We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
313
38
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parkbiggest bedoff the beaten trackvisit addowonderful cooklovely placewarm welcomeone wordtrue hospitalitydietary requirementswonderful oasistable settingswhole familyspent three nightswonderful foodmakes you feeladdo region
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 360 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Priscilla and Noel are warm human beings and excellent hosts. We arrived as strangers but left as friends two days later.
Excellent in every respect : lodging, food, help with travel plans. Above all , a great family .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I spent one night at Lupus Den Farm with my mother and brother visiting from Switzerland. After a day at Addo Elephant Park we arrived at Lupus Den Farm and were greeted by Priscilla and Noel - the most wonderful hosts. The rooms are spacious and clean. After arrival Noel took us for a 1 houre drive arround the Cirtrus Farm - its nice to see someone having such great passion for what he does (Cirtrus Farming). After the tour we sat down for a most delicious 3 course dinner prepared by Pricilla and served by Noel. After a good nights sleep we had a wonderful breakfast. If you are looking for a tranquille place to stay this is the place! Thank you both Priscilla and Noel for a most wonderful stay - I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It was our second visit to South Africa, but the first time we stayed at Lupus Den. We were delighted to find Priscilla and Noel giving us a real home feeling. We should recommend this place to everyone who wants to relax in a quiet and tranquil site. Friendly smiles, tranquil surroundings, a spacious Kingfisher room with an comfortable king sized bed and a tasteful sherry every day... the dinner was fabulous - followed by a scrumptious breakfast the next morning .The hospitality and comfort of Lupus Den make it a bed & breakfast we can highly recommend . Many thanks to Priscilla and Noel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

After being on a tour for the first part of our trip to South Africa (where we spend most of our nights in Lodges) it was one of the first nights we spend at Lupus Den and were really amazed by the lovingly arranged rooms and our super-amiable hosts Priscilla and Noel. Breakfast and Dinner were both very delicious and arranged with love - we can recommend to have both with them to everybody. Unfortunately we did not have so much time left in South Africa otherwise we would have stayed for another night as we felt so comfortable at Lupus Den. By the way: all the hints they gave us for the rest of our trip were very valuable! We can really recommend staying at Lupus Den! Svenja & Martin from Germany

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Sundays River Valley is a patchwork of citrus farms as far as the eye can see. Lupus Den is situated in the centre of a maze of gravel roads which cross and re-cross these farms. We stayed here for 2 nights in the Kingfisher Suite which is simply enormous with high ceilings enhancing the feeling of space. There are showers inside and out plus a luxurious bath. The free wifi reception can be a bit patchy. Hosts Priscilla and Noel are both charming in completely different ways, adding to the appeal of the place. Food at both breakfast and (optional) dinner is home-style cooking at its best. If we were being super-critical, the towels and toiletries do not match the quality of everything else but if you are looking for tranquil, top quality accommodation within strking distance of the Addo Elephant National Park, Lupus Den should be high on your list. Get Priscilla or Noel to give you directions to the 'lookout' from where you get an amazing view of the whole valley. Also there is the grave of Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, author of the South African classic novel 'Jock of the Bushveld' and a promoter of the settlement of the valley in the early days.

Room Tip: You have a choice between rooms in the main house, where there are some lovely public spaces for guests, or those set in the grounds.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews