We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The first impression you get of the hotel is wow you are in a real palace. The lobby is just fantastic. The rooms are superb huge and the bathhrooms are luxury. Though it is a little away from the city nevertless it is great. the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: facing the sea please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poonam471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here 14 years ago and now new lighter style of decor after renovation is very different and perhaps more sophisticated but with less impact (good for government sponsored conferences? - there was one on the day of our visit).

The gardens pool and beach setting remain world class and the new beach restaurant offers the perfect way to enjoy it even if you are not staying. Not cheap but still great value with food and service being of the highest quality.

Of course we can make no comment about the rooms. Worth the detour if you are in the Muscat area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

For the price the glitz and glamour of the entrance and lobby were good value. However the rooms are tired, the food average at best, we had to walk through a corridor which smelt like a kitchen 24/7. Our rooms were pre paid yet my colleagues had an extra days charge which had to be reversed, we tried to exchange A$ and they said they don't accept them!!?.
Other than that very helpful and friendly staff always presenting with a smile.
Think the previous hotel we stayed in was better value personally

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is without a doubt a beautiful hotel. We dined in the Al Kirran Terrace restaurant as the others were closed. It was an Asian buffet but the standard of food could not be faulted. It was excellent and the selection of wine was also very good. We had to leave early next morning so opted for breakfast in the room. What a total let down it was the worst breakfast I ever had! We asked for one full English with pork sausage and bacon and one eggs Benedict. We got hard poached eggs for the benedict on a slice of soggy toast and the full English had beef bacon and a chicken sausage. The toast was cold and they forgot the juice. It kind of took the shine of our stay. Saying that It wouldn't stop me going back, I would just go to the main restaurant for breakfast. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. : )

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was with a group of colleagues touring the Persian Gulf. This was our first destination arriving late in the evening. In the morning we realized how lovely the property is and how wonderful the location. After touring all day, we relaxed at the beach. The hotel is magical. Staff was wonderful. The breakfast buffet was exquisite. Everything was beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel,but I would avoid the resturants the food is not what i expected from a five star establishment - not great and way over priced. Avoid the 'theme nights' in the main resturant the food is really bad. Furthermore on my stay there was works right next to the main pool and the lovely beach resturant was closed for work as well. Overall the hotel was good but not worth the money we spent - ive stayed in better 5 stars before.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent our 10 day summer holiday at the Hotel and the overall experience was superb.
People thought we were mad to go in August but although it was hot it certainly wasnt unbearable.
From the moment we arrived all the staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough for you, they are a real credit to the Hotel.
Prebooked a half board package with buffet breakfast & dinner taken in the Al Kiaran Restaurant. Forget any misapprehensions about buffets, this was certainly at another level, the food was top class with a different theme on each night.
The drinks arent cheap but unless your an alcoholic I doubt it will break the bank, the arrival duty free at the airport is reasonable and you can keep cans/bottles chilled in the rooms mini bar which is stocked with complimentary soft drinks..
The hotel was fairly quiet, the hotel grounds are vast and immaculatly kept, plenty of beds with shade and lots of complimentary bottles of water keeping chilled in your cool box.
Used the sports centre and boats which were great, there is free wifi in your room & around the pool.
Oman is a wonderfull place to visit and the people go out of their way to make you feel welcome, thoroughly recommend the Hotel & Oman for a summer holiday (represents great value in the summer).

Room Tip: Mountain view was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BK1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,522 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
246 reviews
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
11.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#1 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $339 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing