We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't worry about the road...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sunland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lupus Den Country House
Ranked #2 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

... it's a dirt road but you don't need a 4x4 at all!
But most important: this is a wonderful place to feel like at home.
Priscilla and Noel are extremely friendly people and the perfect hosts.
Delicious breakfast and high class dinner at the fire place.
The guest house has a wonderful garden with pool and is situated amidst an orange farm which is run by Noel. He was so kind to take us on a tour around the property - we enjoyed that as much as visiting Addo Elephant Park which is only a 30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Lupus Den Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We travelled with our family at this beautifully decorated home and were welcomed by Priscilla our host. She was quick to show us the room and show us the amenities etc. One thing i find it unusual is why she failed to ask us as we arrived whether we want dinner at all, what food we like to have but she assumed we would have it. She had already cooked and so we could not say anything. Although quite expensive the dinner was delicious i must say.A menu was presented and very formal candle lit dinner with music made the ambience romantic.

Both Noel and Priscilla were indeed great hosts.Priscilla's personal attention to what we wanted, breakfast requests were very good. The 3 course dinner served was fantastic fresh ingredients and good quality,taste. Breakfast was very good,fresh orange juice from there farms etc. She also gifted me the greenwood guide about SA which i must say was very kind of her. She noticed me reading for the last 2 days and gifted it to me. She helped us to book our Addo safari tour with Sorita.

I do recommend it but if you are with kids this is not the stay for you. It is also a bit far. there is 6 km very treacherous dirt road to the location. the room which we stayed was homestead 2. it was small but good. Although the water in the shower could not drain quickly after shower. so had to wait in between till it has gone down the drain. And again turn it on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namanpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A really lovely location, close to Addo National Park and other sites of interest. We had a stunning room and were really well taken care of. The food was absolutely superb, with Priscilla handling the various dietary requirements with ease. As a fan of the Addo National Park, though never being able to stay in the park (always booked solid) - this was a fantastic spot and one I would go back to again.

Room Tip: Kingfisher was a great room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayshree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Lupus Den, and can enthusiastically recommend the establishment. From the moment we arrived, Priscilla made us feel extremely welcome and at home. We were treated to delicious meals, and very spacious and comfortable accommodation. It was indeed a pleasure meeting Priscilla and Noel, who are both friendly and entertaining hosts. Should we find ourselves travelling in the area again, we won't bother looking for any other accommodation - Lupus Den it will be.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank DKFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Lovely place, lovely hosts, lovely food!
We were very well taken care of, had a large comfortable room (though a bit damp and cold) and dinners prepared by Priscilla were delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

A peaceful and tranquil stay at a Bed and Breakfast which offered gourmet Dinners suitable to all in the family (including vegetarians). Situated on a citrus farm in Sunlands, 20 minutes from the Addo Elephant Park. Priscilla and Noel are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The Schotia Tooth and Claw Tour booked by Priscilla was enjoyed by all. The Hoepoe room was very suitable for a family with a extra big King size bed, bunk bed, smaller bed and even a cot not to forget the large bathroom. This is a recommended getaway for busy South African families to be spoilt by Priscilla's great cooking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

What a lovely relaxing day we had at the Lupus Den Country House. While enjoying breakfast we met German tourists and I couldn't stop wondering how they rate our country. I reminded myself that each and every South African has a responsibility to make these visitors feel welcome in our beautiful country. What better ambasidors than owners Noel and Pricilla with outstanding customer service. Congratulations to an excellent B&B with stunning
interior in each room, a garden of Eeden and personnel that walks the extra mile.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunland
0.9 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
3.7 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
5.0 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
112 reviews
3.0 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.1 mi away
Hopefield Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupus Den Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupus Den Country House

Address: Lupus Den | Enon Road, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Price Range: $38 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupus Den Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to unwind in a warm & friendly atmosphere, Lupus Den Country House is situated on our working citrus & cattle farm in the Sundays River Valley, approximately 25 minutes from the Addo Elephant Park. We offer comfortable to luxury accommodation in our Homestead & Garden Cottage set in a tranquil garden with large, sparkling pool, shaded by many beautiful trees. When not out exploring the local attractions, guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of a rural setting. In the evenings, on request, we serve a set 3-course candlelit, home-cooked dinner - a delicious way to end a day of exciting game-viewing. The enjoyment of our guests is a top priority so we will help where we can with bookings for safari outings to various game reserves in the vicinity or arrange the services of a private guide to the Addo Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing