We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A great Muscat experience made even better with the Grand Hyatt. Exquisite location and a luxurious feel to it all. Very friendly staff with focus on the guests.
A bit too high glam factor on the cars parked outside the reception made the wait for taxi's too long, it did not manage to force it's way past the Lamborghini's and Ferrari's

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Tore S, many thanks for your fantastic feedback. We're extremely happy to hear you had a pleasant stay at Grand Hyatt Muscat. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    418
    148
    70
    27
See reviews for
238
364
65
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A lovely beach hotel suitable for business and vacation. Spacious rooms, comfy beds, good shower and WIFi in rooms and around the hotel. Several restaurants to choose from- overall good food. Super poolside area. Enjoyed going to the English pub which had a live band in the evening. The Maarjan restaurant's new indonesian menu is a major improvement. Food and drink Can be expensive. Lastly a special thanks to Mahmood in the Maarjan for being such a fantastic host - he is a credit to the Hyatt chain!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratagiyadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Ratagiyadub, many thanks for your fantastic feedback. We really appreciate hearing back from our guests that have stayed with us.

We will certainly convey your message to Mahmood in Marjan Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here again after a 5 year break, and still was as good as I remember. Still impresses when walking in. Check-in and check-out was friendly, quick and efficient and room was very roomy and had a huge comfortable bed. Was disappointed that no in room iron & board, but maybe the people who usually stay there don't do their own ironing!

Minor issues - wi-fi in room (close to buffet restaurant) was very unreliable, and kept dropping out all the time. Reception better in one corner of the room, but no good anywhere else. also discovered tea & coffee making stuff hidden in drawer next to the mini-bar. Was pointed out by the helpful mini-bar man, but surprised it wasn't mentioned by the bellboy.

Only other complaint was the breakfast buffet, which was adequate but a bit dull, and not quite up to the standard you might expect here.

Other than that, a good stay all round. Would have been better if on vacation with the great pool and beach, but maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Voight-Kampf, thank you for your fantastic and much valued feedback. We're happy to hear you've come back after 5 years. We appreciate guests that take the time to write about their experiences at Grand Hyatt Muscat.

We hope you return again for a vacation so that you can enjoy all the wonderful benefits and beautiful poolside that Grand Hyatt Muscat has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
165 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not the best 5* star, but probably 4.5 star to be fair.
The staff were friendly but spent too much time trying to sell me upgrades.

Having to pay for WIFI is a no no for me.

The room was clean, spacious and I slept okay. I had room service which was okay.
Overall value probably was just okay, if slightly expensive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear obbarry, many thanks for your valued feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Grand Hyatt Muscat.
Unfortuntately we have to pay third party vendors for providing the service of internet hence are unable to offer it free of cost. I hope that this does not stop you from coming back to Grand Hyatt Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Dua, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is real 5* hotel by cleanness, service, location (right on the beach) and price. Our visit was perfect and we enjoyed every second. Pool was great however we need to come early to get bed near pool. Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear EniW_12, thank you for your valued feedback. We sincerely appreciate the time you've taken to give us such a fantastic review. On behalf of the entire team at Grand Hyatt Muscat, we hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Here for a short conference but have visited the Safari Bar at the hotel before. Nice comfortable room at the side of the hotel, large, nice bathroom, comfortable bed and good range of TV channels.

I used the pool for a short spell on my first evening, nice temperature compared to air which was still probably at 38 degrees C in May! You need to ask for a card to lock the changing room lockers - the pool attendant did not offer one - said I should have asked when I got my towel! Twisted logic at work here if I am visiting for the first time, how am I supposed to ask for a card to lock the locker!! The pool area also gives access to the beach and there's one of those swim-up bars in the pool too.

Had dinner in the Mokha Cafe - simple grilled chicken and fries (my usual test) and it was very pleasant and tasty and delivered speedily. This is more than can be said for our conference set meal later in the evening - the pace of delivery could be described as funereal! From sit down to dessert was at least two hours - unacceptable.

Had tea on the day after I arrived - one pot of tea 4.1 Riyals - thats 41 Dirhams or GBP 6.93 at the rate prevailing when I am writing this review - that's just disgraceful.

Internet via WiFi was included in my room rate, probably as a conference deal, and worked fast and efficiently throughout my stay and all across the hotel on my Galaxy S3.

The one day conference was marred by the very chilly meeting room - repeated requests to management failed to get temperature raised above what seemed to be 17 or 18 degrees - too cold for comfort especially when the breeze from the aircon is blowing on you.

Breakfast was good, fresh milk, real crispy bacon, lovely fresh crusty bread and porridge - perfect.

The Safari Bar below the hotel was great with an interesting and diverse group of people hanging out in there listening to a great band that had to female singers, one of which was an incredibly good Cuban.

Overall, a decent hotel with one or two areas for improvement. More centrally situated than the Crowne Plaza and much more luxurious.

My colleague and I hired a great driver, one of the Hyatt Cabs to take us on a tour of Muscat - he was very very good but mainly spoke in Arabic to my colleague. Highly recommended and we used him for three hours. Going rate is apparently 10 OMR per hour.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the pool looked nice, but my one on the outside was also pleasant and quiet with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannymcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear dannymcl, many thanks for your valued review on trip advisor. We always encourage guests that stay with us to share their feedback with us.

We're sorry about the temperature in the meeting room. We will ensure this does not happen again. We're sorry you felt this way about the pot of tea. We serve premium leaf tea of the highest quality and we are very competitive compared to other 5 star hotels.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is my second visit to the hotel , the standards are high and although on business I would recommend for as a hotel for holidaying at if you are in Muscat.
However, the one issue you need to consider is the location of your room , if close to the Safari night club ( immediately adjacent to / an integral part of the building complex ) you are likely to have a disturbed night - as I and a colleague in a similarly located room did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Trinitraveller963, many thanks for your valued feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you've returned to Grand Hyatt Muscat for the second time. We're extremely sorry about the inconvenience of the noise.

Please let us know when you are returning again so that we can ensure to provide you a room in our beautiful adjacent Seeb wing that offers the same exact luxurious room but in a quieter setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
11.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
3.2 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Property: Grand Hyatt Muscat
Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#7 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing