We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning property and location with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Day space and mezznine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night
Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Infinity pool viewed through the entrance hall
Lush planting all around the half acre garden
Infinity pool and sea views
Pool deck and day space
Sunset over the pool - perfect place t start your evening
Another sunset!
Master bedroom with expansive sea views
Master bedroom with covered terrace
Limestone throughout bathrooms
Bedroom adjacent to the pool and sun deck
Dusk at the front of the house
Roof terrace
Approaching Atelier from the front garden
Sunny roof terrace
Stunning living/entertaining space
Breakfast bar and pool/sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lower Carlton, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JackieSus...
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning property and location with amazing views of the Caribbean”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently spent 2 glorious weeks at Atelier House with our teenage daughters and our friends. The pictures do not do the property justice, it really is stunning.
There is tons of space to 'spread out' - pool area, indoor seating and a beautiful outdoor patio area which is covered over (handy when the rain suddenly comes !).
Judy the housekeeper kept the property spotless on a daily basis, but did so very discreetly.

The location is brilliant as there are so many great restaurants along the coast, especially driving towards Holetown and beyond. Our favourite was probably Lone Star for a special night out. You do need to have a car though to access the restaurants/beaches and the rest of the Island.

Harrison's Cave and the East Coast are definitely worth a visit, as is Oistins Fish Fry on a Friday night. Swimming with the turtles is also a must do !

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design and location of the property
Liked least: Having to leave !!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable house with breathtaking views.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Barbados many times over the years and know the island quite well. The house is located in a quiet terrace on the ridge overlooking Carlton. It is an exceptionally designed house for the island, with huge a naturally ventilated living space and comfortable air conditioned bedrooms, which all have lovely outlooks over the pool and out to the coast. The views from all parts of the house are fantastic and the sunsets spectacular. This is a house that really needs a car, since walking anywhere would be out of the question. However, with the car you can access the beaches within minutes and the shops and restaurants in Holetown in about 10 minutes. We had a party of 4 adults and a 10 year old although the house could obviously accommodate more. However, I would suggest the house is not ideal for very young children, since the pool is not fenced and there are many hard surfaces. The maid service and cook were delightful and I would recommend making arrangements early in your stay for your cooking needs, which can include breakfast, lunch and dinner, if required. If you are looking for a carefree and relaxing holiday with a semi 'self catering' option, then this house is absolutely ideal.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of the bedrooms and the view
Liked least: slight confusion over the cook arrangements
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Master Bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carolinat...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Wanted to give higher rating, not quite 5 only because when it rained we had a difficult time keeping busy, as rain usually occurred after nap time. The one TV was upstairs and not enough seating for our large group. Also if anyone is physically challenged the TV location was not easily accessible. Slow or no Internet a lot of the time and no it was not for work, but music. House is unique and beautiful. I would say it is not for small children, lots of corners. I would go back and recommend this home to anyone who loves beautiful views, great staff and swimming. Not on beach but pool was fantastic.

Date of stay: May 2013
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2014
Thanks for raising these points and apologies we couldn't provide to 5 star level. We have taken on board feedback from all guests and are installing 2 extra TVs. We have also completely overhauled the wifi to mitigate against what can be a patchy service in Barbados. We will amend our listing also to clarify the situation for anyone with mobility restrictions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Captivating, a little different but totally enchanting.....”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great Easter at Atelier. A very modern and spacious villa. Long hot days with 7 occupants in a 4 bedroom 'House of Glass' sounds tight however, it was easy to find a quiet shady spot and hardly notice anyone else was even there.
The house keeper and cook were really warm and friendly. No fan in the master bedroom and the pool cleaned just once during our stay would be the only issues. Otherwise, a truly world class experience.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rashid's grub!
Liked least: Poor internet
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thanks for your review. Apologies that the fan broke down. I hope the portable replacement went some way to improving your night time comfort.
Thanks for the pool tip too - we should calibrate the visits with number of guests in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCoul...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like your own private 5 star boutique hotel! Magnificent. You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This house is everything it looks in the pictures and more, the layout around the infinity pool and interior design are second to none but the view from every room is what really makes this house so special. My family and I wanted to stay another week (if not indefinitely!) and the agents for the property are more than helpful to cater to any needs. The main town of St James is close as are all the top restaurants on the island. You will have everything you need here to make the perfect holiday, I know we will be making a re-booking!

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking through the front door to see the infinity pool and the view! Also the impeccable interior design
Liked least: Having to Leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHarris20...
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, great location, great holiday”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed at Atelier House in Feb'13 this year on our 3rd trip to Barbados having stayed at Royal Westmoreland in previous years. We had high expectations given the photos and were not disappointed. As it turns out, the photos don't do the house full justice.

Atelier House is a unique house which we struggled to fault at all. In total we consisted of 6 adults and 2 kids and not once did we feel that we struggled for space. The house is very open and airy and set in a location which captures fantastic views and a nice breeze throughout the day and night. As the other reviews state you couldn't get much better in terms of location. Short drive to Holetown one way and Mullins another short drive the other way. At the bottom of the hill is a great beach too.

We will be returning! See you in 2014!

Date of stay: February 2013
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing