We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
313
38
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parkbiggest bedoff the beaten trackvisit addowonderful cooklovely placewarm welcomeone wordtrue hospitalitydietary requirementswonderful oasistable settingswhole familyspent three nightswonderful foodmakes you feeladdo region
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 360 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Not only do you get everything you see on Lupus Dens excellent home page, you also get Priscilla and Noel, two fantastic hosts. We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of March and on Pricillas recommendation we went on a organized evening drive in Addo and a whole day in Amkhala. Both excursions were well organized and we saw plenty of animals. On our third day we had a lazy time by the pool combined with a quick trip to the Daniel Cheetah breeding centre where you can really get close up to one of these fabulous animals.
Our room Kingfisher was excellent , with a huge comfortable bed and massive bathroom. Being in the middle of nowhere there are obviously no restaurants, but don´t worry Priscilla is a fantastic cook and her dinners and breakfasts will not disappoint.
The gravel road you may have read about in previous posts is no problem and using Pricillas instructions when booking, Lupus Den is surprisingly easy to find. As you turn right at Sunland to the approach road to Lupus Den , be sure to pay a quick visit to the Sunland bottle shop, a slightly unusual type of off licence.
If you’re looking for a place to stay in the Addo vicinity, then you will not be disappointed with Lupus Den.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockholmEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you want some gracious charm with outstanding quality beds and the most wonderful food - than look no further! We were only going to stay one night but Priscilla's cooking skills tempted us too much. This is matched with Noel's (P's husband) enthusiasm for his wonderful citrus farm and handsome cattle. Sheer delight, is all we can say and looking forward to a repeat visit.

Room Tip: All wonderful, hard to choose
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escapade21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to spend two superb days at this stunning guest house while on a visit to the Addo Park . Noel and Priscilla are charming and very attentive hosts . A most relaxing atmosphere and great meals made our stay seem far too short . We missed out on the farm tour due to time constraints but will hopefully be able to do that on our next visit .
Ursula and Peter . Cape Town

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

After being at Lupus Den in 2008 i return in March 2012. It still was worth it to be back as 4 years ago. Priscilla is still providing a great dinner and breakfast. 6km dirt road guarantee to have a very quiet place to spend the night/s (a little decanter with nice Sherry waiting next to bed :-))
Its worth it to stay for the breakfast but then its just a bit far to the Addo (ca 30Min drive)

Room Tip: the lodges are a bit more expencive but great
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent two nights at Lupus Den on our way to Addo National Park. Priscilla and Noel were the greatest hosts, taking care of us like family members. Great food and charming atmosphere. A lasting impression left the trip thru the farm on the back of a pick-up truck when Noel explained everything from raising cattle to growing oranges. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews