We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
313
38
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaddo elephant parkbiggest bedoff the beaten trackvisit addowonderful cooklovely placewarm welcomeone wordtrue hospitalitydietary requirementswonderful oasistable settingswhole familyspent three nightswonderful foodmakes you feeladdo region
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 360 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Sundays River Valley is a patchwork of citrus farms as far as the eye can see. Lupus Den is situated in the centre of a maze of gravel roads which cross and re-cross these farms. We stayed here for 2 nights in the Kingfisher Suite which is simply enormous with high ceilings enhancing the feeling of space. There are showers inside and out plus a luxurious bath. The free wifi reception can be a bit patchy. Hosts Priscilla and Noel are both charming in completely different ways, adding to the appeal of the place. Food at both breakfast and (optional) dinner is home-style cooking at its best. If we were being super-critical, the towels and toiletries do not match the quality of everything else but if you are looking for tranquil, top quality accommodation within strking distance of the Addo Elephant National Park, Lupus Den should be high on your list. Get Priscilla or Noel to give you directions to the 'lookout' from where you get an amazing view of the whole valley. Also there is the grave of Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, author of the South African classic novel 'Jock of the Bushveld' and a promoter of the settlement of the valley in the early days.

Room Tip: You have a choice between rooms in the main house, where there are some lovely public spaces for guests, or those set in the grounds.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Priscilla & Noel were wonderful hosts and the rooms were great, the setting marvelous and the food excellent. Noel told us all about his farming both cattle and fruit whitch we found very interesting. Lupus Den is quite close to Addo and Priscilla recommended a guide called Connor who supplied a very good buffet lunch and was knowledgable about the elephants in the area. We heartily recommend this to anyone and we would return anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this delightful guest house and we assume that says it all! The accommodation is spacious and beautifully presented. There is a good sized pool where we were able to relax after a trip into the elephant park. Our hosts, Priscilla and Noel ,were,as ever, charming and helpful and the food was good and beautifully presented. The house is about a 15 minute drive from the entrance to Addo but the back roads suggested by our hosts, though unmade, took us through some interesting fruit orchard and farming country.
The very best of South African hospitality.
Gerald and Judy Young

Room Tip: Ask Priscilla for an outside room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGYHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

After a long drive from Johannesburg with two small children and a malfunctioning, GPS we got slightly lost in the farm regions of Addo Village. The concerned hosts, Noel & Priscilla, were quick to help us on our way to their beautiful farm. We were greeted by friendly smiles, tranquil surroundings, a spacious Hoopoe family room with the most comfortable king sized bed and a warm sherry... the dinner was fabulous - followed by a scrumptious breakfast the next morning - 5 star!!! The hospitality and comfort of Lupus Den make it a bed & breakfast we can highly recommend and will most definitely return back to!
Hubert B, Angie, Hubert P & Alexander Plettenbacher

Room Tip: Hoopoe is a great room for families!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We recenty stayed at Lupus Den and were given a very warm welcome by Priscilla. The accomodation was superb,the surroundings beautiful and the meals absolutely delicious. It is easily accesable and a good base for exploring the area.In its price range it really is one of the best B&B's that we have stayed in and with such warm hospitality it was a perfect place to unwind after a very long journey.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews