We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the front desk onward everyone in this hotel is eager to please and incredibly helpful. We used the hotel at either end of a trip to the mountains so saw two rooms, both were excellently appointed. The grounds and beach area are fantastic and the food in all the restaurants could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Sea views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthShieldsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    439
    139
    47
    27
See reviews for
499
973
94
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The moment you enter the magnificent lobby of this hotel you realise that it is definitely a Grand Hotel. Perfectly situated near the old town, on its own long private beach among extensive and beautifully maintained gardens, with a large pool area, it is a wonderfully comfortable place to stay in Muscat, which in itself is a delight, once you have left the commercial area near the airport, with colourful flower beds lining the roads and on the roundabouts all the way in to the old town and up to the entrance of the Al Bustan. There is a selection of restaurants, all good, and a pleasant bar. The service was excellent in all the venues and throughout the hotel as one would expect. We were lucky to be upgraded to an executive suite with a magnificent view of sea and mountains, it was well furnished and very comfortable. For those who like traditional grand hotels this is definitely the place to stay. The concierge was very good arranging trips out. We went on a tour of Muscat, you must see the Grand Mosque, and a trip out to Nizwa and the green mountain, which gave us a good impression of the mountainous country which comprises most of Muscat.
On an additional note if you can manage what we did, three days in the Al Maha in Dubai, three days in Zighy Bay and four days in the Al Bustan you will have had the short break of a lifetime ! You will need to save up first but it will be worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrickts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Level Contributor
354 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Al Bustan is ideal for the well heeled traveler or honeymooners. From housekeeping to the front desk everyone is eager to please and responds to your every whim. The mini suites are extremely well appointed, the hotel was redecorated just a few years ago. There daily surprises, for. Flowers, to chocolates, to frankincense to fruit. The sand beach is groomed daily and the grounds are immaculately groomed. In short, this is everything one expects at a Ritz property's.

Room Tip: Beach front is preferable, but rooms on park, street side are also fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YpsilantiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We absolutely enjoyed the beautiful location and stunning pool area, fantastic breakfast and dinner buffets at the Al Khiran restaurant plus the extremely friendly and attentive service.
The room decor is far too plush and heavy for our taste and the bathroom is a bit outdated, but the in-room nespresso maschine and the complimentary mini bar were highly appreciated.

Special thanks to the lady from Zahara Tours and the friendly receptionists for their extraordinary assistance in solving a proplem concerning our onward travel.

We can hardly wait to visit again and highly recommend the Al Bustan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trinitiestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We recently stayed there for four nights but unfortunately it was a cooler time of year, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy all the facilities on offer. We did have excellent buffets and they didn't lack for variety and abundance!

We thought the rooms were showing a bit of wear, and definitely the carpets in the hallway need some attending to as they were lifting at some seams that were rather dangerous if you weren't watching when walking.

Certainly a very palatial lobby area. The staff was friendly and the service was very good.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which was nice to be able to see the pools and water and as we returned to ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Sumptuously elegant, huge swimming pools, great location, good meals, however, the service needs a lot to be desired.
There was no hot water and occasionally only luke warm water in the bathroom during my stay.
I returned to my room one evening after dinner at 9.30pm and found there was a loud screeching noise in the ceiling air conditioning unit. Despite contacting Reception about this, no-one came to my room until 11.20pm and apparently the engineer had gone missing and had gone to the wrong room! The Duty Manager said the noises could not be fixed so I used ear plugs and fell asleep until the Duty Manager woke me up just before midnight to suggest another room.....by then too late to accept the offer.
Next morning there were apologies and the Duty Manager gave me two small pouches of frankincense and a small stuffed camel......not "Made in Oman" but "Made in China"!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is truly beautiful, as you would expect of a Palace. The service was wonderful (as you get in most Ritz Carltons - they make you never want to stay anywhere else). The little touches were amazing (daily macaroons in our hotel room, that gave Ladurée a run for their money).
The pool and beach area were such a gorgeous setting. The restaurants were fabulous.
We had the most amazing break and barely wanted to leave the hotel (when we did, the only slight down side was, as 2 female travellers, we didn't feel that comfortable in the local souk - so for us this was a holiday that was mainly centred around the hotel).
The hotel rooms are in a very traditional style but they were amazing clean and luxurious. We are planning another trip back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulabelle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
8.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Property: Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing