We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Honestly , i did not stay there, but we had a meeting there with lunch buffet . The hotel was big, quite, and looks fancy. The entrance has a very nice view with trees and you will see rocks mountains. The lobby was big as well as the restaurant which is looking at the pool which is looking at the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms in public areas were clean. There was wifi and praying room.
I am looking forward to stay there with my family for couple of nights to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tamimalmeaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,148)
There are newer reviews for Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

First the niggles....we were traveling in Oman and were told we should book a table at the restauarnt on the beach for dinner and ask for a table on the beach.....despite twice e mailing the people who had made our original reservation we never heard back and when we got here all the tables were booked. So I think the reservation manager should ensure all e mails are addresssed before the staff leave at the end of the day. Disappointing. And lying near the pool the first day we had 4 young kids in the pool screaming and shouting, surely there should be a pool for young and noisy children?

Check in was great, we had a german lady Simone(?) who could not have been more gracious, and others on reception were also most helpful. Gorgeous room on 6th floor overlooking the water...breakfast great...great manager, Pedrovic(?) and on the beach restaurant at night excellent manager. Ritz Carlton obviously train their people to be very re active to their guests' needs. The concierge was non existent so we used the staff at reception for our needs and they were great. RC should get a proper concierge. Staff on the beach and around pool were great
We had a great stay and would highly recommend a visit...not cheap but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: we had sixth floor overlooking the sea which was great
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I have just come back from 7 nights at this hotel and would struggle to find a bad word to say about it. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was faultless. We had booked half board and were booked into a sea facing room at the very end of one of the wings. A previous reviewer complained about the long walk!! It took all of five minutes for my wife and I to get from our room to almost anywhere in the hotel or on the beach and we are both in our 60s!
The food was glorious; breakfasts were a treat to enjoy each day with fresh fruits including whole coconuts if you so desired. Dinner could be taken in one of three restaurants. We loved the Beach Restaurant (fresh lobster to die for) and the buffet restaurant. We also tried the Chinese restaurant and, unlike a previous reviewer, had no trouble either understanding the menu or the waiters/waitresses.
The beach is quite stunning with ample quantities of loungers and thick towels. The beach staff could not do enough to assist. The reviewer who complained about the long walk also complained about waiting 5 minutes for sun loungers to be made available. I can only assume their watch was running very fast! But if they booked their holiday through an estate agent (go and read the review 11 June 2012), what do they expect?
Finally, a lot of comment has been mad about the cost of the wi-fi. The hotel offers two types of wi-fi. Superfast which you can pay for or standard which is free. My wife and I used the free wi-fi in all locations including right on the beach. The service was fine everywhere we used it with no drop off of signal and more than acceptable speed. Don't bother with the paid version unless you want to download or stream movies!
All in all a fabulous hotel in a wonderful setting with excellent service and mouth watering food.

Room Tip: If you can, book a sea view room. Alternatively, try and get an upgrade to one when you arrive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hermoder15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

First I would like to say that I did read the reviews before I left and was a bit worried if I made the right choice... but now we (a family of 5) are back and had a FANTASTIC week !!! It is as if those who wrote a negative review were in an other hotel ??
The location is wonderful, beautiful garden with palmtrees, acces to a white clean sandy beach. We had 2 spacious connecting rooms and they had everything you need, it's very quiet and well isolated. Nice bathroom, little desk, terras, the beds were great (I want one like that at home)...
We had dinner at 3 different restaurants, the kids preferred the buffet with lots of delicious desserts, we loved the chinese restaurant and the beach pavilion. One thing you have to keep in mind is to make a reservation if you want to eat outside. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed it so much, we will go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is spectacularly located about 10 minutes from the Old Town section of Muscat. On some maps this hotel is still referenced as the InterContinental Al Bustan Palace Hotel, but it is now a Ritz Carlton property.

Upon entering the hotel your eyes are immediately drawn upward to the cathedral-like dome atrium over the lobby (about 125 feet high). It is truly outstanding, and when there is music playing it takes on an almost spiritual significance especially since there is usually incense burning in the lobby (the incense is native to this area). At times it created a significant haze - so those with sensitive breathing issues take care!

Our room (mountain view) was of average size. However, the bathroom was extremely small for a Ritz Carlton property. Housekeeping was less than stellar and it was interesting to note that bathroom amenities were not replenished (we had taken the skin lotion to the pool/beach and it was never replaced). On a positive note, the hotel provided complimentary in-room internet access (something that most 5* hotels charge for these days). Additionally, the hotel provided a complimentary mini-bar stocked with juices, soft drinks and water which were replenished daily.

Another very convenient (and complimentary) service was the afternoon shuttle bus to the Old Town and to the souk. Given the hotel's distance from these areas and the fact we did not rent a car, it was an appreciated value-added amenity provided by the hotel.

Our dining experiences at the hotel were for the most part very good. The buffet breakfast (served in the Al Khiran Terrace Restaurant) was spectacular in its presentation, quantity and quality. We also had dinner at the Al Khiran Terrace. Each night they offer a specialty buffet (which was also very good in all respects) and what is nice is that they will customize the experience (and the price), so if you want only the main dishes and dessert from the buffet you can do this. We also ordered off the a-la-carte menu. This too was good, but one entree was so small that it really was quite embarrassing. We advised our server, who then advised one of the head waiters, but the head waiter never came over to acknowledge our less than satisfactory experience.

The service at the hotel I rated as overall Very Good. There were many instances of really outstanding service, especially by the Front Desk and our server at breakfast and dinner. At other times, however, the service was not of the caliber Ritz Carlton is known for and surprisingly it was felt in several different departments of the hotel: housekeeping, our experience (or lack thereof) with the headwaiter one night at dinner (see above) and with the Chief Concierge regarding a sightseeing tour we booked through the hotel (see below).

We had inquired with the on-duty concierge about doing a private sightseeing tour of Muscat. He was very helpful in setting-up the arrangements for a private car and driver/guide on relatively short notice. Unfortunately, the tour operator the hotel used to make these arrangements with provided a very poor local guide. Though one cannot hold the hotel responsible for this poor performance, it does speak to the fact that the tour operator partner the hotel used did not fulfill the brand promise of a Ritz Carlton-style experience, as should have been the case. More disappointing, however, is the fact that I wrote to the Chief Concierge to share with him our disappointment about the tour. Almost two weeks later, and I have yet to receive the courtesy of a reply from him. Not the hallmark of a Ritz Carlton Hotel.

On a more positive note, the beach and pool areas are the most impressive aspects of this hotel. They are beautifully maintained and looked after by a large team of attendants who assist with lounge chairs and will even bring you a cooler of cold water.

The hotel was kind enough to let us use their health club facilities after our check-out as our flight from Muscat was not until later that night. Thus we were able to refresh ourselves before our trip home. The health club staff was extremely courteous and helpful.

This hotel has a way to go before it truly meets the Ritz Carlton experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boeing747-8I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two days for our Eid vacation. The staff genuinely want to help. They upgraded our room from deluxe to a presidential suite. Just because they couldn't find two connected rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious. The only draw back is thst dinner was badly cooked. Specialy inroom dining. room dining. rooms at the checked in. The food is good. And the room

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bdoor_uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

It's an very nice hotel (when you book the suits on the pool) with several good restaurants. The big pool with sea view is fantastic! The main building looks like a fortress and it's a bit old fashioned with smal rooms but very big ball room.
Nevertheless we enjoyed the stay very much!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sebaksebak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,458 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
195 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#1 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $371 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing