We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and Staff”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived without our bags which had been delayed from our very short transfer at Doha, the staff were excellent in ensuring our bags were delivered to us at the first opportunity. A special mention to the Concierge on the 26th May who chased the airline and delivered them to us. It is a lovely hotel with expansive grounds and access to the beach direct from the hotel - the leisure pool was closed and it would have been nice to have been informed however because of the other pool this did not cause us a problem. We ate at Trader Vic's and Tomato and had breakfast at Musandam, where the staff were great. I should also mention John the barman at the Tiki Bar who was simply excellent - a really lovely guy who made us feel so welcome. I have stayed at lots of hotels in the Middle East and I think this rates very well, we were there for a holiday to see friends and it provided a great base to do this.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview, it is a lovely part of the Middle East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albion732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Albion732013,

thank you very much for your great review on tripadvisor.

I would like to apologize that you have not been informed about the temporary closing of the leisure pool, which was necessary due to an emergency repair. I am happy to announce that the pool is back and available together with the lap pool.

On the other hand I am proud to hear that we were able to deliver a great experience for you, but especially John. He will be celebrated on a special occasion because of your comment.

I hope you will come soon again to see your friends.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    431
    225
    71
    39
See reviews for
199
293
81
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Despite some issues with room configuration which were eventually resolved our stay was pleasant.
The well maintained very spacious grounds & pool area was lovely & enjoyed the deep lap pool for a good workout.
The small club lounge was nice, though there appeared to be some indifference with the staff.
Our suite room was spacious & a very nice outlook toward the coastline.
Concierge was helpful & always available cars on hand.
I found the breakfast restaurant well stocked with varied offerings & gracious service at all times.
Josephine was an impressive & smiling staff member who is an asset to IC Muscat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear AussieScott70,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that we were able to sort out the issues you had to begin with and were able to deliver a satisfactory stay.
Josephine is indeed a fantastic team member and I can assure you that I will share your comments with her and the team.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very friendly staff and assistance with early check in-late checkout. Location was well suited to get around muscat. Rooms as well as bathrooms are dated but everything was clean and neat. would recommend for quick trip in/out of muscat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHSME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear MHSME,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Especially your recommendation means a lot for us. I sincerely hope to see you soon again in our beautiful country.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've been coming here for the past 25 years and I am always delighted to return. I simply wouldn't stay anyplace else. The Intercon is not opulent, and maybe it is a bit dated, but it has a big heart and the service is absolutely fautless. They will do their best to receive you with warmth and dignity.

The location is perfect and actually more scenic than the other 5 star hotels. If there is any reccomendation I could make it would be the restaurant. The service is fine, but the Musandam clearly needs a new chef. The food is not at all tempting and is very expensive for what it is.
i hope the management will take this as a constructive reccomendation..

That aside, I am always glad to be back.

Room Tip: The club rooms are very comfortable and delightful if you have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mkech,

thank you very much for your positive comments on tripadvisor.

Your feedback is very important for us, especially from a loyal costumer you are. I can assure you that we will immediately start working on our food quality in Musandam, especially since our new head chef for this outlet just arrived a few days ago.
Therefore I sincerely believe that you will see positive changes soon.

I am looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great location. Airy feeling when you enter the lobby. Clean and spacious rooms.Friendly staff.

Need to fix the pigeon menace in the balconies...they sleep there and they are not intimidated if you try and chase them off...and they mess up the place by morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Zack M,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on tripadvsor.

I can assure you that we will try our best to manage the pigeon around our building. I hope you had the chance also to see the beautiful parrots and rollers living on our grounds. That is the positive side of having so much lush nature around us.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel had a nice location which was near the beach and had a lot of restaurants and coffee shops nearby. The hotel itself is a bit old but seems clean and well maintained. Although refurbishment would be very much recommended. There were three different pools, 4 restaurants and 1 bar within the premises.

We stayed in a mountain view room on the third floor. The room was OK but not great. The sliding cabinet covers were in need of repair and the balcony had a lot of bird excrement. Other than that, the room was just fine.

The service was good. Most of the staff we ran into during our stay gave a smile and a polite nod. Special mention goes out to the waitress at the lobby who was very nice and attentive.

The only other thing that was lacking was poolside service.

All things considered, we had a great time here and would definitely recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear jdm922,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our different facilities and outlets during your visit.
Actually we are currently evaluating a renovation and therefore feedback is currently essential to have the right focus.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I love the hotel for it is nice location, service and people.The sea view from the hotel is amazing. Near the hotel you can walk in to the stores and restaurants.

I highly recommend to stay on this hotel if you want to enjoy staying near the see and the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Salwa A,

thank you so much for your recommendation on tripadvisor.

Our location is certainly prime and gives everybody the opportunity not to only explore our vast facilities, but also enjoy the restaurants and shops around us.

I am looking forward to see you again in Muscat.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 56 in Muscat
1,433 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 56 in Muscat
179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#6 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#14 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing