We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveler rating
1,502
448
141
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,502
448
141
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach pavilionchinese restaurantchina moodlagoon access roomsix sensespresidential suiteinfinity poolmountain viewmain poolbeautiful hotelpalm treesdirect accesstennis courtsmain restaurantcool boxseafoodrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,528 - 1,533 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Accidental I have booked the wrong IC in Muscat, as there are two different. This one is located outside the city and around 30min away from the BCD.
The hotel is great for holidays as the sea access is very nice and the pool area is great. The rooms are good. I have stayed in a suite, the only thing was the old fashioned TV, they don't have flat TV's (I just can talk about my suit).
Anyway, the hotel looks very nice and stylish but I moved to the other IC as this was better located for my business.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaHanDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Arriving in Oman for the first time, we were pleasantly surprised to find how friendly the people are, from the smiling and efficient Visa on Arrival officials, the taxi drivers (standard rates – no hassling) to the locals in old Muscat – even in the Souq.

From the articles we had read, we actually expected the Al Bustan to be even more architecturally grand than in fact it was. However, we were not disappointed. Check-in was efficient. The “Sea View” room was a bit to the side, overlooking the Chinese restaurant terrace, so we had no view of the infinity pool. This was a shame, as when you head down there, it is a very impressive area surrounded by beautifully maintained lawns and palm trees. We spent a full day lazing on a cloud-free day with gentle cooling breeze drifting in from the sea. We were served drinks all day long by a particular waiter who checked periodically that we hadn’t run dry! He was so efficient that I made a trip to our room to get a cash tip for him. The drink prices were probably high, but it was one of those days when everything was magic, and you don’t count pennies when you’re in paradise!

Having experienced soft and comfortable Intercontinental beds and pillows before, we knew what to expect and slept really well. However, the bathroom was on the smallish side, with no separate shower unit.

Breakfast offered a large selection, although quite expensive if it is not included in the room rate. We also had an excellent Beijing (Peking) Duck, carved at our table, in the Chinese restaurant.

We did not find the sea very inviting, noting that several of the lifeguards spent time scooping out plastic bags etc. that were drifting in towards the beach. There were also many jellyfish, though probably harmless, washed up on the beach. However, the gorgeous pools made up for the lack of perfection at the beach area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here during Ramadan 2010 - it was everything we had hoped it would be and more......from the moment we arrived and were taken to our room until the moment we left, we experienced courtesy and good humour at all times.
Ate in the Al Khiran and the Beachside Pavillion and rate them both highly - breakfast is incredible and offers the most variety that I have ever experienced during a hotel stay. The Iftar buffet was just as astonishing - and the Chinese Restaurant offered the best Chinese food that my husband has ever tasted! Room service might be a consideration if you don't fancy getting dressed up for dinner - delicious food delivered to your room promptly and with the minimum of fuss.
Poolside service is second to none (Roni is a gem) and the heat was not a problem....air conditioning is brilliant inside the hotel and a choice of pools outside means that you never get too hot!
The private beach is an added luxury......try as we might, we could not find fault with anything at all.
We knew that we would return but didn't realise it would be so soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsyobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlBustanPalace, General Manager at Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Al Bustan Palace InterContinental Muscat.

We are thrilled about your feedback and I will certainly share your experience with the rest of our team. Furhermore, we would like to thank you for sharing the photos.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
The Executive Team at Al Bustan Palace InterContinental Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed for just 2 nights; got to stay in this relaxed resort though I was on business visit. The hotel charged exorbitantly but at that time some festival was going on in Muscat. Anyway, some of the freebies make you feel that you have recovered the costs. A free mini bar is something which I saw for first time (obviously no alcohol). Also, they were organizing some types of free scuba diving or similar classes every day and that too free. The breakfast had good choice and the beach is also well maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlBustanPalace, Manager at Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your kind review and we are pleased to hear your comments about our room amenities and Recreational activities.

We hope to see you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Executive Team at Al Bustan Palace InterContinental Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

As it name suggests, a grand hotel with a broad range of amenities and services. The rooms are fine and well equipped, but the bathroom of our 'de luxe seaview room' was rather small and cramped. The various restaurants are well run and the food is mostly excellent. One gripe, however. Having consulted the Wines Manager, it would appear that alcoholic drinks are sourced only from Dubai and prices are astronomic! For example, the cheapest but one French red in the 'French Restaurant' was equivalent to £75 per bottle. I suppose we could have gone TT, but I make the comment nonetheless. More could be made of the Beach Bar and Restaurant, which is tucked away to one side of the hotel beach, is fairly small and not greatly appealing. The main lawns and pools are magnificent and a terrific place to spend a lazy day. Last, but not least, the Omani staff are a delight - well trained, polite, helpful and immaculately turned out. I should include the management in this; it is first class.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank galingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlBustanPalace, Manager at Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about Al Bustan Palace InterContinental Muscat.

We appreciate the nice comments you had about the gardens and beach as well as quality of food and beverage in our restaurants. As you have mentioned the Omani hospitality is renowned for being warm and polite.

We have shared your comments with our management and colleagues and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
The Executive Team at Al Bustan Palace InterContinental Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews