We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
Ranked #19 of 62 Greater Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Very well worth driving 14 km of gravel road. The setting is exceptional. Elaine was an awesome host and made sure all our needs were met. She made my young daughters feel at home in the Lodge. None of us wanted to leave after three wonderful relaxing days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am so glad you and your wonderful family enjoyed it at the Palace.
It was great to have you here.
Please stay in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I had the privilege to visit the Addo Palace recently as an extension to his 60th birthday celebration, both Elaine and Coennie where excellent hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We were treated to a special supper and breakfast and then out of the line of their duty we were taken for a mountain drive to see the awesome views.

Room Tip: In my view the rooms where equally as good, there are self catering units seperate to the main lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

It was such a pleasure spoiling you on your anniversary. You are a very special couple.
Thanks for the positive review.
Please stay in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I had the privilege to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary at Addo Palace. To sit and soak up the late afternoon sun on the stoep and to enjoy the spectacular views was just what the doctor ordered. The room was clean and tidy with crisp white bedding. Just the way I like it. The rustic yet luxurious feel of the lodge makes this a unique experience. Elaine, the manager is so sweet and caring about every person's needs and made us feel so special. This is a must see for every one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive response.
I enjoyed watching you "unwind" and relax on the patio.
I trust we will see you soon - even if its for coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I and my 4 Norwegian companions enjoyed a relaxing stay, with a very warm welcome from Steven the Manager, who couldn't do enough to make our 3 day stay comfortable. The setting is stunning, a pity the approach road is so bumpy!! I think it could do with some attention but the stay was worth the bumps by the time we reached the Lodge! I agree with all the other reviews as far as comfort, but would also suggest some way to make fresh coffee would be nice and also maybe an overhead fan in all the rooms, we didn't have a fan at all!!!! It was wonderful having someone else to set the braai ready for us when we returned from a day in Addo National Park!! I would certainly recommend the lodge and will take furture overseas visitors there, just hope the road has improved by then!!!!

Room Tip: They all arrear to be good! All have a similar view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendieHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo P, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for the good review of Addo Palace. The road to our Lodge is a public road and it is something that needs to improve. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I concur with the other reviewers--we received a very warm welcome, and on top of it, our host even started a cooking fire for us before we arrived! It's located out in the bush, about 14k's on a rather bumpy, gravel road.... If you have a 4WD with high clearances, it's a breeze to get there, BUT, if you have a regular car, you can be sure it will take a bit of a beating.... We took our rented car there and it was fine, but we definitely got our money's worth out of that car!

The property is located up on the slopes of the Kromrivier Valley with nice mountain views.... The grounds are expansive and very nice. The pool was refreshing.... Our rustic, duplex lodge was separate from the main lodge, but we had the the entire building to ourselves, which was great... The host didn't have to give us the entire lodge, but he did and we totally appreciated it... Each unit was spacious with a king sized bed, bathroom and smallish kitchen... There was a nice sized patio in the back, facing the opposite side of the valley...a great spot to have breakfast! We were impressed with the quality and condition of the dish ware, and the cook pots and pans... From my experience staying at properties like this, you usually get a hodge-podge of beat-up, second hand "cottage grade" kitchen ware.... The one thing that was missing was a coffeemaker, or at least a coffee press. Not a big deal for me because i don't drink coffee, but it could be if you're an avid coffee drinker....

From the limited time we spent in the main lodge, we could tell it's a very special place... It was very large, with a large kitchen. It was, as far as i can tell, the only building on the property with a TV. But who needs a TV when you're staying out in the bush?!

There are a few minor complaints worth mentioning.... First, not all the kitchen appliances worked as advertised (the fridge was inop in one unit and the stove was not working in the other), so we had to move between the units to prepare our meals... There isn't direct access between the units--you have to walk outside to get to the other side... This is a self-catering property, so obviously you need to BYO food.... But you also need to bring your own shampoo and bar soap.... It would have been nice to have that provided. Also, the unit isn't air conditioned, however, our lodge had a powerful floor fan which made a huge difference... No AC isn't a big deal if the weather is mild, but honestly, i couldn't imagine staying/sleeping here during the blistering heat of summer, even with a fan....

Overall, we really love Addo Palace and would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: It appears you can't go wrong with any of them---they all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi there
I am sorry I did not meet you personally, but I took over as Manager in May.
I would like thank you for the professional manner in which you expressed your experience when you visited the Palace. It is much appreciated.
You are invited to visit us again and see what we have done to the Palace.
Don't hesitate - come and see for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our stay at the Addo Palace. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy as a family. The views are gorgeous and you feel in another world (in a great way). It was an incredible place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Unfortunately I was only appointed as Manager in May and did not get to meet you.
I would like to thank you for your positive review. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had such a special experience at Addo Palace. We have never been any place like it. I was getting nervous during the long drive down the dirt road to get there, but it was well worth it. It was breathtaking there. We were treated so hospitably and felt so special. They even provided a babysitter so we could take our toddler on a safari without our infant. The rooms are beautiful with such unique touches. They also did a great job suggesting activities for us to schedule. We would highly recommend it. The only thing they need is a womanly touch on some of the day-to-day issues.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello there
Thank you for your positive review - I appreciate it.
Just to let you know - the WOMANLY TOUCH is here! You should come and experience the new look and feel of the Palace.
You are invited to visit us again when planning your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greater Addo hotels
8.9 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
22.2 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
344 reviews
8.4 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
18.0 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
329 reviews
17.0 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Address: | Kromrivier Valley, Paterson, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Greater Addo
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addo Bush Huts are environmentally friendly as they use just solar power. The mud huts are located on the side of a mountain with superb mountainous and valley views. Perfect for adventurous heart, real bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing