We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very basic with unhelpful staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“very basic with unhelpful staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We choose this hotel because of the good location recommended by others. It was a deent location if you were exploring muscat by car. However, the place is very dirty. The rooms were old and basic with dirt in every corner. The tv did not work but was fixed hours later. We soon found out that the toilet did not fill up itself after we flushed (or it took 8 hours) so we rang reception. After half a day someone did come up but said it just takes time to fill up, we told him we were filling the cistern up from glasses from the sink and the guy just shrugged! We complained again and asked if it couldnt be fixed could we change rooms. Nobody got back to us. Plus no hot water all 3 days. We asked at reception about things to do in muscat and what will be open, however the guy jst shrugged his shoulders (this was actually after we had woken him up from laying on the sofa asleep in reception!) we asked him for a map of the area.None available! Staff not helpful and breakfast basic, we went to a local cafe each morning for ours! This hotel is not interested in its customers and I feel bad for ever giving it my business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    50
    27
    23
See reviews for
23
37
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed here for one night on business. I desperately needed a beer and walked across the road to the intercontinental a there isn't a bar here. I was woken up by two arab boys fighting in the pool at 7:30 which was annoying. The room was big and bathroom kinda basic but fine. The price is reasonable and location is good. I ended up moving to the Intercontinetal next door when I returned to Muscat as I wanted to use the gym and enterntain some clients. The breakfast was a letdown and surprisingly few tables which was strange.

Room Tip: big, clean and fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejayfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Beach Hotel. We paid about $70 per night. The location is great - just one block from the beach and restaurants. There is also a small shopping centre across the road with a good food hall. The rooms whilst not fancy were very clean and large, the shower was really good. Breakfast was included and was quite sufficient. Pool was small but nice - could use a few more lounge chairs as they only have four.

Room Tip: Great location, good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wessec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We searched high and low for a mid-range hotel option in Muscat. I spent hours on Tripadvisor and scouring guide books and it really seemed the options were this - pay loads to stay in a 5-star hotel chain or pay a minimal amount to stay in a dingy budget place in Mutrah. Eventually we plumped for the Beach Hotel, which while not perfect, suited our needs perfectly.

Plus points:
Great location. It's a 2 minute walk from Qurum Beach and a short taxi ride away from the sights of Mutrah and Old Muscat. Muscat really isn't a walking city and we ddin't have a car. So what was also great about the Beach Hotel is it's also a short walk away from a little shopping centre which has different restaurants, including a great breakfast cafe which does fabulous American pancakes.

Free wireless in the rooms.

Friendly reception staff

Minus points:
Noise from the main road alongside the hotel. We tried asking for a room away from the road but they were too full. Won't hurt to ask though and it didn't bother us too much.

The breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Decent location, helpful staff. While it's clearly in need of repairs & renovation, it was actually clean. Much better than what I expected after reading other reviews. OK option if you're looking budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank LANlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one week, having read the reviews on TripAdvisor. The lower cost was an attraction, and compared with many other hotels, this Hotel was good value for money. The room wasn't perfect, but was certainly acceptable. We stayed on the ground floor in a room facing the main road. The room was spacious and clean. The bedrooms were okay, but the room overlooking the road was a bit noisy and traffic was passing by at speed all night. The second room overlooking the inner court and pool was much quieter and would be preferred. The kitchen had a fridge, stove, microwave and sink, but the cupboards were lacking any pans, trays, and anything to cook with. Only basic plates, knifes, forks, spoons and glasses, but there were no spares. If you planned to cook self-catering, you would need more. We ate out most nights since reasonable priced cafes, coffee houses and a small precinct were all very close-by. The precinct had several outlets in a basic food court, which proved good value for money.
The beach was a close walk and another square with retail outlets was close by. We hired a car (very reasonable price) and this is recommended. This allowed us to use a much larger supermarket about 1 mile away and also traveled to Muscat and Mutrah which were too far to walk.
The swimming pool was clean, but I never saw anyone use it - the courtyard in which it was situated was built-up and surrounded by rooms - a bit sterile.
I planned to go scuba-diving and a small dive shop was close-by which hired equipment. The diving was not as good as I hoped, much better in Scotland - honestly!
The Hotel had parking outside and breakfast was again reasonable with a buffet style help-yourself. No complaints at all regarding the food - not the most luxurious, but good and plenty to choose from. Would recommend as a budget hotel. If you want luxury and a romantic get-away, then couldn't recommend for this.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBandLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

There are two good things about this hotel, one is that it looks good from the outside & the other is that it is in a good location just across from the Muscat Intercontinental on one side and an upmarket shopping centre with Restaurants in it on the other side. Also, at the end of the road it is on which is only a 10 minute walk there is a big complex with cafes & restaurants right on the beach.

Sadly, that is it for the good stuff! On check in the pleasant Omani guy asked us to wait for the bellboy. After 10 minutes I said that we were able to carry our own bags so if that was what we were waiting for just tell us where the room is & we will go there ourselves. No – it was difficult to explain so we would have to wait. During our stay here we witnessed two other groups of people waiting as we did, one lady absolutely furious after her flight from the UK. After another 10 minutes an unpleasant & surly bellboy appeared; it seemed like we may have cut his break short or something. He wasn’t overly interested in carrying any of our luggage but he begrudgingly carried one suitcase for us. You went through the inside of the hotel & up an outside circular staircase & our room was up there at the end of the terrace. It was an OK room with an efficient Air Conditioner & an OK if a bit hard bed. All linens were of a low quality as was everything else in the room. The cleanliness of the room was only so so. Something in the bathroom was leaking & the floor was wet & smelly most of the time. Not wanting to do any more waiting we put up with it. However, a worse problem became apparent when we tried to sleep & that was the road noise in the room. It was horrendous & I can’t imagine any of the rooms being any better. The hotel is very old and the doors close but rather loosely and there is none of the soundproofing associated with newer hotels. The door lock was flimsy & it concerned us a bit but I don’t think petty crime is a problem in Oman. In addition to the noise in the room you also can’t shut out the light. There are thin & dirty drapes on the main window in the bedroom but light pours in from the window above the door.

Breakfast is an unappetising array of tinned fruit & other such things. We had to go into the kitchen to find someone to help us & we asked for an omelette each. Actually, they were tasty but minuscule having been made with only one egg. The previous evening we had walked down the road & had our Dinner at an Italian Restaurant near the beach, it was a nice meal.

We departed the next morning exhausted thankful we only had to travel to Dubai and in the knowledge that we were going to a Crowne Plaza hotel so that would be a good hotel. The most irritating thing is the rate we paid for this dump was not that much less than the Intercontinental across the road. All in all nothing but a rip off that only exists because of package tourists from Europe or idiots like me that choose it!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
1.7 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#31 of 50 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Maha International Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.2 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#30 of 50 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Muscat Way 2818 Shatti Al Qurrum | PO Box 86, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing