We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chedi Hotel, Muscat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Chedi Hotel, Muscat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband, my daughter and myself have just returned from spending a week at the chedi hotel in Muscat. This hotel is fabulous, couldn't really begin to describe how lovely the grounds are, very tranquil. There is a choice of three beautiful swimming pools plus a private beach for relaxing. The food and the service in the five restaurants is fantastic, total indulgence! At night the hotel comes in to its own, with candles and fire bowls everywhere, the attention to detail is wonderful! I can't recommend this hotel more. If you are lucky enough to visit make sure your stay includes a Friday so that you can enjoy their famous Friday brunch, the food is out of this world!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Yvonne C,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    424
    180
    63
    51
See reviews for
267
1,384
85
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Yes i agree with most reviews ....The resort is beautiful - Restaurant and food is excellent BUT


The Service is incredibly poor for a 5**** ....even worse than poor ...some people/staff are arrogant which is a really bad feeling as a customer- I think some people there just do not care - rules in the hotel are more strict for the customer than for the staff - The first thing you are said during the welcome speech is that Kids are not welcome in 2 out the 3 pools of the hotel - I think kids are not welcome at all - We came with our 11 year old son and first we have been told that we can not share normal room with a 11 year old kid we must take a Bungalow suite ...fair enough ...1,000 ear/ night later we realise than the suite does not even have a normal extra bed for our son - He will have to sleep on the sofa in the living room - Welcome !
If you have a problem ( Wifi connection for example) the first reaction from the staff is to ask you to check your devices ......2 days later they realise they had a router problem and after restarting their server things were working fine ...... do not expect them to have turn on the light of the tennis court when you booked it or clean your car after a sand storm.....no just do it your self Sir ......and do not expect to get late check out when leaving the room ---- no way...but you can expect than luggage service will be 30 mns late to pick up your luggage...

The beach is also disappointing with a uggly view on factory which is running next to the hotel

Last but not the least : our son forgot one of his favourite toy in the room - after call and emails---No single answer !

Welcome to the Chedi - our strong recommendation : enjoy a day stay with Lunch or dinner - Food is fantastic and architecture is beautiful thus you can relax and take beautifull picture - Stay is just not worth it --- if you have 600-1000 ear to spend per night i think they are much better place in the region

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Thierry T,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us at The Chedi Muscat, this will be of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you as it seems we have not lived up to your expectations and we have obviously not delivered to our best. The problems you experienced are certainly not the norm.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. All I can say is that we are in the luxury hotel business and any areas that need refinement are in constant review as we too seek perfection in our delivery and please be assured of our untiring efforts to achieve this.

As we value your comments, we would be most grateful if you could give us a little bit of your time and accept to contact me at the following e-mail address : cgirsch@ghmhotels.com.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The ultimate class in service , elegance, beauty and good food.
A mixture of gorgeous Arabian style with western comfort
One will have to accept there is a high price to pay for this.
Go for it , if you can afford it.

Room Tip: One cannot open the windows in the normal rooms. Only suites have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelP6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear MichelP6666,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at The Chedi Muscat during your latest stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We are fans of GHM Hotels and the Chedi Muscat is a wonderful property: the resort looks gorgeous and is well maintained. It has elegant luxurious Asian touches, decor are nice and service is attentive. The spa is the best feature: fantastic treatments and personal very attentive and professional.

Impeccable grounds, pools but the beach is very sad .....
We booked a deluxe room and stayed for 2 nights, the rooms are surprisingly small with no terrace and little dark. The food experience was nothing to write home about - and particularly expensive.

We would stay here again, but.... missing the ingredients to creating an experience that reflect GHM personality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mida_amorgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear mida_amorgos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel The Chedi Muscat. We appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve.

We are happy to read that you found the Hotel gorgeous and well maintained, and that the Service was up to our normal standard.

Striving for the highest levels of service and facilities sits high on our priority list and on this occasion, we are saddened that we felled short on the Food. We do take your comments very seriously and I have personally addressed these issues with my Executive Chef and our Director of Food & Beverage for discussion and immediate improvement.

I do however hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any questions.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked a late trip expecting the best and whilst the hotel was acceptable we found it a long way from the standards of the Royal Mirage in Dubai . The spa was the best feature, quite wonderful and superb personal trainer in Ines who helped in many ways and the facilities were amazing . The main Restaurant was sound with 4 separate kitchens and good service though the service at the long pool near the spa was just plain slow ... On the negative side we found the following ..

1 superior room , cell like , no bath , no doors to a terrace !

2 the beach was just drab , sand less and massively at odds with the sand of Dubai !

3 no one mentioned that with the wind in a certain direction you would be drowned out by aircraft on the final approach , even through the night !

4 when asked for booking at top restaurant was taken to a cafe with plastic menus !

5 no consistent level of service throughout .....

Others love the hotel , just found it complacent , out of date room wise and better value elsewhere

Room Tip: Avoid plane noise or early morning cleaning routine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Bertie W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel The Chedi Muscat.

We apologize for failing to provide you with a fully enjoyable and memorable experience. We do value your constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our most discerning guests.

We will review your comments in details and see how we can build upon them. Once again, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to show you that we can do better.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a huge disappointment. We experienced nothing but problems right from even before we checked in. We changed our flight from Dubai to Muscat which meant that we would be arriving earlier than arranged. So my husband phoned the hotel to advise them of this as we had arranged transport via the hotel only to be told "that they would see what they could do but didn't know if they could change the time"!! Straight away they were uncooperative and we flew not knowing if we were being picked up or not. When we arrived bearing in mind we had travelled overnight had long waits at airports we were not exactly fresh they kept us waiting over an hour to check in as there was a problem with the booking. Instead of showing us to our room and dealing with it later that just kept sending different members of incompetent staff to deal with it! When we finally went to the room it was incredible small, no bath just a shower, no door to the garden as we were on the ground floor it was incredible dark and soulless. Really only one restaurant worth eating in and even then the food was nothing special. One night we asked if the hotel could recommend a nice restaurant we could go and they actually sent us to a cafe with plastic chairs and burgers/kebabs!! When my husband went to try and change some currency they were unable to do this. It was just staggering that a five star hotel was being so badly managed. The hotel is on the most awful stoney beach. We have had friends who have stayed there about 15 years ago who said it was amazing well it certainly isn't now. What I would say is that they do have a lovely spa and the therapists are very good and the gym is also extremely well kitted with an exceptionally good personal trainer. Even the staff in the shop were so incredibly rude and totally uninterested especially the older lady whose name I sadly didn't make a note of. I think there are far better hotels than this to choose from and I would give it a wide berth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ward123_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feelings and impressions of your recent experience with us at The Chedi Muscat, I do appreciate your extensive feedback as it help us improve both our service and our product.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you encountered as you have certainly not experienced us at our best. The shortfalls that you described in various areas are certainly not representative of what our brand "GHM Hotels" is founded upon and I can understand the way you must have felt.

In regards to the service issues I do not have any excuses for the shortcomings as they are our basic standards and should have been easily fulfilled. Rest assured that I have addressed those with our Managers and I trust that we will be able to rectify them, if not immediately, in the very near future.

As a company we strongly focus on training, it is however clear from your comments that we need to focus more specifically on pro-activeness and service oriented approach towards meeting and exceeding guest expectations as well as reviewing our measures we have in place to ensure all our guest are consistently provided with an ultimate experience.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect, I hope they go some way to restore your confidence in us. I would like to thank you once again for your candid feedback as this allows us to improve the service which we provide to our most discerning guests and I wish to apologize again for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night recently for my birthday celebration. The front desk provided us with early check-in and late check-out due to our flight schedule which was very nice. Service throughout the property was very friendly and requests for extra glasses, etc. were promptly taken care off.

We ate at the beach bar (wagyu burgers) and the main restaurant (seafood platter) which also serves daily breakfast. The breakfast layout is huge, high-quality and a mix of buffet and a la carte for selected items. It was a great start to the day. All meals were fantastic and the quality of the food was excellent.

Although the weather was not ideal during our visit, the pools seemed very nice and there is a state of the art gym. The deluxe room was very spacious and came with open bathroom plans.

Overall, highly recommend this hotel which is pretty central and taxis are easily available.

Room Tip: The rooms on the resort are very spread out since this is a low-rise property. I think anything faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2Travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Like2Travell,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at The Chedi during your latest stay in Muscat.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon!

With sincere regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
7.0 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Jetsetter, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HRS, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing