We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a beautiful and serene place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Pileria del Riso

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strassoldo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Pileria del Riso
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful and serene place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place is charming, beautiful and absolutely peaceful. When we first arrived, we weren't sure where to check in as there isn't an office. We called the reservations line and they gave us the owner's phone number to call. Gabriella was so welcoming. She and her sweet assistance (who reminds me of my grandmothers), quickly brought out champagne and she sat outside in the garden area with us. She told us about how the castle has been in her family for over 1000 years. Her assistant, who didn't speak a lick of english, was so happy to have us there and she showed it. We were fortunate the few days we were there, no one else was in our building.

They have a beautiful large living area on th first floor with a kitchen, separate refrigerator for guests, and apertivs for after dinner. She has the breakfast area set up in there. In the morning, they provided a lovely breakfast of cheese, meats, fresh brioche filled with apricot jam, coffee, tea, cereal and she made us eggs every morning. She set up the table with a candle and fresh flowers, china, and made it very romantic.

The rooms are extremely large and the amenitites are top notch. She just spent several years renovating the place and it shows. She did a great job with the renovations. Modern showers, sinks, regular sized blow dryers (little things that matter :-) )

The only thing different I would like to see is we could only access WiFi from the living area and not our rooms. I know, you are supposed to go to a beautiful castle in Italy to get away from things that keep you connected :-)

This is a good base to discover other charming cities like Cormons, Palmanova, Trieste, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRAMMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent a week at a conference in this ancient walled settlement with its own little river running through the grounds and also one night in the Tower suite on the first floor, that is spectacular. The castle, mill and extensive gardens have been lovingly restored and are maintained to a very high standard. The breakfasts, receptions and meals were prepared with great care from fresh local produce of the highest quality, and the hosts, Lella and Paul, are delightful people with an innate sense of hospitality. This castle is so ancient that the plans for the nearby Renaissance town of Palmanova, with a hexagonal square, were drawn up here. Other trips in the vicinity include the seaside town of Grado with its canals and boats, Aquileia with its ancient church, and the Miramare castle near Trieste. This is a place of great charm, with ivy-clad walls, steeped in history, bounded by trout streams, and restored to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks in the renovated house in the estate grounds called La Vicinia and couldn't have been more delighted with everything. The photos on the websites, and the reviews, are a true representation of the different types of accommodation, and, really, it depends on your interests. If you wish to have a longer stay with friends ( or not, as the case maybe) then the house with its own garden and 2 bedrooms and bathrooms, is perfect. Lella is an excellent host, and the castle area itself is so peaceful that it's hard to leave.The area is an interesting one to explore, but you do need a car. We found the beautiful little town of Cividale del Fruili, and Castelmonte on one occasion and returned again. Grado is close enough to swim at, or eat at one of the many ristoranti there. Strassoldo is well situated for exploring the Friuli region, but very close to Slovenia, which is worthwhile exploring as well.It can be explored by manageable day trips to their coastal towns as well as the mountains. You must have a 'vignette' , a pass for their tollways, which can be bought at the nearest petrol station to the border.As always, too much to do. But don't forget to relax in the castle grounds with a glass of wine.The place will provide you with lovely memories by itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago.IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Central to the wonderful towns of Friuli and not far from Trieste or Venice, the Castello is a lovely place to start the day and to come home at night. The breakfasts are delicious, served outside or in the restored rice mill. The Tower suite is magical, and the hosts couldn't be more welcoming or helpful. This is a fascinating part of Italy to explore; you will be pleased at the dearth of tourists and the wealth of art, wine, delicious food, beautiful landscapes and intriguing history.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donaldsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Lella and Paul are the best hosts ever met. Champagne reception, royal breakfast and polite and efficient service team. Al fresco breakfast under the elm trees on the manicured lawn. Fortunately no TV and radio in the rooms, hence you can listen to the arias of the birdies which is much better. We stayed last time in the restored Rice Mill. It is comfortable, and very cosy.Excellent location to explore Friuli or even Venice. Wholeheartedly can recommand for those who are fed-up with mass tourism and hunger for old time civilisation and treatment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This place is spectacular, and the hosts could not possibly be more gracious or helpful. We stayed in the "Tower," a huge comforable suite in the main building; Everything about it was great. The grounds are lovely, and if you like Newfoundlands, you'll love Cedric and Fleury. On the late afternoon of our arrival, our host, Paul, invited us to join him and the other guests for a glass of prosecco at a picnic table outside. About a ten of us -- all with plans to go out for dinner -- wound up sitting around and chatting (with Paul's encouragement) until Paul proposed to provide (with no thought of charging us for it) a dinner of cheeses, sliced meats, pata, quiche, etc. We all accepted and continued to enjoy ourselves until bedtime. This was not your typical hotel (or bed and breakfast) experience, but it is very characteristic of the way things are at this place. If you're thinking about relaxing for a few days in Friuli, or if (like us) you want to be centrally located and take day trips to places like Cividale, Udine, Acquileia, Grado, etc., I can't imagine a better place than this. Oh - forgot to mentions the breakfasts are very nice, and Nadia and Nidia do a great job in the kitchen and providing service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strassoldo
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ai Dogi
Hotel Ai Dogi
#1 of 4 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.1 mi away
B&B Casa della Fornace
B&B Casa della Fornace
#1 of 3 in San Vito al Torre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mulino delle Tolle
Mulino delle Tolle
#1 of 1 in Sevegliano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Pileria del Riso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Pileria del Riso

Property: B&B Pileria del Riso
Address: Via Dei Castelli 21 | c/o Castello di Strassoldo di Sopra, 33052 Strassoldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Strassoldo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Strassoldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home with a few bed and breakfast rooms in Friuli-Venezia Giulia, not far from the beach (19 km) and from Venice (90km): the castle of Strassoldo di Sopra. This castle belongs to the counts of Strassoldo-Graffemberg since more than a thousand years. The 4 double bed and breakfast rooms are in the ancient mill and are spacious and nicely furnished with hand painted furniture. There is free wireless internet connection. In the morning a rich buffet breakfast is served on the ground-floor or in the garden in case of good weather. The cute little village of Strassoldo developed around the ancient castle of Strassoldo, which was already mentioned in a document dating back to 564. The village took its name from the counts of Strassoldo. The village is in the green lowlands of #Friuli-Venezia Giulia, not far from the #beach of Grado (20 minute drive). It takes only 60 minutes to get to #Venice and #Austria. 35 Minutes to get to Trieste and Slovenia, 20 min. To get to Udine, 15 minutes to get to the Roman colony of Aquileia. There are many more lovely sites to visit as well as excellent restaurants and wineries. The place has the flair that only a private home rich in family memories and an ancient tradition can give. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing