We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have recently returned from a six night stay at the Chedi and it really is a great hotel. We chose the Chedi because we wanted to chill out and get away from big city life, and it was the perfect place for this. The facilities are all first class, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is amazing and varied and the location is handy for the airport and the main Muscat sites. It's not cheap but you shouldn't expect it to be and overall it is worth it. The Serai Pool and the section of beach in front of it are generally not as busy as the area around the infinity pool.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hungry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Hungry T,

So glad to hear that you had a great stay with us at The Chedi Muscat! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the facilities, food and of course it is great to hear that our Staff was very helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it has lovely staff.

I just returned from a 3 days stay at the Chedi and let me say it was a terrible experience. So bad that I actually considered leaving.

Firstly the size and layout of the Serai room was inconvenient... Mainly because the toilet and shower were two separate tiny cubicles. Also considering the price on pays for the room the least they could do was put the sink toilet and shower into one room so a person does not have to shuffle between rooms while staying with other family member.

Secondly upon arrival the room was FILTHY. The toilet had clearly not been cleaned for ages as there was dust collecting on the floor and on the actual toilet seat. The shower had rust on it... Also they didn't have a tub or a handheld shower just a raindrop shower so for those that like handheld showers the Serai room is not for you.

The breakfast was mediocre.

The bed had a really odd smell not to mention it was tiny.

Room Tip: If you want a good room get upgraded I guess... But then you would be paying an obscene price. Bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmamba1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear blackmamba1121,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us, which we very much appreciate as it help us improve both our service and our product.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay at our hotel.

Our focus is on training with specific focus on pro-activeness and service oriented approach towards meeting and exceeding guest expectations.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the poor impression of your last stay.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have an apartment in Muscat and enjoy dining out. Our evening at The Chedi did not start too well with a rather frosty hostess at the restaurant/bar entrance. It was only 7pm and we wanted to dine but had not booked. If it had not have been for the sight of the pastry chef creating a culinary masterpiece in the distance, her attitude would have ensured a hasty retreat.
We were seated at the bar and enjoyed vodka martinis. Mine was a particularly unusual offering infused with star anise. (Highly recommended). We took the option of dining outside, as the temperature had dropped a little to enable us to do so. It was a big mistake as The Chedi, is exactly in the flight path to the airport not too far away.

The food and extensive wine list is beautiful, well presented and tasty, exactly as we expect for a 5 * hotel BUT very over priced..... Not VFM. And if you don't mind the aeroplanes....

The hotel is very clean, slick and contemporary. The Manager is very much in evidence, turning up, checking and over seeing all over the hotel. We obviously have not stayed in the hotel, although we had been on a few occasions for coffee. I would conclude that the standards of the rooms is high.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BongoElsbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear BongoElsbeth,

Thank you for having taken the time to review of your dinner with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve.

We have also noted your feedback regarding our food pricing. As an essential step to establishing menu prices in our restaurants, we conduct a competitive analysis with other luxury Hotels and Resorts, not only in Oman but in the region. Please rest assured that we continuously monitor our pricing strategy in order to provide good value for money.

I certainly hope that we can welcome you back at The Chedi Muscat.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best rated hotel in town. Best spot by the sea, personalised lounge music by the 103m outdoor pool, exceptional service, very creative food. 2 points must be taken care of: 1/for this kind of money you would expect buffalo mozarella in your tomate mozza starter; 2/ Partnership with Muscat Adventure is overated an very disapointing.

Room Tip: Get complementary treat and an room upgrade using your American Express Cenurion Card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Jean W,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!

Thank you very much for your constructive comments concerning the Mozzarella and the Tour Agent, i can assure you that we are already working on it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels in Muscat, the Chedi probably ranks as the best Boutique hotel in town. Personalized service, good food, attentive and friendly staff. The grounds are well maintained and the Spa is simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abu-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Abu-Ashley,

So glad to hear that you had a great stay with us at The Chedi Muscat! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the guest service, food and the Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had I paid the average rate for The Chedi I would be one angry person - but having paid something close to a third of ongoing rates I am only disappointed.

Nevertheless I cannot give anything above 3 stars to this property and I will be extremely picky with my review because when you pay this money you must expect perfection.

I was so excited to go to the famous Chedi Muscat and I thought it would also be professionally inspiring being myself an architect in the luxury hospitality business.

Wrong was I. The first appalling impression was indeed the first impression: entrance to the hotel.
I think a road like that could only lead to some Bedouin tent not one hotel that is bragged to be 6 stars.

Second impression was the reception. pointlessly confusing which of the two identical desks is reception and which one conciergerie. but the lobby is lovely and grande.

The third impression, another negative one, was the lighting throughout the resort. I arrived around 1am and let me say that whoever thought that would create a nice sense of intimacy was obviously wrong. First you can't enjoy the beauty of the grounds, secondly you risk breaking your neck at every step - especially if venturing down to the beach or around the long pool.

The Serai room was disappointing. Lots of space wasted and poorly studied. Why on earth would anyone want to enter a luxury hotel room through the bathroom??
No space to hang towels, having to enter the shower to run the water which will obviously be cold as soon as you open it, no closed area for clothes, standard art work.

I had a Serai pool/somehow-sea view room except I felt I was in a high security jail between the wooden blinds, the windows that don't open and on top of that another wooden grid on the outside of the window too. What else? Barbwire? High voltage?

Huge negative point: shortage of house keeping personnel resulting in very late service - I had to call them on three occasions, one day even had to call them twice - despite always being out of my room at 9am and hanging the "please make my room" sign. The following days I just hunted the house keeper around.

Complete inconsistency with coffee/tea not being refilled 3 days out of 6 although I was getting tons of soap, bath gel etc

The beach: soft white sand someone said? Lovely beach? Wonder where these people have travelled in their life.
The sand scorches your feet if you try to walk on it (no wonder there was a cheap moldy carpet leading to the water..they couldn't invest a whole 200omr on wood decking??!)

The sea? Why would you even build such a hotel on such a miserably average beach? You can find better looking sea even in the UK.
Oman has some truly stunning sea (go to Qantab beach) but not here.

Are you paying some $700 to enjoy a long pool that doesn't offer any shade or the Serai pool that you can't even see while on the chaise because of the bushes between you and the water?? Uhm ooookay! If that's your thing!

The food: breakfast has undoubtedly great variety and quality. Honestly the restaurant itself looks too much like an Italian designer boutique rather than somewhere you would enjoy great tasting food.

Room service: silly prices, tiny portions, average taste.

Serai pool restaurant: ok this is where I thought I would go to slap the chef, the food&bev manager and perhaps the GM too. It is a 5 star hotel with insane prices for food and not even an endless list. You would figure they know how to cook a seafood risotto?! No, of course not. I could go to Fridays if I wanted overcooked Italian food and at least I would pay 3omr not 20

Now I want to share the positive points - which are clearly very few and they are determining the above zero rating.

The staff is perfectly trained. Polite and attentive: the second day at breakfast I had double espresso and ashtray delivered without even uttering a word and I didn't even seem to recognize the guy who offered them to me.

The gardens: I think they used GPS to position the palm trees, it is impressive. Everything is super neat.

The pools: lovely, clean and comfy beddings all around.

The fountains.

That's pretty much it. The hotel completely lacks charm, uniqueness, research, innovation, design. It's just a grande white concrete block with pretty gardens, fountains and palm trees but with interiors that any Ikea designer could have come up with.

You want your jaw to hit the floor? Go to hotels like Mamounia in Morocco, Indigo Pearl in Thailand, Bulgari in Bali, W in Thailand just to name a few.

I wouldn't suggest it as a destination itself but only as "if you must".
I would suggest Al Bustan Ritz Carlton, it has a better beach, but the building is horrible, decoration antique and too far considering the terrible Omani traffic conditions.








Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear gmv80,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this will be of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that your stay did not fully meet your expectations.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you as it seems we have not lived up to your expectations and we have obviously not delivered to our best. The problems you experienced are certainly not the norm.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. All I can say is that we are in the luxury hotel business and any areas that need refinement are in constant review as we too seek perfection in our delivery and please be assured of our untiring efforts to achieve this.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restoring your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting The Chedi in Muscat many times in recent years. We are still enjoying it very much!

The pluses:
+ Great landscaping - large lawn, plentiful sun lies, privacy
+ Fantastic gym - the largest in Muscat, brand new equipment
+ Tasty food with a broad range of cuisines
+ European clientele - Frenchmen, Germans, Scandinavians, all well-behaved people
+ Good service, esp. for a Middle East hotel

The minuses:
- Rooms are clean, but relatively simple
- The hotel is well overpriced. A former sales manager of the hotel has a LinkedIn profile where she brags that The Chedi Muscat is the most profitable GHM hotel worldwide. You bet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear CalFlyer,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,540 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,641 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
262 reviews
14 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $475 - $1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing