We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel...disappointing restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good hotel...disappointing restaurants”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice. Typical Radisson hotel, you either like it or not. I like it. Best for business trip, still have very good pool and excellent breakfast.
Overall service was very good during our first stay but second stay always was with small issues - clubcarlson gold means nothing for them, changes in reservation didn't appear in their system, one front desk assistant tells you about free late check out the other one asks to pay you for the same and etc.
Breakfast is good, but dinner at the same or any other restaurant of the hotel is disappointment. Worth mentioning that my wife got terrible food poisoning in Al Tajin restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Anton_kar

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Your feedback has been noted. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Please note that we are currently working on training our staff on the Club Carlson loyalty program. With regards to the food poisoning there was nothing reported to us during your stay. However, we will investigate in to the matter.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Warm Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    342
    119
    32
    11
See reviews for
78
121
53
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is a few minutes from the corniche and set against a freeway bridge. Fortunately, not much noise is evident during the night or day. Room was spacious enough for one or two people, and bathroom was roomy. A toilet hose would have been preferred over the awful bidet. The bathroom is dated and tiles are not cleaned properly between stays which is evident from the dirty grout on wall and bath tiles. Breakfast is delicious with everything from pancakes to waffles to variety of hit dishes and even diabetic friendly items. Front office staff were friendly and helpful in assisting me to get a taxi, who dropped me off for my open bus tour then came to collect me when it was over. Al Tajin restaurant serves great grills, but the seafood platter is overrated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantalisemytastebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Bint M

Thank you so much for your review. The feedback on our hotel is really appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and beverage offers at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Radisson Blu in Muscat is typically Radisson Hotel, however there was some issues that was not up to standard.
The bathroom was in moderate condition, several of the tiles was cracked and the grouting was missing.
The cleanliness was also moderate, used shampoo/soap bottles were not removed from the bathroom.

The bed was very good.

The people working at the hotel were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear FredStavanger_Norway

Thank you so much for your review. Please note that we are working on the maintenance of our bathrooms. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again with us.

Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very nice hotel with great staff and very good clean modern rooms. As the Web site states it is in the Commercial District' which is very correct. It is ideal for the business person staying for one of two nights but it is not really a 'holiday' hotel and has little for children. It is some distance from the beach and tourist areas so a car is a must. Taxis are plentiful and not expensive and there is a taxi rank at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, well equipped and provisioned. There are very few rooms with balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear rex p,

Thank you for your feedback. Your review of our hotel is really appreciated. Yes we are business hotel but we do have a few services for children over the weekends.

On your next visit, you must try out our new themes Saturday Splash and Friday Bubbles at Olivos Restaurant and Terrace. There is a lot of entertainment for kids.

Hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent a weekend at this hotel and there were a few disappointments and a few smiles during my visit. The first disappointment was the room. I booked the Radisson business class suite thinking it would be a bit special. But the suite was very average. I also found the wifi to be free but terribly unreliable, being feint and fluctuating in the signal. That was very frustrating. The staff were OK. The staff at the reception didn't have great English language skills which was another frustration.

The smiles were brought by the restaurant/cafe over looking the pool and the gardens. The buffet was excellent, the staff very helpful, and the atmosphere very relaxing. The pool and gardens, with its evening bar were wonderful. I found this to be a very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ian W

Thank you for your reveiw on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the food and beverage offers that we had at our restaurants. We are a business hotel and hence most of the rooms would be as per the requirements of a business traveller.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Warm Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I spent two nights at the Radisson on business. It is an unusual place. It is ideal as a business venue but it has one or two touches that suggest they angle for tourists as well. These include the surprising variety of bar and restaurant outlets and a very good pool area.
The hotel itself is a trifle gloomy, both from the outside and the inside but the rooms are spacious and are comfortable. They could do a little more in the way of the freebies in the bathroom, I was counting on finding a comb, which I didn’t and I was a trifle tousle-headed for my meetings. The free internet is a great plus and although it is not lightning fast, it’s perfectly tolerable.
What made it for me was a very personal thing. In O’Malley’s Bar, which you reach by going out of the hotel and then re-entering it to a basement location, was the fact that they serve Marston’s Bitter on draught. This is one of Yorkshire’s finest. Back home in Abu Dhabi it can only be had in bottles and even then it’s as scarce as hen’s teeth.
He staff are very helpful and friendly but that is hardly surprising in Oman where there is usually a warmer welcome than in some Gulf States.

Looking at the other reviews, I must have visited on an upswing because the breakfast was extensive and very goo, with perfect service

All in all, this is good value for money and I would not hesitate to come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WordWarrior82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear WordWarrior82

Thank you for you detailed review on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We must say that we value this feedback. We look forward to seeing you again stay with us.

Warm Regards
Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel benefits from a good pool area, central location, good staff and free wifi. The rooms have been recently modernized and are spacious and comfortable. The hotel ticks all the boxes for service etc. but does not have the wow factor like some other Muscat hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel c, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear heb999

Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback on our hotel is appreciated. We look forward to you visiting us again inorder to serve you better.

Warm Regards

Marius Wolmarans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
4.4 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Address: P.O. Box 939, P.C. 133, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#10 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Muscat is minutes from city centre and airport The Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat is ideally situated by Shatti Al Qurum, the diplomatic and commercial hub of this capital city. This Muscat hotel, located in the city centre, is just minutes from nearby businesses like Worley Parsons. Guests feel at home in 153 guest room and suites that boast amenities like cable television, Free high-speed Internet access and mini bar. Six delicious restaurants and bars are conveniently located on the hotel premises, including Olivos Restaurant & Terrace, which offers all-day dining, and the Grind Floor, the main floor coffee shop. Visitors can relax at the exclusive Fontana Health Club, featuring a gym, sauna, swimming pool and spa services. Exceptional meeting and event facilities are also available at this hotel in Muscat, Oman. •Unwind at this Muscat hotel, located just 12 minutes from Seeb International Airport. •Feel at home in one of 153 stylish rooms and suites with individual climate control, cable television and premier bath products. •Stop in one of six on-site restaurants and bars, offering a wide selection of cuisines and cocktails. •Upgrade to a Business Class accommodation and take advantage of the well-equipped Business Class lounge. •Break a sweat in Fontana Health Club, which features an out-door pool, sauna and workout equipment. •Host meetings in one of five conference rooms accommodating up to 100 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat Hotel Muscat
Radisson Muscat
Muscat Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing