We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Muscat for a wedding in March 2014. Many of our friends had recommended we stay at the Chedi and we are thrilled that we did. What a beautiful place! We stayed for 2 nights and everything about our stay was exquisite. The entire hotel is gorgeous—be sure to visit the long pool as well as the others. The spa is also worth a visit. We stayed in a standard room and have no complaints about the room. We did not feel the need to upgrade to a larger suite as the room was spacious and comfortable enough. There is plenty to do here and the only thing we regret is not staying longer. We did run into two minor issues…

First, we had originally booked our room for 3 nights (we were to arrive Muscat late night), but our flight out of Frankfurt was delayed by several hours and we didn’t end up arriving until the next morning. At the time of checkout, we were still charged full price for that night and there was nothing the hotel could do since we had booked via Booking.com. Booking.com was also not able to refund that first night on short notice. Thus, I would recommend booking directly through the hotel or other site (ex. trip advisor).

Finally, we had called to request a late checkout the day of our departure but the hotel was unable to honor our request. I’ve always been able to request late checkouts at hotels without any issues or additional fees. They were not able to accommodate and were not too friendly in dealing with our request. Perhaps the hotel was fully booked, although it did not seem like it was overly crowded. Other than that minor hiccup, we had a lovely time and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzetteQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear SuzetteQ,

We are most grateful for your complimentary comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to share these comments with our team whom I'm sure will find this very encouraging.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding your experience with your check in and late check out request. It is likely we were fully booked during your stay as we have been for many months now however that does not excuse the staff being unfriendly. We are currently reviewing our procedure for both check in and check out to allow more flexibility for our guests in the future.

We apologise for the inconvienience this may have caused but hope that you enjoyed our other facilities during your last afternoon.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and it is our sincere hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to our beautiful hotel.


With Kindest Regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,506)
There are newer reviews for The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We dropped in for an afternoon drink and were treated like guests. I'll be staying here next time I'm in Muscat. Location, the setting and the service were outstanding. Pop along for a visit and you'll be booking in next time - guarantee

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Timstirling,

Thank you for your kind comments about your visit to The Chedi Muscat. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

At The Chedi Muscat, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and it is our sincere hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With Kindest Regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager at The Chedi Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

An exquisite place done throughout in an elegantly understated Balinese style - no glitz, no kitch. Maintenance is so perfect, both functionally and cosmetically, that it is hard to believe the place is 12 years old. Service, from laundry to food to outdoor chairside, is impeccable. The breakfast buffet is memorably lavish and all the food we were served other times and in other onsite restaurants was utter perfection. The laksa at the “long pool” venue was better than any we’ve sampled -- even in Indonesia. The beach is long, wide and great for lounging, swimming, or walking. If you dislike sand, there are plentiful, well-padded chairs around each pool and spaced throughout the extensive lawn.

We stayed 4 nights in a Deluxe Club room and found the Club fare well worth the extra cost. There’s table service, a full bar, and plentiful fresh (both hot and cold) nibbles at breakfast, tea time, and early evening. The spa is worth a visit: The simplest available 1 hr massage was extraordinary

When we returned a week later for a one-night stay, we were inexplicably upgraded at no cost to a suite. Although our Club room was perfect in every way, the suite was the finest accommodation we’ve enjoyed anywhere.

Incredibly, this oasis of serenity is minutes away from Muscat’s downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear TallTreckerTX,

Thank you so much for your very generous compliments.

We will be sure to pass your review to the staff of the hotel so they can also hear your wonderful comments.

We hope you will return to The Chedi Muscat in the future so we can pamper to your every need all over again!

Kindest regards and gratitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Unique hotel in Muscat with excellent restaurants ! Very nice rooms, very kind staff, ... a pleasure to be here for business !! The quality is really outstanding ... !! Very difficult to imagine that there is better in the world ...

Room Tip: You cannot make whatever mistake in your choice !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan999Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Jan999Antwerp,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wonderful hotel, elegant, quiet, sophisticated. Excellent service. Beautiful decoration. A great place in Muscat.
Main grill restaurant is excellent (albeit a bit noisy). Beach side restaurant is very nice too.
Three swimming pools of equivalent quality. Only one accepts kids.

Stayed at the Chedi in April 2013 for four nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Xavier D,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad that you had a great stay at The Chedi Muscat!

We’re happy to have been able to make your trip to Muscat that much more special. Hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Some friends have been here several times and spoken highly about the hotel so our expectations were high from the airport pickup to the airport drop off. Our expectations were fully met!

There was a slight hick-up with the room as we got one with parking-lot view. A quick check with our travel agent to verify what had been booked and reception called us in the room and said that another room had become available with a better view. The reason why we did not get the originally allocated room was apparently that the TV was not working....well they could have asked if we wanted the view or a working TV. Here we did not switch the TV on a single time. Anyway, the transfer to the new room was smooth.

In the meantime the staff had also discovered that it was my partner's birthday so a birthday cake from their own patisserie was delivered to the room. Not just an ordinary cupcake style of cake but a really good mango-passion cheesecake that we could not even finish - not because it was not good but simply very big. Nice touch!

All the good things mentioned in the previous reviews are correct. The staff is extraordinary and of course you also expect this when you are in this category and pricelevel. During our 5 days there we mostly used the Chedi Pool during the day and for lunch. Great staff, pool boys as well as waiters.

The last two evenings we found out that dining at the Serai Pool is more cosy than the main restaurant. It is the same menu, but a simpler wine list. If you want to go to the beach restaurant book in advance and you should go there.

The health club is great and cosy. If you come during midday you will have it to yourself. For us it worked very well to have some hours at the pool, then to the health club when it was the hottest part of the day, lunch and a few hours more at the pool - sooooo relaxing.

Most flights out of Muscat are around midnight. It is not a problem to leave the room at noon, have your bags stored, spend the day in the gym or at the pools and then before dinner shower and get dressed for travelling. There are excellent changing facility both at the Serai Pool and the Health Club. At the latter there is a small spin-drier in the changing rooms. Brilliant when you have gym gear or swimwear you want to get as much water out of before travelling.

We were recommended to book a Chedi deluxe room and I would pass that recommendation on.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear CPHworldtravellers,

Many thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience at The Chedi Muscat.

We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest- your kind words are much appreciated. We have shared your most kind comments with the rest of the team, as there is no better motivation than praise for a job well done. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Invited business guests form Iran for dinner. Didnt book a table as the dinner was unplanned and we were told the restaurant was fully booked yet the tables were empty. Overrated and sloppy service. Arrogant restaurant manager. We have better service in India. Cockroaches in bedroom

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear ir0nbutterfly,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat this January.

I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on our goals.

I was surprised that none made you feel "welcome" and were never able to secure a table. I have shared your comment with our Director of Food & Beverage to understand what happened as this is not the feedback we generally receive, yet I am appreciative that you brought it to our attention as it is unacceptable.

I really value your patronage and hope that you will contact me so we can further discuss about your experience.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon,

Christoph K. Girsch
cgirsch@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,458 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,554 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
195 reviews
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#6 Family Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $312 - $1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing