We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine Night”

Heart of England Events Centre
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a good evening here at £35 per couple with a drink on arrival, which wasn’t that nice, a three course meal, which was very nice, but portions a bit small and entertainment, which comprised of a singer, a disco and some drawn out live version of Mr and Mrs. That’s why I’m giving 4 stars not 5 stars as the Mr and Mrs game seemed to go on and on and on and on and some of the questions were a little tasteless and could be offensive to some and as for the host / compère to say he came across as annoying would be an understatement and I think even Chris Evans would find him hard to stomach. So basically not a bad night. Drinks reasonably priced and food good, but ditch the silly games and ditch the host / compère before he oversteps the mark further.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank fraz1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quad biking"
in 10 reviews
"laser clay pigeon shooting"
in 6 reviews
"games room"
in 2 reviews
"sandwiches and cakes"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 6 reviews
"couldn't do enough"
in 2 reviews
"lovely surroundings"
in 2 reviews
"quicken tree"
in 7 reviews
"casino tables"
in 2 reviews
"instructor"
in 13 reviews
"dodgems"
in 5 reviews
"archery"
in 10 reviews
"woods"
in 6 reviews
"field"
in 7 reviews
"track"
in 5 reviews
"karting"
in 3 reviews
"bucking"
in 2 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2018

DO NOT BOOK YOUR CHILDRENS PARTY HERE!!!
You are promised a three hour party for £30 per head and you get just over 2 hours - not good value at all. The food choices offered also do not happen as the children were all served the same cheese and tomato pizza. When you contact the company, they are not interested in solving the problem, they supply excuses and will not even give a token partial refund. PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND AVOID.

Date of experience: January 2018
5  Thank 996janen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018

I booked the quad biking and laser clay pigeon shooting and enjoyed both enormously. The instruction on the quad bikes was fabulous, and he made sure we all felt confident (and were safe) before he let us out on the track. Brilliant, muddy fun, trashing up and down hills and then going through a track in the woods. The laser shooting was just as amazing, and I did not think I'd enjoy it as much as I did. Fabulous morning out, great fun and we both left with huge smiles on our faces.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Maxine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Was a good night. 3 course meal. Butter nut squash soup christmas dinner and chocolate cheese cake...... entertainment was different but good. Then they had a games room which was alot of fun

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Katelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

I organised a booking for New Year’s Eve with a group of friends . Making the booking as simple . I rang up and paid a deposit per head and received an e-mail confirmation

They also managed additions to the booking very well.

We were all look biking forward to the night and bought the venue looked excellent when we got there.

There was entertainment during the meal, escapologist, juggler , dancers etc which were all quite entertaining. Tip for people is make sure you face the dance floor when you sit down otherwise the action is all behind you

The first course was really nice which set the expectations for the rest of the meal. The main course was disappointing but it could have been so different if the beef had been warmed through. You absolutely spect an element of ore-prep when catering for large numbers but the beef was cold despite attempts to mask that by warming the plates and pouring the sauce over it. The apples were also undercooked in the dessert tart. Either the kitchen facilities aren’t sufficient to cope with mass catering or the catering manager/chef.

It’s a real shame as this is the second time I’ve been to this venue , the last time was at Christmas a few years ago and on both occasions I’ve found the entertainment to be excellent and the marquee with all the other activities such as the casino tables , bucking reindeer , dodgems etc to be a fantastic idea and great fun let down by the catering and the fact that you have to queue far too long for a drink.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank JanetteB919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of England Events Centre also viewed

 

Been to Heart of England Events Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing