We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Designs”

Murtada A.K. Trading
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Muttrah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Murtada A.K. Trading is a gallery,in Muttrah souq in Al Noor Market, that comprises of the works of an Omani Artist namely Murtada Najwani. The gallery mainly consists of small sketches and calligraphy.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Designs”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

He's a lovely guy, gave me loads of design options for an arabic calligraphy necklace and could have it done in 2 days!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nialla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss Murtada's shop---an oasis of culture in the Muttrah souk”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I always seek refuge in Murtada's shop when guiding friends and visitors to the old part of Muscat. Not only is he gracious, friendly, and welcoming, he is very knowledgeable about Omani history and culture and willing to take the time to talk to visitors, often offering tea and a story. For example, last time I was there, Murtada took the time to explain the "hand of Fatuma" ornament, spending about 40 minutes going back into the history of Islam. Of course he also offered us beautiful complimentary bookmarks with our names handcrafted in calligraphy. Visitors to the souk should stop at Murtada A. K. Trading for hand made jewelry, antiques, and unique artwork as well as a true Omani welcome!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best place for unique artwork at the best price with the best service.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This store is a great place to find original unique artwork that makes the perfect gift or souvenir for any occasion! His calligraphy can be personalized and customized and is gorgeous! It is definitely worth the price and the service cannot be beat! Visit or you will regret it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chflen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden treasure in the souq”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I feel so lucky to have stumbled into this store with my friends. It is kind of tucked away in the corner near the main strip in the souq. This shop has so many treasures for travelers in Oman to take back either as personal souvenirs or as gifts. The shop owner speaks perfect English, and is happy to sit down and chat with customers at length. His work is amazing and varied. If you only have a few minutes you can pick up one of his one-of-a-kind paintings or water colors. If you have about an hour he can customize your name in calligraphy. If you have a few days, he can also make your name or a letter in calligraphy as a pedant for a necklace. The owner also does free customized book marks for visitors. I highly recommend this shop!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A unique experience for Muscat”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

In 3 years living here in Muscat, I have not discovered a finer Omani calligrapher than here at Murtada Trading. His work speaks for itself and is sincerely identifiable as true craftsmanship. If you have a chance to sit and have tea with this gentleman in his quaint store, I highly recommend it! It is refreshing to find a passionate artist who cares more about creating a piece of art that is suited to your own tatse, rather than creating something for mass production or high volume of sales.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murtada A.K. Trading also viewed

Muscat Governorate, Oman
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat Governorate, Oman
 

Been to Murtada A.K. Trading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing