We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You might loose your way back to your room”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I loved muscat, had to be there for a super quick trip. The hotel location is fantastic, beautiful oriental feel dominating the set up. Rooms are really spacey and comfortable to sleep in. The only problem you might get lost heading to or from your room. I highly recommend this hotel and the buffet ground level is not bad at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XRS_ahai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear XRS_ahai, many thanks for your much valued feedback. We are happy to read about your recent stay and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Grand Hyatt Muscat.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Oman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is my first trip to Oman and I chose a hotel near the Royal Opera House where my meetings took place. First impressions bowled me over. The lobby is grandiose, staff very friendly and helpful and efficient. My room was huge, well appointed and had a view of the Gulf of Oman. After a night's sleep to help recover from 25 hours of travelling, I spent some time exploring the property. Great pool close to the sea with a large bar, a lot of lounge chairs at the pool and on a grassy area that leads to a magnificent beach. Being here in the winter reminds me of Hawaii in terms of the climate and I wondered why there were not more people here from Europe - the hotel seemed half empty. The breakfast buffet is very good with wide variety of foods for every palate and the staff attentive - maybe too attentive as once when I went in from the terrace to grab a second helping, they effectively bussed my table. When I returned, my tea and linens were restored quickly with many apologies. The Italian Restaurant is highly rated - I just had a glass of wine there and there seems to be a number of other places to eat and drink. The property is maintained and super clean. would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear John K, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We highly appreciate the time you took to leave us a review on trip advisor. We are even more thrilled to hear that your stay was enjoyable. The pictures you shared look great and provide guests a chance to see different angles of the hotel.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very nice hospitality, Nice ambiance, accessibility to other parts of city is easily available. Its a beach hotel can have real fun and experience. Accurate information is received from staff members. Excellent variety of food. Clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishoreplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Kishoreplr, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and many thanks for leaving us such a pleasant review. We are very excited to hear you had an enjoyable stay and are thrilled to receive full points for all the categories on trip advisor.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat on your next visit to Oman.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was my first time in Muscat for business and I was positively surprised with this hotel. The hotel is large, divided in two wings with pool area in the center. The location is a bit far from downtown, but has lots of taxis available. The property sits right on the beach and that makes it a perfect place for a early morning walk. (Good for jet lag).

The pool area is large and comfortable. Beach service is limited, but that's a cultural aspect, I believe.

The breakfast and room service food was very good.Well, in Oman the food is always excellent! One of my favorite item from their breakfast buffet was the natural honey. So crisp and fresh! I did not have dinner there, since I was working until late.

The decor is opulent but somewhat tasteful. The room was huge and comfortable, with a pool view. I was a good base to be at, comfortable, silent, breezy and friendly.

Room Tip: Try a upper floor pool view room. Mine was a bottom floor and, all thought it was ok, top one might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Forattini, thank you for your valued feedback. We're very happy to hear that not only you enjoyed your stay and the location but also found the food, especially our breakfast to be pleasant.

We thank you once more and hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A totally over the top designed hotel. Gaudy interior with gilt everywhere, Couldn't feel at home in a plastic palace. The food prices in the restaurants were excessive. A total lack of light at the tables so that waiters carried torches so that you could read the menu's. Not a clue what the food looked like. Kept bringing water to the table when not asked for then charged £6.00 per bottle.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Larry D, thank you for your valued feedback. It would've been great if you'd mentioned which restaurant you had experienced this. Only our outdoor restaurants have lights on the menu to provide you with better visibility when choosing your item from the menu.

We do apologise for the inconvenience of serving you water when you did not wish to. We are a 5-star hotel and the price of a large water bottle is the same across all 5-star hotels in the country.

We would've loved to hear your feedback during your stay however we hope that you choose to return to Grand Hyatt Muscat in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stay in this hotel when I go to Muscat which is at least twice a year. The staff are generally very friendly, all speak reasonable english and the service is always to a pretty high standard. The hotel itself has a great location, literally on the beach so you can go for a nice walk in the morning or evening. The food is decent, breakfasts and lunches are great, and there is a pretty good variety. The only downside is that the hotel is not located close to the downtown area of Muscat, although having said that, there are always taxis ready to bring you to town at the hotel entrance, so its never an issue. The rooms are very large in terms of size and have really high ceilings, so one gets a sense of old world opulence. Overall, if you are considering going to Oman you could do a lot worse than pick this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinsey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear kinsey101, many thanks for your valued review and feedback. We're delighted to hear that you choose to stay with us everytime you're in Muscat. We hope you continue to choose Grand Hyatt Muscat as your preferred choice of stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Having read some Trip Advisor reviews, I expected this hotel to look like Disneyland. In fact, the décor is very tasteful and attractive, with plush green-and-gold carpets, tall floor-to-ceiling windows that showcase the beach, and beautiful floral arrangements. The service is very attentive and friendly. One nice feature is a paved path running the length of all of the hotels and embassies, along the beach -- perfect for a walk (even all the way to the Opera).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the Seeb Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear 20007, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the architecture of the hotel impressive.

We would like to thank you once again for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor and hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 60 in Muscat
1,580 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 60 in Muscat
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
11.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $198 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing