We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely but not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Nauru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“lovely but not the best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

After staying for six nights at the brand new shagri-la, we finished our trip for a night at the chedi. Having been here before I knew what to expect. The chedi is a truly magnificent place. It is relaxing, cool and so beautifully built.

After having stayed at the new shangri-la at bar-al-jissah of course the location is sort of a setback. Anyone who has been to both places will know what I mean. The beach is nothing special either. The good thing is probably that it is a lot closer to the airport and to take a taxi from here is a lot cheaper than from the shangri-la.

But to come back to the actual hotel itself. This continues to be my favourite hotel in this world. It is so nice here. Although it will not be for everyone. This is a couples hotel and surely not a family hotel with entertainment. Do not come here if you look for that.

Staff attitude is not as friendly as at the shangri-la but still welcoming. Rates off course are steep even for omani standards but I guess the hotel is deliberatly doing this to target a certain market. Love it, will love it more when I come back here again soon. But next time I will do it 50-50; half time at the shangri la al bandar(or al husn if I have a good month) and half time at the chedi because both hotels although completely different are a destination itself.

  • Liked — the gardens,the rooms the atmosphere
  • Disliked — staff attitude is good but could be better
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank arabian_sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,659
    426
    181
    64
    51
See reviews for
277
1,400
85
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews. Original choice was Shangri-la...But am so glad we choose The Chedi. The rooms all have King or Queen Bed only No Twins. Buffet Breakfast was great as was the Spa and the Adult only Pool.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cathleen_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

Without doubt one of the best hotels I have had the fortune of staying in. A small hotel with an understated and contemporary charm, wirth stunning architecture, with peacful shady gardens, water features and arabic/asian fusion buildings.

Good selection of food across the several outlets serving food from the region and beyond. Location on a reasonable beach, although dont expect tropical white pristine sands (also not ideal for trips into Muscat city as a little far out). Service is top-notch yet non-obtrusive. Price isn't cheap, but still better value than some of the other options in Muscat.

I would reccomend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — Architecture and Design, Service and Attention to Detail
  • Disliked — A little on the expensive side
  • Tips/Secrets — Request an Ocean-facing room
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank MattSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed 7 nights here at the end of July this year. We wanted somewhere luxurious, quiet and hot. It certainly ticks all those boxes.
We got a reasonable rate for a Chedi room through ebookers - but didnt take into consideration the additional 17% tax... this is NOT a cheap holiday. You do get a lovely room (absence of balcony not an issue as it really is too hot to sit outside in the evening) though I did miss the bath a bit.
The Restaurant is really excellent - the food is lovely, the staff are great (so many of them!) and the portions are huge (arguably too big). Again, NOT cheap though. By the time we'd eaten in the hotel evey night, had a few treatments in the spa (excellent massage) and had a few dive trips (booked efficiently and quickly thru the concierge) we'd doubled the cost of our accomodation. Drinks are also expensive, (like the rest of the Middle East, we understand) though thankfully they are quite generous with the complimentary bottled water in the rooms.
I would not hesitate in recommending The Chedi. My biggest criticism (hardly a criticism) was - bizarrely - the towels. For an absolutely top-notch hotel, I was astonished at the age and state of the bath towels and beach towels (think they were the same towels). Have definitely had better quality in a $55 a night Best Western! Ditto the beach umbrellas, which were also aged and weathered and in need of replacement. I know it's nit-picking, but when you end up paying that kind of money for a holiday, I think those kind of details count!!
Don't let that put you off going. It's really a very relaxing, get-away from it all holiday.
Finally, a note on the diving in Muscat - my husband can confirm that it was by far the best diving he'd ever experienced - massive manta rays, turtles, eels, etc. It's not deep and I'm not sure about the variety of diving available, but he did two half day dives and he said it was worth every penny.

I've stayed at one of GHM's other hotels - the Datai in Langkawi - about 5 years ago and it was also really amazing.

  • Liked — Location - short transfer. Friendly attentive staff
  • Disliked — price of food and drinks; quality of the towels!!
  • Tips/Secrets — research a bit more; Oman is still quote undeveloped. If you want to go out and about you'll need to have a good idea of what you want to see/where you want to go, bfore you go
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

we stayed for 12 nights coming home at the end of May. I had seen the chedi in a magazine sometime ago and really wanted to try it.
Definately not dissapointed.
We had a deluxe room inthe Chedi wing which was fantastic the whole desidn of the rooms and hotel is amazing.
Ididnt mind not having a balcony it was so nice to get into the airconditioned rooms you wouldnt want one 40c plus every day and not a cloud in sight.
Isaw the noraml rooms and the villas inside as well, the noraml rooms were again very nice but somewhat smaaler than the deluxe.The villas were big but i dont know if i could justify the difference in price.
THe whole hotel was very well laid out , i found the staff more than friendly especially sen,madin,our room boy and all the guys round the chedi pool.
The restaurant is to die for and the choice exceptional special favourite was the fishcakes at lunch ant the omani rock lobster thai style for dinner.
I had read previous reviews and i sometimes wonder where these people who complain come from:-
talk to the staff more and they will definately make your holiday

If you dont like an odd plane flying over which only happened in the morning DONT GO

I challenge anyone to find any real fault with the Chedi and if you do you must be very picky!

Great holiday Great place will DEFINATELY go again

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank deanyboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

This must be the most elegant hotel I have ever stayed in and we loved it. Everything is tasteful in neutral colours, but with shapes that display Oman's Arabian heritage. Every view is a vista: of cool water in channels or pools or tumbling out of brimming pots; of clipped green hedges and exotically fragranced flowers, of soft native grasses, of rows of pine trees; of loungers and tables and chairs by swimming pools, in courtyards and on lawns enticing you to lay, sit, lounge... The staff are invariably courteous and attentive and make the place run like a well-oiled machine. Choose from Arabic, Asian, Indian and Mediterranean menus and eat with the kitchens fully in view. I particularly loved watching the pastry chefs. My only complaint was the weather - late May saw temperatures at 40C and above. Otherwise it was perfection for me.

Helpful?
23 Thank Beejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

As our first "lazy sunshine" holiday in 18 months we found The Chedi to cater for our every whim (more or less!).

The architecture as everyone says is beautiful and the restaurant is the real star. I've never had better food and the selection is just awesome, Thai, Arabic, Indian and Mediterranean and the sublime interior design and cool temperature made it the highlight of every day (we couldn't face sitting outside at night as it was just too warm).

Our minor gripes were that our "superior" room was on the small side and was very short of storage, for clothes and used towels etc. A plasma TV would also add a wow factor perhaps!? That Bose system is little use without packing a stack of CD's.

The main issue really surrounds the pool/beach on two counts. You HAVE to be up early(8.30 ideally) to grab a sunlounger. People really take it seriously and any latecomers expecting to waft down at 11am were disappointed (us). Shade is also at a premium. For the pale winter skinned thats just dangerous. We wore factor 30 and came back mildly tanned as it was over 40 degrees. Service around the pool/beach is very poor. You would eventually get your order if it was a regular drink, however the expressionless staff speak very little english and are not the happiest of people you are likely to meet on a holiday!

Breakfast was nothing more than spectacular and I still miss it! The choice of breads, fruit and pastries coupled with delicious eggs and the best pancakes we have ever tasted helped us to gain at least half a stone during our stay. I felt very sorry for those ultra thin glamour ladies who sat there only with a juice :)

We will definitely be back, we''ll probably try for a 5 day break next time flying direct (we stopped in Dubai and stayed at the Al Qasr on the return which was nowhere near up to the Chedi in any regard).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank fairycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing