We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to many sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at the lodge. breakfast is included everyday and a fantastic dinner is made for all guests at night. its close to addo eleohant park an a cheetah sanctuary. you are only 20 min from port elizabeth. great value and scenery for the price. there are several animals you will see while hiking on the property. you must visit

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerneels S, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your stay. We hope you will visit South Africa more in future. Kind Regards, Kerneels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We took my elderly parents to Addo Elephant Park and decided to spend a night here because of all the talk about the good food and the “Jacuzzi with a view” looking incredibly inviting! We were welcomed by a friendly Grace (who was also responsible for the delicious dessert later the evening!). The views from the lodge are beautiful and the living room, with its large fireplace, very inviting. Kerneels introduced us to good white wine around the bar counter and the dinner was as good as everyone said. We were treated to a fantastic home cooked meal – creamy venison, pumpkin pie, sweet carrots and baked potatoes. My husband went back for more – and back for more ! We went for a short walk down to the river in the morning, which was easy enough for my elderly dad to do. Vanessa also told us where to go to in the Addo Park (she is The only disappointment was the fact that we never got to sit in the Jacuzzi. Everyone went out of their way to have it switched on but somehow during the night something went wrong and by morning it was still freezing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hi Guys
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was really nice having you as a family.
Sorry about the Jacuzzi. Unfortunately we had a power dip through the night which caused the the timer to reset and not heating the water.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Kerneels Scholtz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had 3 families stay for one night on our way to Addo. The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful, with a bonfire at night on the patio. We enjoyed a braii and our hosts provided everything we needed for a small charge. The rooms were nice and clean, but not large. The living room is huge and amazing - worth the stay. The hosts Karneels and Vanessa are lovely and helpful for any needs. If you want city and action, stay elsewhere. If you want quiet with comfort, stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you guys for the feedback.
Regards
Kerneels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Well we stayed here for our final 2 nights, using it as a base to visit addo national elephant park, the hosts were wonderful, food amazing , all guests sitting together, in an amazing living room, had 2 beautiful days, home cooking was wonderful, breakfasts freshly made, the owners couldn't do enough for us, they lit a fire on the balcony, jaccuzzi, the stars, and wonderful sounds from the bush, waking up to monkeys swinging in the trees, this stay was the highlight of our trip, would recommend the valley lodge to anyone, truly amazing, friendly, cosy, and sooo memorable, thank you kernels and vanessa-esp your cooking, we all loved it ! 5 ***** Dave,Sarah, Nikki, Juanita xxx

Room Tip: all rooms perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you guys for the possitive feedback. So happy you enjoyed it. It is always nice to go out of your way if you know the guests will enjoy it.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Kerneels Scholtz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed with our children for two nights at the Valley Bushveld Country Lodge and very much enjoyed it. It was one of our best stays during the entire trip. We can highly recommend the Lodge if you are planning to visit the Addo Elephant Park. The Lodge is situated about 30-45 min. away from the Addo Elephant Park. There is a Cheetah farm - that also nurtured lions - close to the Lodge. A must see!

The Lodge is quite charming, especially sitting in the whirlpool at night. Great dinner and views over the farm made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you guys for your possitive feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to South Africa.
Regards
Kerneels Scholtz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Zimmer ähnlich von Lage und Grösse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerneels S, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer liegen alle mit Blick in Richtung Tal, Park und Berge. Alle super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greater Addo
0.0 mi away
Parkes Manor
Parkes Manor
#34 of 127 in Knysna
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Grande Guest House
Villa Grande Guest House
#43 of 113 in Stellenbosch
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours

Address: Farm PrenticeKraal, Cockscomb Road | Addo, 6231, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Greater Addo
Price Range: $62 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VALLEY BUSHVELD COUNTRY LODGE is an owner managed, successful, upmarket four star, safari-style Guest Lodge and bed and breakfast close to Addo Elephant National Park in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. The Eastern Cape is called "Naturally South Africa's Best", with a million hectare of malaria-free, big 5 game viewing, fantastic beauty and endless beaches. The Lodge is built on the banks of the Coegas River and is situated on a private game reserve which boasts over 17 species of wild game animals and antelope. The reserve is just 200 metres of the main R75 on route to Addo. Our beautiful lodge overlooks the valley and promises you of an exquisite, once in a lifetime scenery and sunsets with wild antelope feeding around the lodge. In the distance if you should want to explore the valley, you will discover a little river, natural rock face and a natural unharmed environment with its own wildlife. Spoil yourself in the Jacuzzi while sipping on South African champagne and fine wines. The view from the Jacuzzi is out of this world and you have the chance to spot wild antelope from your seat in the Jacuzzi. You can not beat this experience.Around the lodge you will spot an abundance of wildlife, some 17 species of South African antelope, such as Giraffe, Black Impala, Kudu, Blue Wildebeest, Zebra, Blesbuck, Impala, Nyala, Bushbuck, Waterbuck, Duiker, Grysbuck, Warthog, Bushpig, Mongoose, Fox, Porcupine, Jackal, Meerkat, Lynx and primates such as baboon and vervet monkey. A large variety of birds, including bird of prey such as the majestic black eagle and the magnificent flora resembling a natural succulent garden with aloe, euphorbia, spekboom, as well as the protected Cycad and indigenous Strelitzia plants can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing