We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Indian Retaurant in Al-Khuwair” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Begum's

Begum's
Ranked #4 of 394 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A cozy diner that is making an honest attempt at dishing out close to home cooked, recipes of traditional Mughlai delicacies. We have increased space at our Al Khuwair branch and we are very happy to welcome more foodies to dine in with us at begums. Check out our exciting array of additions to the menu. Our new outlet at Bowshar will be opening soon and till then we will only be able to offer limited take away and delivery services.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Retaurant in Al-Khuwair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This restaurant was a nice find for me recently. Excellent North Indian cuisine with good service as well. Tried Chicken lazeez and liked a lot. Biryani is their speciality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsme, Owner at Begum's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Great to know that you liked our food. Chicken Lazeez is our Chef's Special and on your next visit you can also try off the menu items like Chicken Patiala or Chicken Toofani. Our service team will be delighted to assist you with your choice.

We take pride in our Biryani and appreciate that you have enjoyed the dum biryani at begum's.

Look forward to have you with us again soon.

Best regards,
Amit Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    212
    43
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sur, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friend tells me about the good service provided by the Begum's restaurant. On 1/1/2014 I decided to go with my husband to a restaurant for dinner because it is fair and serves delicious Indian food and the prices are suitable I'm happy, I'm keeping money and my time. I will tell my friends

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khadija Alyass a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsme, Owner at Begum's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Pleasure to read your feedback. Our team is thrilled, that you enjoyed your visit to begums.
We are in the process to upgrade our services and will soon have more space and exciting daily specials on the Menu

It will be nice to have you back with your family and friends.

Regards,
Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome. ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

The food is just AWESOME!!!! Whether you tlk about veg or non-veg... Both are equally delicious.. Yes at times the waiting time is long.. but, if the food is served immediately as we place the order then, is it freshly made?? (Think about it).. anything which is fresh would take a lil time to be prepared... the kulfi n phirni is a MUST TRY.. It reminds you of India.. we all hv teething trouble initially.. given a lil time am sure all the flaws will attended to. All the best team at Begum's..

Helpful?
1 Thank adhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is another average restaurant in Muscat, the place is too small and hard to locate,
The food quality is again average. I visited this place based on reviews,
Once there, it made me think is it the same NO 1 Trip advisor restaurant?
Went with a great hope and expectation but we were disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arabiandrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsme, Owner at Begum's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting our small and cozy diner.
We have started our food journey with a small place and a large heart to dish out great authentic Mughlai food with a warm service. In this endeavor, if we have fallen short we would like to assure you that we will continue to strive to improve.

Begums is located just adjacent to the Zawawi Mosque, a major landmark in Muscat. Guests, are welcome to call us at 93070808 or 24482299 to get the directions, in case they are unable to find us next to the mosque.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to giving you a much better experience on your next visit.

Regards,
Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but unjustified waiting time!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Visited the restaurant on 25th jan with family.Tasty food. However the unjustified waiting time really put us off. The person at the cash counter was trying to create an impression that there is no space and there is a long waiting time. He asked us if we have prior reservation. When we said no, he asked us to wait 15 minutes. This was in spite of the fact that there were two empty tables. In spite of 3 reminders after 15 minutes and some tables remaining empty for a long time he kept proving some walk in families preference. Finally we were on the verge of cancelling our orders and going to some other restaurant when he called us after full 35minutes. The food was though good and tasty but the attitude of the fair guy at the cash counter reduced our rating for the restaurant. Would think again about coming there to dine with my family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PKS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsme, Owner at Begum's, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for dining at begum's. We appreciate your feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the food. You have also put in your displeasure with the waiting time to have a table.

As presently we have limited seating, we encourage our patrons to make prior bookings. On the day that you visited us, we had a reservation for 18 guests and hence were unable to give you a table though the tables were unoccupied. We would like to apologize for the same.

We are also mindful, that our patrons have suggested to increase the seating capacity and we are in the process to do the same. In the next 5 weeks we will have an additional seating on the mezzanine floor and this will help us to significantly reduce the waiting time.

Also, we are soon opening another outlet in Bowshar and that will help us to serve our patrons better. Kindly continue to dine in with us and we would ensure that all our patrons enjoy their culinary experience with Begum's.

Best Regards,
Amit Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begum's also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Begum's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing