We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reply to CoupleP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lupus Den Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sunland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lupus Den Country House
Ranked #2 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hout Bay
2 reviews
“Reply to CoupleP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Did this CoupleP ever read the review of other visitors? The point of visiting Lupus Den is to experience a well developed farm in the citrus valley of the Sundays River with the added bonus of visiting the Addo Park. It offers a retreat from the frenetic hustle and bustle of modern living into the elegant and peaceful atmosphere created by a gracious hostess.This visit is an experience of living in nature. One does not come here to experience the superficiality of town living.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
214
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in Lupus Den for two nights and they were our worst nights of our whole trip to South Africa. We have seen a lot of places in the world now and stayed in the Cape area for a month. But Lupus Den has become our word for a hotel were you expect a lot from and get nothing. It's highly rated on trip advisor but we can't figure out why.

It is too far from the Addo national park and you have to drive over a bad dirt road to get there. Not very pleasant during evenings, feels a bit scary too. There is nothing to do in the area ( at least 25 km) near the hotel, so you either have to eat at the Addo national park, or at Lupus Den. We ate at Lupus Den only once, and thanked politely for the next, because in our opinion it was overpriced ( really expensive compared to all the diners and wines we got even in more touristic places and fine restaurants in for example the Vineyard area), you didn't have an option to choose what you would like to eat ( there is a fixed menu of the day and that's it...!), the food is old fashioned and overcooked (spinach, with some meat and potatoes) and there wasn't a lot of ambiance in the dining room.

The rooms are big though and also clean and since you are in a rural area you can't be surprised that there are some spiders or other insects on the wall. But the whole setting just feels like the golden moment of this place was 15 years ago. We were also amazed by the comment of the owner that everything was better in the old days of SA. We got the feeling that they might have been stuck in this era.

So if your not 45 yet or feel like it, we wouldn't recommend on going there, a better alternative is a stay in the park itself or probably in Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suitcase920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite for 3 nights at Lupus Den and it was a very great time!

It's close to the Addo Elephant Park!

Pricilla welcomed us like family, she was very keen to pamper us!

The breakfasts and the self-cooked dinners have been excellent!!!

The place is very nice and peaceful - a little bit in the middle of nowhere - feels like paradise!

Room Tip: King Fisher Suite is very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in the Kingfisher suite for just one night. Should have been more.
Warm welcome from Pricilla. Property set in quiet orchard surrounds. Wonderful aromas of orange blossom.
Lovely large room with comfortable king bed, good pillows/toiletries and shaded patio, about 50 metres from the main house via the large swiming pool. Well lit at night.
Walked for a couple of hours, around the orchards, before sun down enjoying the peace and many birds.
Dinner is a must. Discussed beforehand by Pricilla and served to perfection. It was roast chicken the night we were there and it is the first time I have beeen asked which cut I preferred. That was after a tasty pastry starter and before a 'tipsy' pudding. Breakfast was equally excellent with the best orange juice in SA.
Pricilla clearly has a keen eye for quality and taste and that shows in every aspect at Lupus Den..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

... it's a dirt road but you don't need a 4x4 at all!
But most important: this is a wonderful place to feel like at home.
Priscilla and Noel are extremely friendly people and the perfect hosts.
Delicious breakfast and high class dinner at the fire place.
The guest house has a wonderful garden with pool and is situated amidst an orange farm which is run by Noel. He was so kind to take us on a tour around the property - we enjoyed that as much as visiting Addo Elephant Park which is only a 30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We travelled with our family at this beautifully decorated home and were welcomed by Priscilla our host. She was quick to show us the room and show us the amenities etc. One thing i find it unusual is why she failed to ask us as we arrived whether we want dinner at all, what food we like to have but she assumed we would have it. She had already cooked and so we could not say anything. Although quite expensive the dinner was delicious i must say.A menu was presented and very formal candle lit dinner with music made the ambience romantic.

Both Noel and Priscilla were indeed great hosts.Priscilla's personal attention to what we wanted, breakfast requests were very good. The 3 course dinner served was fantastic fresh ingredients and good quality,taste. Breakfast was very good,fresh orange juice from there farms etc. She also gifted me the greenwood guide about SA which i must say was very kind of her. She noticed me reading for the last 2 days and gifted it to me. She helped us to book our Addo safari tour with Sorita.

I do recommend it but if you are with kids this is not the stay for you. It is also a bit far. there is 6 km very treacherous dirt road to the location. the room which we stayed was homestead 2. it was small but good. Although the water in the shower could not drain quickly after shower. so had to wait in between till it has gone down the drain. And again turn it on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namanpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A really lovely location, close to Addo National Park and other sites of interest. We had a stunning room and were really well taken care of. The food was absolutely superb, with Priscilla handling the various dietary requirements with ease. As a fan of the Addo National Park, though never being able to stay in the park (always booked solid) - this was a fantastic spot and one I would go back to again.

Room Tip: Kingfisher was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayshree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunland
5.5 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
3.7 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
3.9 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
5.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupus Den Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupus Den Country House

Property: Lupus Den Country House
Address: Lupus Den | Enon Road, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupus Den Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to unwind in a warm & friendly atmosphere, Lupus Den Country House is situated on our working citrus & cattle farm in the Sundays River Valley, approximately 25 minutes from the Addo Elephant Park. We offer comfortable to luxury accommodation in our Homestead & Garden Cottage set in a tranquil garden with large, sparkling pool, shaded by many beautiful trees. When not out exploring the local attractions, guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of a rural setting. In the evenings, on request, we serve a set 3-course candlelit, home-cooked dinner - a delicious way to end a day of exciting game-viewing. The enjoyment of our guests is a top priority so we will help where we can with bookings for safari outings to various game reserves in the vicinity or arrange the services of a private guide to the Addo Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing