We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Grand Hyatt in Muscat is nestled in the dipolomatic district fringe of the city on a beach, and was a beautiful modern build with its architectural design in glorious tradtional form. A friendly and comfortable place, charming staff. Ours was a large and very nicely decorated room with view and balcony - good sized comfortable bathroom -everything sparkled. (Though to nit-pick a moment, still do not know why there is only ever one comfortable chair in a double room when there is also space for two?) That gripe aside, the reason we enjoyed our break was mainly about the hotel. The pool was large and interesting with bridges across a "lazy river" so you could potter idly and just let the current take you, or get a really good work out using the counter-current flow just outside the river's "mouth".

All the restaurants were reasonable and the food interesting, particularly the pool/beach restaurant which was Indonesian with both near, middle and far east ingredients.

No Spa is currently advertised on the Hyatt's website but there was one was just off the main Hotel apron about a 3 minute walk from front door and seems to be affiliated as some sort of concession. Treatments were also good value compared to competing offerings we had seen from uk on line. Given the proximity this also saved a lot of time too. The spa environment was perhaps a tad clinical (again very modern) however, if you want some serious Hamman, this is the place. They called this a Moroccan bath. Felt great and skin positively glowed for days we also each had a pedicure in a massage chair and for both treatments the bill was OR35 + service so about £70 (including service) each and took 2 .5 hours: there was no skimping, staff were simply lovely.

Muscat, the city, turns out not to be that historically or culturally rich. It is ultra modern. While this is all very impressive, especially the Grand Mosque, (which was amazing from inside out) little of any typical Arabian medinat heritage remains. It became obvious on our city tour, that apart from around the old port with the strategically placed Portuguese forts near the old Souk an area called the Corniche, is about all that is left apart from a very old Roman road, still used part way into foot hills of the nearby mountains. (Even the sultan's palace is new. Our city guide took us to the (soon to be defunct) fish market. He told us they are rehousing this in modern premises and that became obvious - as they were not moving far, really wondered why they thought that was interesting or important, could have lived without the combination of the dust, fumes and noise of building works, plus the fish smells and the joy of walking through fish blood floods. Only on reflection, was this in any way memorable! The museum though small, was very interesting and very informative on the tribal and cultural regional customs and costumes in a very well presented series of exhibits in a lovely building.

Special things to do in Oman are, however, really about getting out of Muscat. Waddi tours or a visit to the old capital plus even more spectacular forts and a real Oasis are apparently each available on a standard one day tour but these are not available every day, so book ahead. We booked at Mark Tours via hotel which alos involved a fee to the hotel, so would be cheaper to do this on line in advance but not sure if the tour prices were cheaper on line.

Other Travel Tips:
Try and prebook your visa - seemed to be a separate process. Not sure possible from UK but there was a separate queue for pre-booked visas. Without pre-booking, it took us 90 minutes to get through this two stage process. First was the issuance but that was also a currency kiosk. Why it took so long for, was unclear, as when it was our turn it took the lady 30 secs each to process us (although we had no need of the currency - which only took cash for cash by the way and at OR20 each was about twice the cost we had read about on the UK Foreign office site.) To then get visa validated, you start again in a continuation queue and this took another 30 mins, so seemed to us that pre-booking allowed people to jump the issuance queue but make sure you take currency with you or you will need to go to same kiosk queue anyway!

Good news: taxis seemed relatively cheap and were fixed price on both ends of the airport transfer. Hotel destinations are listed with their price on a dispatch board outside airport, and you take a form from a dispatcher, no messing. Cost about GBP15 (OR7 or 8) to hotel and was about 25 minutes from airport, so not bad. Same price returning from hotel.

The Souk in Muscat at the Corniche was good value, and a rare vestige of the old and traditional. Some haggling possible but only for quantity as goods very reasonable and the people there were generally less agressive than we have experienced elsewhere.

Lastly, there are a lot of hotels in the city, and they are not cheap so look for the deals with breakfast - that made a big difference to the bill. The Hyatt is 5 star, looks like 5 star and felt to me like 5 star, but seems not all reviewers agree on this one. However, since it was priced at a sound and more than fair level for a balcony room, great view and included breakfast. Our final bill only came to £200 ppper night which, considering also included all food and service: 2 dinners, two lunches and two breakfasts, 2 pool side drinks and one pot of afternoon tea in the lobby area (very sumptuous) and the half day city tour cost (including commission) this was not exactly a rip off. (Consider a 3 star Paris hotel charges £30pp, for breakfast and you would not want to eat in same restaurant at every meal ) seemed to us a pretty good deal for a broad selection of venues and fare and good quality. I was very satisfied with the value offering and did I mention the pool? For me a real treat and a lot of fun alone or with friends had a swim-up bar too! Not too many 5 star hotels have these outside of resorts. BA flight was also good value, booked well ahead.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view of gardens, pool and sea. I imagine (others would be pretty bleak out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlanaWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

My family and I just returned from spending four nights at the Grand Hyatt in Muscat. We didn't have a terrible experience, but there were far too many lapses in service for this to be a 5-star hotel and I've stayed in many 4-star hotels with better service.

Pros:

The Italian restaurant in the Hyatt, Tuscany, is excellent. We had one of the best meals of our trip there, and I'd recommend it even for someone staying elsewhere.
The rooms are as comfortable as you'd expect in a 5-star hotel, with only one minor complaint (see below).
The hotel pool and gym are both in line with what you'd expect.
The staff were friendly with no exceptions that I can recall, and mostly helpful.

Cons:

Numerous issues with service including: having to request a roll-away bed for our daughter four times (in writing when making our reservation, at check-in, and then two phone calls); being told that Internet was included in the corporate rate we booked under, and then learning at check-out that only one device was covered; having at least one mistake in every single order we placed with room service or the Mokha Cafe; room service showing up 10 minutes after our food was delivered to try to take back the cart even though we were still eating.
The quality of food from room service and the Mokha Cafe was variable, to say the least--half the items we ordered that were supposed to be served warm (e.g., toast) arrived cold, and the coffee served with our room-service breakfast was undrinkable.
As far as the room is concerned, our main complaint is that at a time when at least half the 5-star hotels we stay in have Nespresso machines and a drip coffee maker is standard, the rooms are equipped with electric tea kettles and instant coffee.
The lack of drinkable coffee in the rooms brings me to my final complaint, which is the price of beverages in the hotel. (Yes, the food is overpriced too, but probably not too much more than a typical 5-star hotel in this region.) but 3 OMR (US $7.50) for coffee? Seriously?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Eid break holiday to Muscat and took the Trip Advisor reviews do the Grand Hyatt as a good enough reason to spend a lot on a hotel. While the hotel is a wonderful piece of architecture, with lovely rooms, there was just something amiss about the whole experience. Service was OK but not what one would expect from a five-star hotel; the food was mediocre -- and don't get me started on the veal at the Italian restaurant -- and the fact that there is a charge for the Internet just lessened the experience. The pool-side bar was awash with very noisy and drunk guests and yet no one from management seemed to take control. As I said, it was just "off".

I will certainly return to Muscat, but I will not return to the Grand Hyatt. For me, it was overpriced and pretending to be a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just spent a few days at this great hotel in Muscat. Good location to most parts of the city, definitely best food compared to other hotels in the city I stayed before, great live band in the pub, Italian top restaurant, sports bar and upgraded pool facilities. I can also recommend the Indonesian restaurant on the pool it is first class.

Above all, the service was as good as it gets, I agree with most reviewers that they are very friendly staff and nothing is too muchto ask for.

Hotel is not modern but a great Arabic flair, would definitely return, value for money is better than in most hotels in this otherwise expensive city.

Room Tip: End of corridor, extra window with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Not recommended for family stay.
Small pool,no lifeguard,no beach services, no kids club,the beach is public and full of guys coming to watch.could not find a free sun bed on the pool on our first day. Overrated food,overrated hotel.oldi style, My grandma would love it. Not worth the money we spent.

Only good thing is the spacious room and the outdoor jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rrahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We started out with the concierge not having a clue about any excursions. He didn't even know if the travel agency would be open or not this week because of the eid holiday. We finally had to go back to the airport and rent a car on our own
Not great service and everything is overpriced. We even have to pay for our Internet which is ridiculous. Beds too soft too
Sorry but I'd don't have too much good to say about this hotel. For a five star hotel it lacks the service I'd expect. Also very little for kids to do here. Not a family oriented hotel at all

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleinQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

First time in Muscat and in this hotel, we stayed 4 nights for leisure purpose last June 2011. Travelling is a great passion of my. I been travelling around the middle east and in Europe. What I like about this hotel is the cleanliness: of the room, bathroom and the Lounge. Very comfortable bed and soft pillows compared in other hotel. Friendly staff and very courteous. Excellent Service in the Club Lounge. Breakfast selection was good. Great view. Swimming pool w/ bar is the best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YmeCPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 63 in Muscat
1,705 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 63 in Muscat
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
11.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $201 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing