We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelievable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

To say that this hotel is beautiful, is truly unfair. This hotel is magnificent. From the moment you arrive to the last moment when you check out, you are treated with respect, politeness, and superior service. The restaurants serve the highest quality and the most delicious selections of food. We came here for a long weekend of extending of doing many out door activities, and we end up spending most of our time in the hotel. Enjoying the pool, the beach, and eating fabulous food. It is not cheap, but it is worth every penny. The only suggestion that I have is, not to use the hotel's car service to bring you from the airport to the hotel. It is ridiculously expensive. Just get a taxi and settle the price ahead of time. It should cost you no more than OMR 8. The hotel charges OMR40!!!!! Truly outrageous, even by Ritz Carlton standards.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, but if you have little kids get a room by the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Homawatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Amazing luxurious hotel all facilities are super
Breakfast buffet is above 5 stars
Pool is excellent with good restaurant and tasty food
Beach is good.
Staff are friendly
Check in was a bit late but got upgraded to a sea view room
Concierge staff are not really knowledgable but google will do the job
I would highly recommend this hotel for all

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Saud_bonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have travelled to many wonderful resorts and hotels around the world and I have to say that the Al Bustan Palace Hotel in Oman is my clear favorite.

For starters the staff are magnificent and so gracious. This hotel could have easily entered the snooty world of 5 star hotels. The staff choose instead to welcome each individual guest as if they were a member of their own family. I have never experienced such gracious hospitality from a hotel. I felt like I lived there and not like I was just a visitor. I am not a wealthy person by any means (I work in education....need I say more :) but even still I felt that I belonged at the hotel as the staff worked hard (while making it seem effortless) to connect with guests.

The hotel itself is spectacular. The lobby is a place where one could sit all day breathing in the wonderful incense and chatting with staff and watching people come and go. I highly recommend having tea in the lobby. The Darjeeling is delicious.

The pool area overlooking the beach and ocean is straight out of Conde Nast. I spent a very happy morning forgetting all my stresses and work cares in this pool. I loved walking around the grounds - even in the heat.

The Al Majan bar is where I would have a drink each night with my friend. Capla, the bartender, made me an American Dirty Martini to die for. I live and work in the UAE (a place that I call home) but I have not yet been able to find a hotel or bar that can make a dirty martini. Capla managed to make a perfect one for me and a brandy alexander for my friend. The manager of the bar was also very attentive and he checked on us in the lobby and in the bar frequently.

The beach restaurant is lovely too. However, we had some issues with a couple of dishes. My friend asked for his lamb well done and naturally it came out too dry. He sent it back and they took if off the bill. And then the Irish manager apologized (but it wasn't really the chef's fault) and this was not necessary. We each had the Korean Galbijim instead. It was to die for! But the next night it was all bone and fat and it was not good. I let them know it was better the night before. We still ate it as we were very hungry. And incredibly they took if off the bill. They care most for how the guests feel.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful! And the atmosphere with Arabic and European families and couples is so lovely each morning. I felt like I was in some lovely club. The restaurant overlooks the pool and the beach. So you get to have breakfast overlooking paradise. The staff is just a little too eager to clear plates. They simply want to be on top of things so they come by often and sometimes they take plates that are not ready to be clear. Once one sweet lady reached across my friends plate to take another plate and her sleeve dragged across his food. He was not happy and she did not understand. But it was a small thing and I recognize they just want to make sure even your breakfast is so perfect.

The room! I traveled many years ago to Oman for work and I was lucky enough to have tea in the lobby ( I stayed at the Intercontinental during that trip). I very much wanted to return to actually stay at the Al Bustan. And as luck (and the kindness of Ahmed at reception) would have it, we were upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor. The room was spectacular! The living room was so opulent. I could not believe it. Two closets, a wonderful bathroom, and there was a verandah overlooking the mountains. I don't know if I deserved such a room but I will certainly never forget it.

When we were leaving and getting into the jeep, one of the managers (Omani gentleman with black glasses...who was such a dear to us) came running out to say good-bye and he actually gave me a hug - American style. I was so impressed with this gesture. I miss people hugging hello and good-bye as we do in the US. This meant that the hotel had probably told the staff that Americans are huggers and its okay for a man to hug a woman and it not be weird. He was able to connect with me in my cultural way and I so appreciated it.

A big giant thank you to the Omani staff and other staff at the Al Bustan!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank girlwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Driving through the gate entrance of the Hotel is absolutely breath taking! The trees were stunning and upon arrival we were escorted perfectly and we're offered refreshments and dates to refreshen us. The room given to us has a pool view, everyone were so friendly and warm. I never had a dull moment, they were always helpful. It was a very long drive from Abu Dhabi to Muscat but I can say Yes I shall definitely come back to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-
Carlton Hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room which is in the new phase front side of the pool area and or beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Truly the most luxurious hotel in Oman with a beautiful pool leading on to a private beach where I spent most of my day. The food was good everywhere but I think the buffet restaurant was the best choice each day. The lobby and the hotel are spectacular in the sunshine, sunsets and by night.

We had a snake in our 3rd floor room on the first day, which had somehow made it in via an air-conditioning vent. I managed to trap it for the 30 minutes till reception sent someone to take it away. After shouting at both Managers who rightly understood my distress I was upgraded to a suite. The reason that this hotel still received 5 stars despite this incident is how well they dealt with me and my family throughout our 10 day stay afterwards.

I have to say that I was more than impressed by my stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: In June there are more insects and snakes about but if wasps outside don't bother you too much i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlBustanPalace, General Manager at Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear LiverpoolSt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent travel experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you were impressed with your stay in terms of facilities, location features, as well as the food at our restaurants. Furthermore, I do appreciate you sharing your honest review.

I was thrilled to learn that our Ladies and Gentlemen ensured your stay exceeded your expectations, despite the unfortunate fact a snake was found in your room. Please accept my sincere apologies, specifically for the delay with the assistance that was sent to your room. I would like you to know that such an incident is not a regular occurrence. Regardless, our Director of Engineering has already taken preventative measures with our AC ductwork to ensure such an incident is not repeated.

Once again thank you for your valuable time taken to post your review. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Should you wish, I invite you to contact me at your convenience in order to further discuss your comment.

Kind regards,
Bernard N. Viola
General Manager
Bernard.Viola@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely interior and exterior. The pol and grounds are impressive, nice private beach , ocean view a must. Breakfast buffet fantastic, lots of selection. Removed from other areas so you have to Cab to go somewhere but it's so nice you may not find the need. Issues: cant figure out the air conditioner.bathroom dated with shower tub combo. Just came from the peninsula so a bit spoiled. Room small thought marriot member would be treated better especially as it is off season and Not many guests. Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent 6 nights at the All Bustan Palace during Ramadan. This was lucky for us as if we'd had alcohol on our bill l would have had to re mortgage the house on return to the UK to pay off the credit card bill!!! That aside it was amazing... The location, pool, sports facilities, staff and the food all excellent. If you're not rich or famous like us it is vastly cheaper to jump in a taxi and head into the numerous towns to eat. Its fairly safe as long as you are sensible.

There's also plenty of trips that you can go on. We took a snorkeling and dolphin watching tour booked through the hotel. It was perfectly fine although the guide knew absolutely nothing about anything!! This didn't detract from the trip, in fact it added a little humour, especially when his response when someone asked what type of fish we would see was: "Blue and yellow ones!!".

I also went SCUBA diving with Euro Divers 2 minutes away from the hotel. Don't expect the dive of your life but it was perfectly adequate.

Over all l would definitely recommend this hotel and Oman. We had a fantastic holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 62 in Muscat
1,579 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 62 in Muscat
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
294 reviews
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
11.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#1 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $369 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing