We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, hidden location, very poor room & bathroom”
Review of Castel Damandre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Damandre
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We found this place in the late afternoon after driving from Grenoble to Strasbourg. The location is fabulous, the check in easy although he lady spoke no English. We had no reservations and she showed us 2 rooms. We decided to take the room that looks at a small but loud waterfall. The room had no AC and we left the window in the bedroom and in the bathroom open. Mattras and pillow condition: poor, cleanness of the room: average. Room-size: small, dark with not enough lights. TV with BBC World and several German channels. The bathroom was a disaster; a small bath with Grohe! shower that you need to hold in your hand while sitting or standing in the bathtub. No shower curtain so the floor was wet afterwards. They have a pink 'carpet' on roof and walls with lots of dust and spiders, hasn't been cleaned for a long time. We had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel. Poor chairs, poor service (heavily understaffed) lots of flies! but GREAT FOOD, absolutely worth going there for the food only. When we checked out the next morning they charged us for breakfast while we didn't had any. The lady that spoke English that morning removed it from the bill and off we went to have coffee in Arbois.

Room Tip: Go for dinner and take a room in one of the hotels in Arbois close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gotcha4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 227 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lovely setting, very friendly staff but my goodness it needs a clean. Balconies filthy, drinks glasses left on the terrace for 2 whole days along with overflowing ashtrays and the cobwebs in the public areas.... But the food in the restaurant was worth the surface grime in the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask them to clean it first! And go for a four poster bed, these rooms were cleaner than the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The place is gorgeous and very calme. The rooms are comfortable, spacious in charming buildings. The service was OK, it seems that they were very short of staff. we didnot have reservation and had to wait at the reservation for a while before we could get a room. The waterfall behind the property was a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabcats39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 504florencec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne-catherine311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Planches-pres-Arbois
8.6 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel des Messageries
3.0 mi away
Hotel Des Cepages
Hotel Des Cepages
#2 of 3 in Arbois
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Domaine du Revermont
Domaine du Revermont
#1 of 1 in Passenans
253 reviews
5.2 mi away
Domaine Du Moulin Vallee Heureuse
4.5 mi away
Chambres d'hotes et Gite des Fees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Damandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Damandre

Address: Rue de la Cascade | Les Planches, 39600 Les Planches-pres-Arbois, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Les Planches-pres-Arbois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Les Planches-pres-Arbois
Price Range: $97 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castel Damandre 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castel Damandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing