We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were disappointed at our recent stay here. We have stayed at more than 20 Hyatt locations and this hotel does not live up to the Hyatt standard. The staff were not welcoming and often did not know how to answer even simple questions and/or gave incorrect information. We are Platinum members and stayed in a Club level room. The Wi-Fi (which was included) never worked in our room or the club lounge. We mentioned this to a club staff member and to guest services when asked if we had any problems---all to no avail. Promises were made to look into the issue, but we never heard from anyone about it. The hotel needs some updating and repairs--the lobby still looks nice, but everywhere else (including the grounds) need work. The room was fine, but nothing spectacular and we heard noise all night...especially when the bar closed at 3am. The hotel is close to the ocean, but there is no direct access to the beach. There are sun loungers on a patch of grass near the ocean, but you must climb down a slope to reach the beach (there is no pathway at the Hyatt...there is a small path about a 5-10 minute walk away). The Club lounge was nice and had an outdoor seating area which was perfect in the evening. Overall, an average hotel at best. I would suggest staying elsewhere in Muscat (we stayed one night at another hotel and it was much better than this Hyatt).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traceytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Traceytraveler17, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience experienced with regards to internet connection at the hotel. We understand that the Wi-Fi has been a problem and are working with our third party vendor to ensure the speed is enhanced and increased.

As for the beach, we do have direct access and is a walking distance from our poolside. The steps to the beach can be found at the end of the pool and will take you immediately down to the grassy area with our sun beds.

We will ensure our staff receive sufficient training on dealing efficiently with our valued guests. We hope you return to the Grand Hyatt Muscat once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is an architectural masterpiece and, in general, it lives up to its reputation as a 5* hotel. Service is generally efficient and the food is of high quality. Unfortunatekly there are a few bad points. These are as follows:

1. There was some building work going on at the poolside, making it very noisy and generally unpleasant.
2. The meals are of high quality but extremely expensive- plan for about 55GBP per person minimum even for a basic bar style meal at the poolside and arround 20GBP for a basic cheese sandwich- RIDICULOUS.
3. The staff were reluctant to offer advice on less expensive places to eat but I suggest walking along the corniche as there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance
4. The tours offered by the hotel are of a high standard but I have since found out that they overcharge by up to 40%- a fact that infuriated me
5. Dont arrange for the hotel for airport transfers- they charge almost 6 times more than local taxis.
6. Th restaurants dont open until 7pm- too late if you have young children
7. In general the hotel does not cater for young children, only offering a rather small paddling pool.

Room Tip: look for less expensive options for dining, tours etc- there are plenty if you look for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilcrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear neilcrai, thank you for the time you've taken to review the Grand Hyatt Muscat on trip advisor.

Please accept our apologies with regards to the inconvenience of the poolside maintenance. We have been upgrading the area and changing the tiles around our poolside to ensure standards of quality are kept high.

The tours at the hotel are handled by a third party supplier. This is something that we unfortunately have no control over and prices are dictated to us by the tour company.

Local taxis in every country are usually less expensive than hotel transfers. With regards to children, we usually have a great Friday brunch with lots of activities in place for kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for central Muscat and is within easy distance of the airport without being on the doorstep. Contrary to other reviews, we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms and particularly the bahrooms are very large and provide all the necessary accessories plus a few extras. However, we had to change our first room as it had a strong smell of cigarette smoke. The room was changed for a suite and the only disadvantage was that we had quite a distance to walk plus had to use the lift to the business relaxation area, although this was not a problem. I would als recommend that they change their cleaning products as the room did smell a little like a hospital.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Elayne T, thank you for your great feedback. We sincerely appreciate the time you've taken to review us on trip advisor. We apologise for the inconvenience of the room changes and the distance you had to walk. The Grand Hyatt Muscat is quite a large hotel with 2 separate wings on each side called Seeb and Fahal.

I will certainly address your point with regards to the strong odour from cleaning products with our Housekeeping Manager. We hope to welcome you back again and look forward to your second review about the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed with my family during march at the Grand Hyatt Oman.

The arrival was average, we were greeted -not to friendly but okay- our luggage was taken care of and the car was parked. Check-in was fast but any introduction about opening times of restaurants or hotel facilities was simply missing.

The rooms were amazing, good view and quiet luxury interior. Same as the lobby and the pool area,

The breakfast buffet was terrible,,, food was cold , tasteless and mostly almost out of stock (at 9am!!!), cappucino and tea was okay. Waiters were unattentive and clearance was very slow as well. For 15 Rials I expect much more!!!

Pool restaurant was indonesian style in the dinner, which I pretty much like but the presentation of the food was not up to 5 star standarts. When we complained about one of the food items the staff rolled with his eyes and turned around without even apologizing... unaceptable!
When the food come back we didnt see any changes... disappointing!

Italian Restaurant was pricy but also very good. Staff was very attentive and chef was preparing the food fast and the special request about the dishes have been done.

During the Friday Brunch -which had almost 2 outdoor tables occupied- we were harassed by loud noise coming from the speakers. When we ask the pool staff to communicate this to the restaurant they said "okay" but no action have been taken.

Next day there was a VIP function at the hotel and we had to pick up our car ourselves "no problem but a prior information to this would have been nice as well as to tell where our car is so we do not need to search for 10 minutes!".
When we came back I stopped the car at the entrance and waited for somebody to park it but...
NOOO... The so called supervisor was very rude and told me to remove my vehicle... I told him to get my car parked as I am guest of this hotel, which was refused in a very unfriendly matter.

I simply lost it and complained to the Front office which solved the problem for me...
Anyway... that is embarrising...

At our last day we ask the FO to organize some takeaway packages as we are unable to visit breakfast, which was already included in the room rate.
The staff at the FO was doing it but told us that this is a very special request and it is a special ammenitie from the hotel to do this for us... beeehh... I should be greatful for 45 Rials to get 3 old clubsandwiches, 3 orange juices and 2 bananas???? Ridicilious!!!

Very expensive hotel with no value at all! First and last time Grand Hyatt!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlitoDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear CarlitoDe, thank you very much for your valued feedback.

We sincerely apologise for your experience at Marjan Indonesian Restaurant. Our indonesian restaurant is a very popular choice amongst our guests and residents of Oman. Your feedback will be shared with our Food and Beverage team and will be used as a training tool to ensure that the same kind of service is not repeated.

We would like to work on certain issues you mentioned but would require further information so could you kindly send me an email on nicole.bassit@hyatt.com so we can investigate.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A very expensive hotel with poor service - I try to give +ve reviews so this is the exception

Checked in to discover that the bed linen and towels hadn't actually been changed, just looked like it. Not fun sticking your face in what turns out to be a damp used towel. This got fixed and Manager would obviously get in touch. Didn't do so. Used the gym while the room was actually cleaned.
Gym very small and the bike I was using didn't work properly (no audio, no bpm, not counting revs and watts) so used it a reported faults to staff. Used again next day, exactly sthe same.
So a hotel charging >$500/night that cant be bothered....just not good enough
Would not recommend at 50% of the price - go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_sadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear al_sadr, thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hyatt Muscat and for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise for the unpleasant firsthand experience upon checking into your room. This will be immediately addressed with our Front Office team to ensure that such an incident never happens again.

We will also ensure the machines and equipment in our Club Olympus Fitness Centre are all working properly and hope you accept our apologies about the inconvenience you experienced with one of our bikes.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and managed to visit some of our restaurants and maybe the poolside too. We do hope to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Muscat. If there is anything you would like to further discuss please do not hesitate to contact me personally at nicole.bassit@hyatt.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was a business trip for my husband & a leisure one for me. I knew in advance that this would never be my chosen hotel in Muscat (that would be The Chedi). For business it does the job but it lacks a sense of style & charm that other large hotel chains such as The Four Seasons or Shangri-la can achieve. We upgraded to a Club Room which gives acces to the Club Lounge - definitely recommend doing this as it is much calmer & peaceful than the rest of the hotel with complimentary drinks & nibbles throughout the day & offers good value.

Rooms are large & well-furnished & the staff are all very nice. Just too many little flaws - could not get access at first to the Club Lounge as our electronic key had not been programmed to allow us in so it had to be changed, then it didn't open the safe in our room so it had to be changed again & finally on check out we were billed for internet use which was free for Club rooms.The mistakes were all sorted out but in a 3 day stay it did take up a lot of time. To be fair, they offered a late check-out & the staff were all very amiable but would I stay again - probably not.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same - even on a Club package. Suites & sea-view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear TravellerAbuDhabi, thank you very much for your review. We value both positive and negative feedback to helps us improve our services.

We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The Grand Club Lounge is great for complimentary breakfast and canapes in the evening as well as complimentary internet.

We certainly hope that you return to Grand Hyatt Muscat. Feel free to drop me a note on nicole.bassit@hyatt.com so that we can ensure your next stay with us is nothing less than perfect or if there's anything else we can assist you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel is big and brash and appears opulent. The public areas are comfortable with a large reception desk to one side. After checking in, I was given a smoking room overlooking the parking lot on the ground floor. I had asked for a sea view, non smoking room. After what seemed an age, I was given a non-smoking poolside room on the first floor….much better but still couldn’t see the ocean because of trees etc. I thought the whole way in which this was handled was poor, certainly falling short of huge cost of a room in this place. Room is ok, with safe etc. But again, I though it looked a little tired, jaded. Alongside the hotel is an English pub and grill house. The hotel pool looked a little small for the amount of rooms this place has. I struggled to find a quiet spot. The hotel fronts the ocean over a small path/road. Nice if you want to walk on the beach. All in all, an ok place to stay but expensive for what it is.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt M, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Mailm27, many thanks for your valued feedback. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to review us on trip advisor.

Sea view rooms are a different category of rooms. When making a reservation, we would kindly request you to ensure that a sea view room is chosen to avoid any future disappointment.

Apologies once again for any inconvenience this has caused and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,641 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
9.9 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $207 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing