We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cave

The Cave
Ranked #74 of 394 Restaurants in Muscat
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Muscat Governorate, Oman
2 reviews
“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great place to visit but selecting menu should be very careful.staff is friendly and service is good.we visited with our friends we are able to enjoy good sea food.i would like to recommend to all my friends

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajsreekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    63
    40
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view, delicious food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a 2 days trip to Muscat, with no previous research on places to eat. A friend mentioned The Cave, as the new place in town, with good food, so we went to give it a try. We easily found the restaurant phone number to make a reservation, the lady who picked up the call was very nice and explained us in detail how to get there and we were pleased to hear that there is a variety on types of dishes.
It was a relatively short drive from city center, and parking is available, but you can get there easily by taxi too. Once at location, we were very impressed with the surroundings, as the place is located on the top of a hill, with panoramic view, and the way it is built in stone makes it even more spectacular.
At the date we visited (15 August) there were 3 restaurants open (Lebanese, seafood and Mexican) and very soon few more will be opened in the same complex (Indian, Italian and a couple more). We chose to eat at the Clouds (Lebanese one) as we wanted to dine outside. We really were very impressed with the setting, and the staff was very attentive and polite.
The menu might not be the most authentic Lebanese but it was varied enough and we had a very hard time to decide on the dishes, as all sounded appealing. We decided to share few starters and went for Grilled halloumi rock it, Cocoon the Tiger Prawns, Flaming garlic potato, and Ocean Calamari Pomegranate. And what a feast we had!!! Sensational taste, it was so good that we ordered another round of prawns and paprika potatoes.
As for drinks, we chose coconut smoothie (which was brilliant) and lime mint, both very tasty and flavor.
Prices are fair, we didn't find it expensive. Our bill was 32 OMR for 3 people.
We highly recommend the place, and we will surely return when we will next visit Muscat.
If you do decide to have your own try on the place, please keep in mind that it is fairly new, and some hiccups might occur (some ingredients not available, or fresh waiters who might now know the dishes by heart), but overall, it is a great place with a great future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oana_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience , REASONABLE Food, Expensive Menu, Ghastly Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Tried out CLOUDS in The Cave Muscat and really disappointing experience it was.
Ambience is nice but food was OK and moreover service was pathetic
Order was messed not once but twice and nobody is assigned to the table, Waiter just pop in and put order in front of anybody and then we keep guessing what it could be.

Not a place to go again.

Dear Management please spend some money form your overpriced Menu on your staff for teaching them about SERVICE.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank atulsharma80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mumba Latina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Higly reccomend the Mubma Latina restaurant, serving latino menu. Must try the chicken in chocolate gravy.
Excellent service and value for money

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ajeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We are a family of four on holiday in Oman, and ate at the Rumba Lattina restaurant at The Cave, a recently opened themed series of restaurants in Oman. The disneyesque exterior is attractive and unusual,and is drawing people in from across the city ,as it is a novelty here. We ate outside by the pretty waterfall and our Mexican waitress was attentive and knowledgeable.the enjoyable experience sadly ended at this point. The food took ages to arrive and all four dishes were lukewarm.the manager offered his apologies and explained that they don't have a plate- warmer yet and it is a long way from the kitchen! I might have suggested that they shouldn't have opened without one but by this time we had had enough,and although we were offered a couple of free sweets as compensation,we weren't really that bothered and left really disappointed with the place. This is by far the worst restaurant we have eaten in so far in Muscat,and judging by the complaints from the table next to us aswell,it is going to have to sharpen up pretty quickly or else it will fail within its first year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cave also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to The Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing