We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Setting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
Ranked #18 of 56 Greater Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning Setting!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I and my 4 Norwegian companions enjoyed a relaxing stay, with a very warm welcome from Steven the Manager, who couldn't do enough to make our 3 day stay comfortable. The setting is stunning, a pity the approach road is so bumpy!! I think it could do with some attention but the stay was worth the bumps by the time we reached the Lodge! I agree with all the other reviews as far as comfort, but would also suggest some way to make fresh coffee would be nice and also maybe an overhead fan in all the rooms, we didn't have a fan at all!!!! It was wonderful having someone else to set the braai ready for us when we returned from a day in Addo National Park!! I would certainly recommend the lodge and will take furture overseas visitors there, just hope the road has improved by then!!!!

Room Tip: They all arrear to be good! All have a similar view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendieHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo P, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the good review of Addo Palace. The road to our Lodge is a public road and it is something that needs to improve. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    40
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I concur with the other reviewers--we received a very warm welcome, and on top of it, our host even started a cooking fire for us before we arrived! It's located out in the bush, about 14k's on a rather bumpy, gravel road.... If you have a 4WD with high clearances, it's a breeze to get there, BUT, if you have a regular car, you can be sure it will take a bit of a beating.... We took our rented car there and it was fine, but we definitely got our money's worth out of that car!

The property is located up on the slopes of the Kromrivier Valley with nice mountain views.... The grounds are expansive and very nice. The pool was refreshing.... Our rustic, duplex lodge was separate from the main lodge, but we had the the entire building to ourselves, which was great... The host didn't have to give us the entire lodge, but he did and we totally appreciated it... Each unit was spacious with a king sized bed, bathroom and smallish kitchen... There was a nice sized patio in the back, facing the opposite side of the valley...a great spot to have breakfast! We were impressed with the quality and condition of the dish ware, and the cook pots and pans... From my experience staying at properties like this, you usually get a hodge-podge of beat-up, second hand "cottage grade" kitchen ware.... The one thing that was missing was a coffeemaker, or at least a coffee press. Not a big deal for me because i don't drink coffee, but it could be if you're an avid coffee drinker....

From the limited time we spent in the main lodge, we could tell it's a very special place... It was very large, with a large kitchen. It was, as far as i can tell, the only building on the property with a TV. But who needs a TV when you're staying out in the bush?!

There are a few minor complaints worth mentioning.... First, not all the kitchen appliances worked as advertised (the fridge was inop in one unit and the stove was not working in the other), so we had to move between the units to prepare our meals... There isn't direct access between the units--you have to walk outside to get to the other side... This is a self-catering property, so obviously you need to BYO food.... But you also need to bring your own shampoo and bar soap.... It would have been nice to have that provided. Also, the unit isn't air conditioned, however, our lodge had a powerful floor fan which made a huge difference... No AC isn't a big deal if the weather is mild, but honestly, i couldn't imagine staying/sleeping here during the blistering heat of summer, even with a fan....

Overall, we really love Addo Palace and would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: It appears you can't go wrong with any of them---they all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there
I am sorry I did not meet you personally, but I took over as Manager in May.
I would like thank you for the professional manner in which you expressed your experience when you visited the Palace. It is much appreciated.
You are invited to visit us again and see what we have done to the Palace.
Don't hesitate - come and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our stay at the Addo Palace. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy as a family. The views are gorgeous and you feel in another world (in a great way). It was an incredible place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Unfortunately I was only appointed as Manager in May and did not get to meet you.
I would like to thank you for your positive review. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had such a special experience at Addo Palace. We have never been any place like it. I was getting nervous during the long drive down the dirt road to get there, but it was well worth it. It was breathtaking there. We were treated so hospitably and felt so special. They even provided a babysitter so we could take our toddler on a safari without our infant. The rooms are beautiful with such unique touches. They also did a great job suggesting activities for us to schedule. We would highly recommend it. The only thing they need is a womanly touch on some of the day-to-day issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello there
Thank you for your positive review - I appreciate it.
Just to let you know - the WOMANLY TOUCH is here! You should come and experience the new look and feel of the Palace.
You are invited to visit us again when planning your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Laura and Emilio. Our lodge and the rooms were designed with loving attention to detail and very african-like and authentic! Impressive!
There is also a swimming pool.
As it is a self-catering accommodation, do not forget to bring something to cook - we forgot it, but were helped instantly by the nice hosts! They provided us with ingredients for spaghetti bolognese, which was really very nice! :)
The Addo Palace is located in full nature, about 1 hour 20 min away from the place, where our game drive began.

If you like some silence and peace, you should not miss this place! We can only recommend this guesthouse! The hosts are very nice and helpful! Absolutely worth it!!
Thank you again, Emilio and Laura - muchísimas gracias otra vez por la ayuda y por el tiempo maravilloso que hemos pasado allí!!

Saludos cordiales desde Suiza,
Jenny & Désirée

Room Tip: Ask Emilio, he surely loves to help you! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there friends from Switzerland.
Unfortunately I did not meet you personally, as I took over as Manager in May 2013.
I would like to thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that the guests enjoyed their stay.
The Palace has been upgraded and now we have a feminine touch in the Palace.
If you ever return to South Africa, please visit us again. I would love to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were totally blown away by this hidden gem hidden right under our noses. We stayed in the main lodge and it was simply amazing. Addo Palace makes one feel like they are in a home away from home rather than at a guest house. Service was second to none. Facilities are top notch. Totally recommend it to any and everyone. We are already discussing a return with a whole bunch of friends.
Thank you for making our getaway memorable.
Anees and Nicole Mohamed

Room Tip: If in the main lodge try and get a room facing the same direction as the lounge/braai area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo P, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience! It is so beautiful, and the lodge is stunning inside.
We were received with such a warm welcome! great hosts! wish we could stay longer !
Very relaxing, amazing views, beautiful decor inside the lodges, and a absolute must to stay over if ever in that area.
Thank you Addo Palace for treating us like royals, we would defnitley be back for more!
Highly recommended.

Ansone Stoffberg & family.

Room Tip: All 3 lodges are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there!
Thank you for your positive review - it is much appreciated.
I have taken over as Manager in May 2013.
I invite you to come and visit us again, as the Palace has gone through an upgrading which I think you will appreciate.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greater Addo hotels
8.9 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
12.2 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
8.4 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
18.0 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
22.2 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve

Property: Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve
Address: | Kromrivier Valley, Paterson, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Greater Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addo Bush Huts are environmentally friendly as they use just solar power. The mud huts are located on the side of a mountain with superb mountainous and valley views. Perfect for adventurous heart, real bush experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Addo Bush Palace Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing