We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dmas Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samara Hotel(Muscat)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Muscat(Muscat)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,750)
Filter reviews
2,750 results
Traveler rating
1,921
492
211
67
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,921
492
211
67
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong poolbeach restaurantserai poolserai roommain restaurantclub suitewater featuresfamily poolmacaroonsbeautiful hotelspa treatmentsmini barseafoodsun loungersbreakfast buffet isprivate beachsoft drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,473 - 1,478 of 2,750 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The Chedi is a very nice hotel in a country with lovely, warm people. We stayed here during the Xmas and New Years. The hotel was fully booked so sometimes a bit too crowded at pools. The Chedi has 2 main restaurants for dining. Both of them are great. The hotel even has its own patisserie chef from France who makes finger licking cakes and chocolates. The gym and spa are both beautiful situated next to a 105 meter long pool. The hotel is located in the capital Muscat. Muscats life is slow and has one must see attraction, the grand mosque. The other day trips are longer drives but worth the effort. The climate during this time of the year is the best, 25 degrees Celcius. Go here for a week of relaxation and exploring a country with very friendly people. The downsides of the hotel: too little space for storaging clothes in room and no option to open any window in your room

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RvD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear RvD2012,

We are delighted to read that you found The Chedi Muscat a superb place to unwind. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Oman.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have literally wanted to go to The Chedi ever since it opened - or we became aware of it - maybe for 8 years or so. Friends of ours have been so we were looking forward to it. The temperature was perfect (for my pasty white husband) as it was 80 degrees but the swimming pools were still warm enough to swim. We went in December.

The hotel is beautiful - very tranquil, gardens beautiful and at least 3 swimming pools - only one for kids though.

The plus points:

1) Tranquil, beautiful place - a little oasis.

2) AMAZING gym. Quite simply the best gym I have ever been to. And not overly busy.

3) Lovely swimming pools - lovely loungers (though there was a bit of staining on the ones which are by the children's pool)

4) Free WiFi (I expect this - and resent paying extra. So thank you for including this)

5) Wonderful breakfast - everything you could think of - the only downside was that for our 5 day stay, they only had banana bread once!

6) Generally helpful staff

7) Free bottled water and soft drinks in room and fresh fruit each day replenished in room

The down side

1) The beds! They were quite simply the worst beds I have ever slept in at a 4 or 5 star hotel. Awful - uncomfortable, too hard, not enough bed linen (we had to ask for an additional duvet because we were cold) and not that lovely softness that you usually find in 5 star hotels. The first night neither of us slept a wink - so we asked to move but the beds are all the same.

2) Intermittent WiFi - really the whole property should be covered

3) Food was disappointing - you sometimes want simpler food - but we felt they tried too hard. The food by the long pool was the best.

4) Sometimes staff are missing that extra something. We asked if we could have some prawn crackers or nuts (which they had given us before when we had drinks) at about 3.00pm one day and the member of staff said we had to buy some drinks (we had had food and drinks a couple of hours earlier) - really? When a five day stay costs £2500 a few extra freebies thrown in wouldn't have gone amiss.

5) Location - there are better beaches (those in Jumeriah Beach in Dubai) and there is nothing to do around The Chedi - everything else seems like wasteland/redevelopment. We didn't venture outside the resort at all.

6) Bathrooms - seriously, these are looking tired now. And why no baths? Sometimes a woman wants to relax in a bath - you have the space in the rooms - so I seriously think baths should be considered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BAStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear BAStravellers,

Thank you for sharing your comments, both the plus points and the down side about your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat. All your comments are taken with the objectivity in which they are offered and I will certainly share them with the team.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Executive Assistant Manager
The Chedi Muscat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The whole "Chedi" experience is pretty manufactured ... one could really be anywhere. However, while the styling is a bit "Eurotrash", it is generally well done. The place is clean, and the setting is good - despite planes flying over, some quite low.

The food is also mostly high quality, if very expensive. Roughly £50 ($80) per head for any type of meal, excluding any drinks.

The main issue with the place is that the staff, of which there are loads, are typically pretty useless. One has to keep asking for the same thing several times. There are thankfully a few exceptions - couple of the ladies on reception and concierge (one from the Philippines and the other Latvia, respectively) are clever, and truly helpful.

A few parts of the gardens were also a building site while I was there - nobody had mentioned this to me when booking! Although they did at least move my room, so I wasn't woken up at 7am each day with construction noise.

The gym and spa are also excellent. The gym is very well equipped - lots of machines, and big. However, it is ludicrously designed - candles burning everywhere, sofas and book cases - yes, in a gym! They should clear out all the safety hazards, add a couple of bits of final equipment - and it would be the best hotel gym I've ever seen/used, anywhere by a big margin.

Overall, if you want some relaxing days with reliable sunshine, and aren't too worried about shopping or value for money, I would come here in preference to Dubai. But don't expect anything wildly unique.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a proper garden room, or better, which faces towards the sea. Bargain them down on their rates - the list prices are crazy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear JonathanKlein,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback, this is of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that we did not fully meet your expectations and therefore extend you my sincere apologies.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. Please be assured of our continuous efforts to achieve this in all areas and in particular in staff training. We will continue making this a focus to ensure all our colleagues are able to be truly helpful.

As for the building site I imagine you are referring to one of our ponds which was empty due to some leaking. This has now been all resolved and our pond is back to normal. I am sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We also noted your comments on our health club.

Once again I appreciate your understanding and for bringing the matter to our attention.

We do hope to have the pleasure in seeing you again at the Chedi Muscat.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

End of October 2012, spend 4 nights in the Muscat Chedi.

It was a fantastic experience !

Everything was up to or above standard : the room, the lay out of the gardens, the pools and the lay out of the pools, friendliness of staff (hotel, cleaning, pool staff), quality of the food served (breakfast, lunch and dinner), etc..

The only remark on this hotel is that the food (lunch/dinner) -though the quality of the food and the service were very good- is very expensive and this even by the standards of star rated European restaurants. This obviously enhances the 'exclusivity' of the place....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Thibojo,

We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic experience at The Chedi Muscat and are glad to know everything was up and above standards. Thank you!
We look forward to welcome you again soon in Oman.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I read the reviews about the hotel not being child friendly a few days before leaving, but from the minute we arrived we found the hotel to be extremely accommodating. The rooms are on the small side, but we spent little time inside (apart from feeding the baby) and they are most definitely comfortable. We were offered a baby bath, which was v useful, and there was ample space in the shower to use it. The room sizes are also shown in the website, so it was no surprise. You can only use one of the 3 pools with children, but what a fabulous pool it is. Despite being peak season we felt like the only people there most days and had masses of room to spread out. We saw that even couples without children chose to use it. The chedi and long pools are also spectacular and the beach is great (though not desert island of course). The food was just amazing: a huge selection for breakfast, both buffet and to order (the bread gets a special mention!), and a very varied menu for the evening, with all dishes beautifully presented. We were disappointed the Arabian restaurant was closed, but there was plenty of choice on the main menu. The menu is the same at the serai bar, where we ate a couple of nights, for the spectacular view and more relaxed atmosphere. We ate at the beach restaurant just once (make sure to book a beachfront table), and the fish was exceptional. Omani turbot is not the same as what I call turbot, but I got an enormous and quite scrumptious fish (market selection) for about 20 rial. The lunch menu was slightly different and you must have a wagyu burger. The wine list was well selected, but wine in the region is never cheap, though the house varieties were decent value for a pre-dinner/poolside tipple.
The staff were brilliant. Charming, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We didn't use the babysitting in the end, and brought the baby to dinner asleep (most nights!) in her pram. We were slightly disappointed not to be able to enjoy a drink at the long pool bar with her asleep. There were quite a few other babies/toddlers, though I can see that activities are limited for older children.
The design of the hotel is spectacular, with vistas in every direction.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a first floor Serai room overlooking the pool and beach. There are wooden bars (design feature) on the window so 2nd/3rd floor views better
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lycheebellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Lycheebellini,

The Chedi Muscat cannot be more grateful for your kind words and generous promotion. We are happy to hear that you had a blissful 10 days here in Oman and we sincerely hope that this becomes tradition for you and your loved ones.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews