We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice off-road experience”
Review of Wadi Al Arbeieen

Wadi Al Arbeieen
Book In Advance
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Private Tour: Wadi Thrills at Wadi Arbayeen
Ranked #5 of 86 things to do in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: E un'oasi nel deserto in oman a circa 150 km SE da muscat, con percorso fuoristrada, laghi naturali, oasi e piccoli villaggi che ti lasciano un ricordo indelebile del vero oman. assolutamente da vedere
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice off-road experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

To be honest I wanted to go there but the car was not suitable! Anyway on my way from Sur to Muscat we decided to give a try and see what 17km off-road would mean for an average rented salon car. We were almost lost a couple of times - we stopped a few guys with huge SUVs who confirmed that we were heading the right direction. It took us almost half an hour to find it and when we got there in the first village the people when they saw us.... disappeared! There were many wasps (I assume because of the water) and we decided to go... On our way back we saw a few cars stopped by water and got there spending a few minutes to enjoy the stunning views. I guess it really worth to have a local guide in places like this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Babisyious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    35
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great off-road experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not very far from Muscat, but once you get off-road it seems you are centuries away. It is especially impressive if you approach the wadi from Mazara, using a graded road over the arid and scorched mountains and highlands which suddenly drops into the green paradise with a rivulet slithering between boulders. Leaving the green oasis and village on your left, you'll end up in another green oasis with water flowing throughout the year and making a picturesque waterfall. There is a high rock attracting the brave to dive into the deep crystal-clear pond of turqouise water. It is an excellent spot for a mid-day rest before continuing down the Wadi Al Arbeieen through a picturesque valley full of greenery, aflaj, nice ponds for a refreshing dip and even some fishing... Strongly recommended for a one-day trip. There are also several nice places to set up a tent a stay overnight. Possible hiking up the wadi and camping there too...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank doctor694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hiking”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went on an excellent hike through this Wade last year. Tough, had to be in good shape but well worth it.

Also nice to drive through after coming down from the mountains.

Need a 4x4.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Coach-Benita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wadi”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wadi Arbeieen is a beautiful wadi - once you find your way in. It is offroad and best to go in a 4wd.
The pools, scenery and gorge are beautiful once the wadi is reached.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Al Arbeieen also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Wadi Al Arbeieen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing