We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$173
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$182
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel(Muscat)
$364
$256
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Premier Muscat(Muscat)(Great Value!)
$63
$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $33/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$487
$324
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lana Villa(Muscat)
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
1,500
448
141
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,500
448
141
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach pavilionchinese restaurantchina moodlagoon access roomsix sensespresidential suiteinfinity poolmountain viewmain poolbeautiful hotelpalm treesdirect accesstennis courtsmain restaurantcool boxseafoodsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
1,302 - 1,307 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

everything about the hotel is lavish. from the moment you walk into the hotel you notice it. staff were extremely friendly and helpful, from reservations to housekeeping
what stood out for me was the beach/pool area; AMAZING! honestly the nicest beach hotel Ive been to in the ME.

you feel as if your staying somewhere in the Caribbean. clean and clear is what i would describe the beach.
breakfast in the morning was pleasant as they have a good variety of food and the view from the all day dining of the beach/sea is very nice.

i was fortunate to have lunch on the al murjan restaurant balcony, again, astonishing view.

well and truly a beautiful hotel, highly recommend for families and especially couples/newlyweds

will be back here for sure

Room Tip: take the rooms which give you access to the lagoons!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basheer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to splurge for one night at the end of our trip and to relax at the beach after some touring of Oman. My husband had been to Al Bustan many years ago and said it was the classic Omani palace we had to see. The lobby and atrium look a little dated and gloomy but you can see that it must have been most glamorous some years ago. The bellman was not there when we arrived and our driver had to take in our luggage. The registration process was very average. We got a moist towel, but it was cold. No kawa, no dates. We were taken to our room by a very nice guest relations person who immediately found us another room after we noticed that the original room sounded like a kindergarten, so close to a pool full of kids having a great time. We were moved upstairs and to the side. Not a very nice ocean view. We had had a rough trip that day and were looking forward to a glass of something when we got to the room.. no alcohol in the mini bar. We were told it was because they have lots of muslim guests.. But a competing hotel we stayed in 2 days prior did have a wonderfully stocked mini bar. We were not able to get a reservation on the beach at the seafood restaurant and had to settle for the terrace which was ok. The meal, however, was sub standard. We were shown the fresh caught market fish and were told we could get it grilled. It arrived all moist without a hint of grilling.. when we asked, they took the fish away, made us wait while the other meal was getting cold, and finally brought a grilled fish, about half the size of the previous one. It was very basic food for ridiculous first class prices. We were expecting five star service from a 5 star Ritz Carlton and it did not even come close to the service we got at other hotels in the region and it was by far the most expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amerloque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have been coming to the Al-Bustan for almost fifteen years on business and this is our second stay as a family. Overall we had a lovely holiday and did not want to leave, but that said we noticed that standards have begun to slip a little since our visit a few years ago. On the positive side, the pool and garden area remain beautifully maintained; the food in the Al Khiran and Beach Pavilion restaurants was as good as we remember it; and the staff everywhere were as charming and polite as ever. On the less positive side, the hotel does not feel as exclusive as it used to and we were taken aback by the number of guests there during the first few days of our stay. The increase in numbers seems to be taking its toll on standards of service, particularly around the pool area but also in the restaurants. There never appeared to be enough waiting staff to cope, which is unfortunate as that was one area in which the hotel used to excel. Another criticism is of the areas on the edges of the hotel grounds, outside the garden area but still accessible to guests, which are strewn with rubbish and other detritus (surely it is not beyond the wit of management to get this tidied up?) Another is that the lagoon rooms in which we stayed are beginning to look a bit weary and could be better maintained; they also seem a bit small compared to those of other hotels. Overall these issues were not enough to derail a delightful stay, and we mention them solely in the hope that they will encourage Ritz-Carlton to invest more in one of Arabia's great, iconic hotels; it would be a travesty if it were allowed to slip into mediocrity.

Room Tip: The hotel faces the sea which is more or less north, so rooms towards the middle of the hotel get little if any sun. Rooms to the left, which face east, get some morning sun.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_eyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well managed gardens, lovely pool (although water could have been slightly warmer), good tennis courts, very well decorated nice size rooms, complimentary drinking water and water spays for face on the beach, a lot of staff, lovely beach restaurant with some nice food.
Massage rooms are very small, but the massage was good. and reasonably priced.
Minuses- some staff had language difficulties, so were mixing up requests. Also, on the last day it got very busy and public restrooms on the beach quickly became messy with used up paper towels on the floor and there was no one cleaning them timely.
Bed mattresses could have beed slightly harder, at least for me. But it didn't spoil the overall impression.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvgiedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is clean and tidy but a little tired in places - deluxe rooms and corridors are of a poor standard and need updating. Executive floors and the suite we had was of a better standard, modern & well equipped.

Hotel does not offer the general service and care that you would expect in a hotel of this calibre - in short Service was poor - poor - poor!!

Arrival no welcome drink or general information - breakfast times etc
Room was not turned down every night and used toiletries not replaced without requesting
Breakfast service was a little unorganised - often had to queue to be seated - once seated you had to find a waiter to order coffee & places were slow to be cleared. Although served until 11 food was cleared promptly at 11 despite a number of guests still eating.
Pool service was absolutely awful / non existent - towels were sometimes given rather than Lay on the beds for you - no waiter service offered. Pool bar was unorganised - scruffy - tatty - bad service & expensive. Lunch plates or cups used by your sun bed were sometimes left without being cleared for the whole day,

Restaurant food was generally good and plenty of variety but very over priced - cheapest bottle of wine is around £45. Chinese restaurant was average - would recommend the Beach Pavilion seafood restaurant.

Overall hotel is Not a 5 Star deluxe and anyone visiting expecting this standard will be disappointed and could spend their money better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is one of those that has been refurbished - otherwise prepare to be disappointed!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19TheParrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews