is an extremely gracious hostess, sensitively sharing the tragedy of their daughter's accident, full of advice and suggestions, and proud (rightly so!!) to show of her magnificent rooms and account the twists in creating them. Probably more importantly, she serves the very best in South African home cooking, absolutely scrumptious. Noel is the jovial rough diamond counterpart, happy to inform about the Sundays River citrus industry ("the other areas produce c**p; take as many lemons as you want") and a sound and friendly priced wine list although he is always happy to preface it with "Anyone for a beer or a G&T?).

The gardens are large and leafy, providing a paradise for birders (how about black cuckoo?!). We would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Our days at Lupus Den was one of the best we had during our trip through South Africa. Priscilla and Noel are excellent hosts and made us feel welcome and home from the first moments on.
We stayed in the Kingfisher Room in the cottage, which is close to the main house. The location is stunning within the Citrus Farm, perfect to relax but close enough to the Addo Elephant Park, which is around 30 min driving time away.
The rooms are beautifully furnished and handled with care, everything was spotless clean and lovely decorated. The bathroom is also a highlight, which had an inside and outside double shower - one can enjoy a hot or cold shower under moonlit sky or in the sunshine. Furthermore, the offered bath cosmetic products were not the usual standard, but organic and from high quality, which is another lovely and remarkable detail.
There is a beautiful and big swimming pool at the farmhouse, surrounded by wonderful trees and nice wooden sunbeds, where we relaxed after a hot safari trip. It was honestly to good to be true, the complete stay was amazing.
I also have to mentioned the food: Breakfast and Dinner were not only presented in a lovely way and served on beautiful China, but also is Priscilla an excellent cook, we felt like in heaven. You should try her homemade Tomato & Pepperdew jam, which I got addicted to - so perfect!
We will come back definitely and will try to stay longer next time - it's just perfect, so we highly recommend it, if you want to have a great time to remember.
Also useful: Priscilla supported us with our tour bookings in advance and had useful recommendations for us, which we highly appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna_ffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews