We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Nearby Hotels
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat(Muscat)(Great Value!)
$58
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,750)
Filter reviews
2,750 results
Traveler rating
1,921
492
211
67
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,921
492
211
67
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong poolbeach restaurantserai poolserai roommain restaurantclub suitewater featuresfamily poolmacaroonsbeautiful hotelspa treatmentsmini barseafoodsun loungersbreakfast buffet isprivate beachsoft drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 2,750 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my Husband visited the Chedi for our first wedding anniversary and loved it. The hotel was quiet and relaxing, there were water features all over the grounds which added to the relaxation.

You have 3 great pools to choose from depending on what you are looking for (pool with big lounging beds, beach and pool or pool with cover). We had a member of the staff bringing us cold water the whole time that we were sitting by the pool.

We stay in the one bedroom suite which was lovely and had a massive bath and lounge area.
The food in the Restaurant was amazing and was a great choice of different cuisines. They also have a very large wine list so I’m sure you would be able to find one that you liked.

When we arrived we were greeted with a cold flannel and water which was very refreshing.
We had brought a bottle of wine at the airport to have in our room (we didn’t realize we had complimentary Gin, Vodka, Whiskey and Beer in our hotel room) the staff had taken all our bags from us including the bag with the bottle in. On the way to our room the bag with the bottle in fell off luggage trolley and smashed. The hotel staff could not have been nicer and the manager of the hotel brought a bottle of wine to our room and apologised.

Over all a great hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenwheeler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear laurenwheeler84,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!

We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it. We are of course still very sorry for the bottle of wine, and certainly hope that you enjoyed the Bottle of Wine which we brought to your room.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've just returned from what can be described as a heavenly stay at the Chedi. Being a special event, we decided to go with the Chedi and I am delighted that we made that decision. The service and attention to detail were unparalleled and allowed us to feel incredibly relaxed and at ease during the duration our stay. The staff were fantastic and really went the extra mile for us in organising a few special extra’s, which made the trip truly unforgettable in every way. I loved the fact that there are two pools especially for adults as it creates an atmosphere of serenity and calm (this was where we spent most of our time). It was most definitely an indulgent experience and I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blissful_Traveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Blissful_Traveller77,

Many thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience at The Chedi Muscat. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest- your kind words are much appreciated.

We have shared your most kind comments with the rest of the team, as there is no better motivation than praise for a job well done.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned from a short weekend break at The Chedi. As a hotel it's everything we had been looking forward to. It misses the glamour many hotels in the region seem to be so fond of, and makes more than up for it in authenticity, style, minimalism and taste. Even though The Chedi is 10 years old, it is very well maintained, the rooms have everything you can wish for and lobby and restaurant are simply beautiful.
The grounds are matured and immaculately kept, a pleasure to walk through, even in the heat and humidity of summer. 3 gorgeous pools, with kids limited to just one. Very nice!
But the hotel has a serious problem with its staffing. Apart from the reception and concierge desks, who both did everything to make us feel welcome and accommodate our wishes, the staff directly in contact with guests all seem to have an attitude. Pool service is just horrid. Not one smile or good morning from any of the pool guys. Yes, they would replenish your water time and time again, but rudely, without as much as a word, and appearing to just go through the motions. The same has to be said about the restaurant staff. Inattentive, unfriendly, not in the least interested. The food was oke, but nothing special, and to be honest, the staff's attitude spoilt it. Apart from one nice waiter at breakfast (whose name I unfortunately do not remember) the only smiles we saw this weekend were from the maintenance and cleaning people and gardeners we encountered on the grounds. We will most likely give the hotel another chance and go back, but certainly not because of it's friendliness or hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Miriamdxb,

Greetings from The Chedi Muscat.

Thank you for taking the time to share the account of your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed some of the services and the style of the hotel, we are greatly concerned that in quite some other areas it did not match the required level of service and that our Staff didn't smile.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you experienced and you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the poor impression of your last stay. Please let contact me personal at "cgirsch@ghmhotels", so i can arrange our booking.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013. The hotel is close by the airport (15mins ride). As soon as you enter (up the somewhat grubby drive) the setting is very relaxing and serene. The resort has a minimalist feel, gardens perfectly looked after and great to walk around. All the pools are nice however there wasn't enough shade at The Long Pool during the middle of the day. The food was exceptional. The beachside restaurant (seafood) was however on the expensive side. Would certainly recommend and not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear CarlTyler,

Greetings from The Chedi Muscat.

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about your stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!

Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our experience begins with the great hospitality of Nena on our arrival. We felt at home right from the beginning. We are LHW members and the amenities of the hotel exceeded our expectations. We had an executive junior suite with an awesome soaking tub. The grounds were well maintained and the staff did a good job in keeping the kidlets contained so the two adult pools were enjoyable. We ate all our meals at the hotel and never had a bad one. The seafood was great. Rex at the Chedi Club could not be more willing to meet our simplest request. If only every hotel could have a "Rex"! We will be back again! Thank you Chedi.

Room Tip: Sign up for the LHW membership :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear 321Dubai,

Thank you very much for the great review on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed good to hear that you had a great time at your stay at The Chedi Muscat. We will of course send your review to our Staff and as well to Rex, he is indeed a Star in the Club Lounge.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon at The Chedi Muscat.

best regards

Christoph K. Girsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews