We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Corniche Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa(Barr Al Jissah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Oasis Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Waffa Hotel Flats(Muscat Governorate)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveler rating
1,495
447
141
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
447
141
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach pavilionchinese restaurantchina moodlagoon roomsix sensespresidential suiteinfinity poolmountain viewmain poolbeautiful hotelpalm treesdirect accesstennis courtsmain restaurantcool boxseafoodnespresso machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,382 - 1,387 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I got to stay at this amazing hotel free of charge for a weekend. We drove from Dubai to Muscat which is a wonderful ride. The hotel itself is close the the mountains and to the same time right at the beach. Staff is very professional and the rooms are amazing! Very spacious and the showers are a dream.

The pool area is relatively big and touches the beach. If you are into snorkelling, the sea is full of wonderful fish and if you are lucky you sometimes see some small cat sharks. All in all, a wonderful hotel in a great location.

It's definitely worth doing some trips from the hotel. If you get up in the morning, you can do a great dolphin tour. It's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubbes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The Al Bustan defines luxury and its everything (and more) that you would expect from a Ritz Carlton property. The location is away from the hustle & bustle of Muscat so it's a great weekend getaway. The service is exceptional. The food is yummy delicious. The rooms are elegant. Don't even consider the competition as this is by far the best Oman has to offer. A perfect hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Al Bustan Palace was previously managed by Intercontinental. I had last visited the property back in 1993. It was a magnificent hotel. I went back to the hotel last month. It looked even better than I remebered it to be. Several refurbishment programs must have been carried out by the new management. The lobby was grand as ever with some stunning chandeliers, relaxing seating which did not clutter the lobby. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. All that is in the mini bar is already covered in your room bill. The food at the Chinese restaurant is authentic and delicious. Staff are very well trained and this is seen in the way they treat you. Overall true value for money. Absolutely Ritz standards and service.

Room Tip: Price will be higher than what you pay at other hotels in Muscat. However account for the complimentary mini bar and Internet. Overall service is worth the difference. Ask for the ocean view rooms. Mountain view is not great. It's a brown colored hill.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 747Aviator787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had booked a garden view room for 7 nights.We were shown to our room & first impressions were not great.The room smelt damp & there was hair in the bath tub & in the sink.We returned to reception to voice our concerns & were offered a complimentary drink in the bar & were advised that we would be moved to another room.We were then taken to a lagoon pool room but things just went from bad to worse.There were crumbs at the edge of the bed,a wallet was found at the terrace doors,a cotton bud behind the dresser & various stains & dirty marks on the surfaces within the room.By this time it was almost midnight & all we wanted to do was sleep.I went into the bathroom & heard water draining from the room next to us only to find this water was now draining into our bath.We contacted reception again & spoke to the Duty Manager Murli Manikantan who was extremely apologetic & then took us to see another room on the 6th floor with a sea view.This looked ok when we entered but once again in the bathroom there was hair in the sink & this was witnessed by the Duty Manager.Once again he was extremely apologetic & offered us another room which had just been vacated & had still to be cleaned.We accepted this room on the basis that it would be clean which thanks to him it was clean,he even assisted the cleaning staff with the preparation of the room for us.By this time we were in room 135, a lovely junior suite with direct access to the lagoon pool.Throughout the remainder of our stay the staff couldn`t have been anymore helpfull.Through speaking to Caroline Cahill (Poolside & Leisure) we were given the opportunity to speak to Karl Budnik (Executive Asst Manager) about our initial experience to which he agreed the standard we had recieved was not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton Resort.Sadly first impressions have a lasting impression.

Room Tip: Lagoon pool room was excellent & lagoon pool very quiet indeed with concrete sun loungers with jacuzzi jets.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretScotland_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Walk into the hotel and gasp at the absolutely grand lobby with a golden-domed ceiling and stunning chandelier! The rooms are also luxuriously and elegantly appointed. Take the rooms with the sea view and you get the view of the mountains too. The quietness at night is remarkable and deep uninterrupted sleep is almost a certainty. It was a pleasure to be woken by the gentle chirping of birds!
Housekeeping and service throughout the hotel are impeccable.
The pools are spectacular - A 50m lap pool like no other with palms on the sides and appears to merge with the sea as you swim in that direction. Will keeping you happily pounding away with multiple laps!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews