We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arabian Fantasy”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2007

I stayed at the hotel on my recent trip to Oman. As I had enough Hyatt points I decided to convert them for free nights rather than paying the relatively steep price for the rooms.

It's been said before, but the hotel does remind me a bit of the Palace in Sun City, South Africa. The lobby is pretty grand and "bling", and the garden/pool area is very nice and pretty.

I had a club room but with no ocean view. It was unfortunately situated above the hotel entrance, which meant it was close to the hotel's disco. At night you could hear the loud music so I would recommend choosing a room away from this side.

The room is not especially large, but reasonable size. The bathroom is pretty nice, with a wood screen shielding the toilet area away from the bathtub and sinks. There is a screen covered window next to the tub, and when it is opened you can see the rest of the room while sitting in the tub.

The breakfast at the club lounge is OK. However there is an outdoor patio and it's nice to sit outside for your breakfast.

Dining options are a bit poor within the hotel. There is no restaurant serving "local" or regional food. The only way to sample some of this is via the buffet in the cafe.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Peech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2007

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for just 2 nights with my family (wife + kids 9 and 6) and parents. This was a pre-Christmas treat during my parents visit to Dubai. We drove to Muscat from Dubai, which takes about 5 hours and is relatively easy.

We booked a suite for myself and my family, plus a standard room for my parents. The two rooms we were given were adjoining, which was an additional bonus. The rooms were very nice, and the suite in particular was huge. We requested additional beds for the children and these were provided.

Check in experience was fine, and service was always helpful - we used the valet parking regularly.

We were exploring Oman so did not spend much time in the hotel or use many of the facilities, but the breakfast buffet was good. We did have lunch when we arrived which was good but expensive (even by 5* hotel standards). We had a brief dip in the pool which was nice, but the pool did seem small for a hotel of this size (although perhaps many of the guests are business people so don't use it). There is also a nice warm jacuzzi tub near the pool.

I would recommend the GH if you want to splash out on a few days of luxury.

We also visited Muttrah souk, Nizwa and the Grand Mosque - all well worth seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

The Hyatt in Muscat meets or exceeds expectations. Yes, the decor is a bit over the top, but the hotel is opulent. Excellent restaurants, great pool (terrific for kids), swim up pool bar, and terrific rooms. Complains would be that the beach isn't as clean as it should be! Also, this is NOT the authentic Omani experience. After sleeping in the desert, meeting and traveling with Omani people (some of the most friendly people anywhere), staying in the Hyatt may seem a bit too Western. Overall, fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We've just returned from 9 nights in the Grand Hyatt and had a fabulous time. Despite the hotel being full it didn't appear too busy and we had no problems finding beds around the pool or tables in the restaurants.
The service was excellent and we had no problems with checking in or out ( and I checked the bill very carefully!). The breakfast buffet had a great choice and overall the food was of a high standard. However the drinks are not cheap!!
I had read in previous reviews about the planes going over and yes they do but judging by the flight path they must go over all the other hotels along the beach too and they're really not that obtrusive.
This hotel has a truly Arabian nights flavour and we had a very laid back and relaxing time. Everyone we met in Oman were so friendly and hospitable and the climate in November is perfect.
I would certainly like to go back again!

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank Caterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

The Grand Hyatt Muscat is a wonderful 5-star hotel. My family stayed there for 4 days during Eid and we loved every minute of it. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool had a small lazy river, which our kids loved. The hotel is right on a gorgeous beach with bathtub warm water (at least it was in October).

Our room was fabulous. If was very spacious and had a very large bathroom with a large soaker tub.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Impressive exterior and interior design - somewhere between oriental splendor and outright kitsch. Lovely location right by the beach and in close proximity to both the airport and the main sights of Muscat. However, where this hotel falls down is where it comes to service. They simply don't care. While everywhere else in Oman, customer service is outstanding, we had problems on the two occasions we checked in to this hotel (both at the start and the end of our round trip). Both times they claimed the rooms weren't ready - the first time, ok, we did arrive around 11.30am. But the second time it was 2pm - and their checkout time, as they rudely reminded us the night before our departure, is 11am. They kept us standing in the lobby, despite the fact we'd just arrived off an overnight flight. No suggestion that we might go for a coffee at their invitation, no suggestion to use the pool changing rooms, nothing. In a 5* hotel, you can expect better than that!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank London1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

When booking a trip to the middle east did not realize that we would be arriving in the middle of the Eid celebrations following Ramadam. This gave us the interesting opportunity to see the hotel full and busy and a little quieter (and much more pleasant).

We pre-booked a car through the hotels online conciergeservice - this made the journey to the hotel easy and quick from the airport - though there were lots of taxis about and I'd have no issue using one next visit.

Check in was a little chaotic. The hotel was recovering from a computer breakdown which had lost details of people checking out and ensuing arguments over bills. We had agreed an early check in at 11am - but our room was not ready - eventually we got in at noon not ideal but room was worth waiting for.

Incidentally we thought arguments at reception was just then - it appeared that nearly everyone over the week had a run in - you could easily have an entertaining half hour watching the battle between customers and reception any time of the day.

The room was excellent. We'd booked a suite - the room catagories are very confusing with many grades of rooms and suites - we had a basic 1 bedroom - but far from basic - very roomy and comfortable with a view over the pool. It was nice to have a second bathroom off the lounge - though oddly there was only one balcony - off the bedroom.

All club rooms and suites have Club Lounge access - well worth it as others have reviewed - HOWEVER - you need to know that you are entitled to this and ask to have your key re-programmed to get in. We were not told of the facility at check in and had to search it out, during the week many customers in the lounge had only found out by accident and missed the use of it for most of the week - cynically I think the hotel may be trying to save money by not promoting what you have paid for. That said lounge was a delight - excellent food and drinks, and a nice terrace overlooking the hills. Only annoyance was the number of unruly children there - the lounge should have a separate area for kids - or better, not allow them at all.

The biggest negative to the hotel was the poolside - the beds are crampt and tightly packed - generally only about 6" apart and very busy - this is exasperated by the daily influx of non-guests in the afternoon (who appear to be members of the health club). the positive to this is that it encouraged us to use the gym - excellent facilities, all machines with new towels and water, regularly cleaned by the staff. The changing rooms had sauna, steam and jacuzzi - and were very comfortable. Also took advantage of the tennis facilities and lessons, just outside the hotel - but best early morning before too hot.

Food was good, room service excellent. Watch though when you ask for water - you should specify local mineral water otherwise you'll always be served (expensive) French water.

Entertainment was mixed - the outside restaurant had a dreadful band on one night - like bad karaoke - we had to complain when we could not sleep due to the noise - we were told that it was scheduled to be on till 2am - despite no one been in the bar! The Safari bar was a surprise - a little bit of kitsch over the top madness tucked away and great fun - full of American soldiers on R&R - an entertaining change from expats!

Check out was a little painful - we could see why the arguments at reception happen - many mistakes on our bill (and only one to our favor) - had we not checked we would have been overcharged by about £130, and the receptionist would not accept that room rate was wrong until we proved otherwise - poor show!

Overall - hotel was good, and a refreshing change to the general large middle east hotels. There are a number of niggles and you could chose to let those wind you up or go with the flow - sometimes easier just to chill and enjoy the place more for it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,636 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
9.9 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $202 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing